We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It''s Super Quiet!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, Sleeps 2
Boscobel, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rangerdeb
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It''s Super Quiet!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Loved it! Great views. It was full moon when we arrived. It was plump and orange. Near by a Barred Owl asked "Who cooks for you?" The crickets sung us to sleep each night :) Being "unplugged" was a good thing. We were able to regain focus, on what's important. We will return!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kharper67
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My Husband and I just left this great place. So secluded and very quite. I was very sad when we left today I just wanted to stay there for a few more days.
The cabin is very clean and well kept. The porta Potty was awesome. It did not smell and very clean. The birds around the cabin are the best 5am alarm clock. It was relaxing just watching them. Everyone that stays here will leave with a great feeling of relaxation. The owners were amazing people. Until next time enjoy your stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dodedude2...
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The Country, The sounds of the Crickets, the Whippoorwills, the Cows Mooing and one's own heartbeat. "”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a bit of heaven for me and its like going back 2 my childhood days staying on the farm in Barnum. I manage to purchase a Kerosene Lantern and pretended I was back in the settler days along with a good book to read as well and cooked over on the fire pit \with my Marshmallows. I ate lightly. I wasn't there to eat just to relax and enjoy 'fresh country air'. I came in on late Wednesday evening airplane flight out of DBQ and with the basic backpack amenities. I was only at the Cabin for (2) nights and I didn't see that 'outside electric outlet' till I was leaving the coming next morning. Otherwise, I would have "purchased a very long extension cord" 4 a lamp too see by as my eyesight is poor.

Will I come back? Of course, in 2016. I slept good and I did hear those 'Coyotes' like as if they were under my window and saw Deer in the early morning of my departure of day 3.

I was on a mission to visit the Boscobel Cemetery for my days in Wisconsin. The closing of my stay a sad Friday morning I sat and chatted with seven Horses and we 'ate' popcorn and then sat on the back steps with the house dog we 'ate' popcorn. The owners were not in present. My departure ~ " I left a Thank you note of appreciation." And I left the Kerosene Lantern at the Cabin too.

Now as for those stars at night one can only see those type of stars in the openness of the sky in the dark. I manage to find the 'north star' and talk to my mom at 10:00 p.m. One thing though, I could 'hear' my own heart beat while I was out there in the country. The country has always been 'HOME' for me and I love that corner of the State of Wisconsin. It is God's country by far. From ~ "The old one."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and close to heaven
Liked least: The light situation was very hard on me
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
We enjoyed having you as a guest and helping you find comfort at The Windy Ridge Retreat. Thank you for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osseo, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for staying at the Windy Ridge Retreat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brendan G
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Rustic, isolated and beautiful”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I needed an escape from the big city to work on my dissertation and this cabin delivered. It is isolated: you cannot see any neighbors from the cabin area; you don't hear cars; you can avoid meeting people entirely if you so wish. I went for runs with my dog and met some local folks (including a truck driver looking for his missing sheep...). Everyone was extremely friendly. Also, there is easy access to two towns (around 8 minutes away) which have grocery stores and shops with essential products. This is not a place for people who want luxury accomodations (there is only one electrical outlet; there is not a refrigerator; the stove is a wood-burning one and thus not usable in summer). But for those who like it a bit more rustic (hunters, campers, writers, etc.) this is a great getaway. Highly recommended (also Sherri was very helpful!).

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found what you were looking for!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing