We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's huge & wonderful!!”
Review of Circus World

Circus World
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Circus World in Baraboo is America's favorite circus attraction! Baraboo was home to The Ringling Bros. Circus from 1884 thru 1918, and during those thirty-four years the operation grew to become the largest circus enterprise the world has ever known. Although the Ringlings left in 1918, many of their original structures survived.During the summer months, Circus World comes to life with daily live shows and demonstrations. See the world’s largest collection of glorious parade wagons plus 7 authentic Ringling Bros. buildings filled with colorful, big top memories. Enjoy elephant, pony and carousel rides; cotton candy, ice cream, tasty sandwiches and our main lobby gift shop. Experience a live circus performance and entertaining Nothing But Nonsense show with Steve & Ryan. Experience the thrill that never grows old at Circus World!
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

There is SO much to see here plan to spend a minimum of 2 hours. I just missed the live circus shows which was disappointing, but I still had a great time! There are so many buildings to go through I don't even remember how many. They have tons & tons of circus memorabilia that brings back many childhood memories. I simply adored this place & children would be in heaven.

1  Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Jodi, thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We encourage our guests to plan on 2-3 hours to explore during our non performance seasons and a full day when our live performances are taking place (Live performances start again May 18 - September 2, 2018). You are correct that we have tons and tons of memorabilia (our wagons weigh multiple tons apiece not to mention our amazing rail artifacts). The circus is timeless and truly to be enjoyed by Children of All Ages. We truly hope that your future travel plans will allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We visited in September so the daily circus performances were not taking place but the museum buildings and displays themselves are well worth the visit. The history of circus life, much of which originated in Wisconsin, was very interesting and provided details we weren't even aware of. We learned a great deal about circus life and thought the displays in all of the buildings were well done. We really enjoyed the work shop where they were restoring circus wagons and carousel horses. We will need to come back when the summer circus performances take place.

1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Lee, thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We agree that no matter the time of year, our wagon restoration shop is a site to behold. The amazing artistry that our staff and volunteers achieve in restoring these amazing American artifacts is astounding. We hope that your future travel plans will allow for a visit during our performance season. We invite our guests to step up to and into the world of the circus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Even if you're someone who's not particularly interested in the circus, this museum is so well put together and has so much information that you're bound to find out something that fascinates you. This place is HUGE and you should definitely give yourself some time to get through it! Some of it is outside, so keep that in mind on the day you decide to visit.

1  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Lynne, thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. At 60 plus acres, we are a large museum accommodating 7 National Historic Landmark buildings from the Ringling Bros. origins. Our currency is wonder so we happen to concur that there is something for everyone here. We truly hope that your future travel plans allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Great deal with the end of season rates. No rides or shows but the rest was wonder. Hope that the museum can stay as we are losing a piece of history

1  Thank lindakmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Linda, thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We plan to last, educate and entertain for generations to come. While it is a loss with the closing of the touring units of Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey, 50 plus circus's are still criss-crossing our great nation presenting the timeless tradition and artistry of the American Circus. We happen to agree that we proudly present "wonder" to our guests. We hope that your future travel plans will allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We've lived in Wisconsin over 60 years and had never been here. Glad we decided to finally check it out. You could spend hours just looking at all the circus history, but then to see all the beautiful old wagons is just wonderful. Haven't seen some of the wagons since the parades through Milwaukee.

1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott O, General Manager at Circus World, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

John, thank you for visiting and your thoughtful review. We are proud to preserve and present the largest collection of circus artifacts in the world on our 64 acre site. Wisconsin was home to over 100 different circus's over the years and is an important chapter of our state heritage. We are glad that you enjoyed the wagon collection, they are simply glorious in their craftsmanship and inspiring to see. We hope that your future travel plans allow for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circus World also viewed

 

Been to Circus World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing