We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Huge Room, Friendly Staff, and Friendly Deer!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Junction
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boulder Junction Motor Lodge
Reviewed 14 August 2017

When we arrived in town, several deer crossed the street in front of us, right in front of the hotel. I quickly parked and ran across the street to photograph them casually munching the leaves in the woods. Later in the afternoon, we saw them on the lawn in front of the motel, before they made their way around to the back. We decided to head them off at the pass and walk to the other end of the motel to see if we would meet up with them without scaring them off. Well, not only did we NOT scare them off, one of the does walked right up to me as I stood still, and she licked my hand! After backing off a few steps, I put out my hand to see if she would come back. She stepped right up, licked my hand, and kept licking!

Meanwhile, as the other six deer (two of them fawns) watched, one of them walked right by my husband and sauntered across the street without a care in the world. An oncoming car had to break hard to avoid hitting her; however, she acted as if she DID own the whole damn road!

I later learned these friendly gals and a young buck are known as the "Townies". They live behind the motel and walk about town quite casually. During hunting season, the locals hope they'll stick around rather than take off into the woods where they could be hunted down.

Meanwhile, the motel itself is a great place to stay in Boulder Junction. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, and they are HUGE! The lobby is also cozy and inviting with several place to sit and relax. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElaineK-SunCity-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed here recently for a series of days. Just as nice as a number of years before. Nice owners. Great location- within walking distance of great shops, eating places and one of the best paved walking/biking trail systems. Quiet, comfortable beds and CLEAN! (Thank You for not 'fogging' your rooms with Febreze- type scents like some of the major lodging chains do.) And there is room to park your boat/trailer. Will certainly stay here again when in the Boulder Junction area.

Room Tip: If you like to view deer, choose a rear facing room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lpkp1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Arrived late and was greeted by friendly staff. Rooms were very clean. Plenty of parking for our truck and 2-place trailor. Lots of space to park our snowmobiles overnight. Trails start right next to the hotel! Will be staying here on our next snowmobile trip.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danielle36619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed 2 nights at the Boulder Junction Motor Lodge while snowmobiling in the area. Plenty of room for trailers....the owner was very helpful to make sure we had a spot for our 2 place enclosed trailer. Rooms are very roomy & clean...nothing fancy but very comfortable. The lobby has a fireplace & cozy couches/chairs. The owners were very friendly & helpful....they were happy to make our stay comfy. Snowmobile trail right outside the parking lot. Located just a block off "main street" with eating & bar establishments within walking distance. Great set up if you are a snowmobiler:)

Room Tip: Didn't see hairdryer....chose a room at the West end of the lodge (102, 104)...the snowmobile tr...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed at the Boulder Junction Motor Lodge over Christmas weekend and were two of just a few tenants there at the time. The owners were incredibly friendly and made sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The room was clean, comfortable, and cozy. They serve a small, unassuming continental breakfast that is enough for a snack but probably not what most would consider a full breakfast. It was great to get a cup of coffee and get the day started, though! We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip through.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Junction
25.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
69 reviews
27.4 km away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
27.3 km away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
25 reviews
28.1 km away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
36.6 km away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Junction Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Junction Motor Lodge

Address: 10432 Main St, Boulder Junction, WI 54512-9764
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Boulder Junction
Amenities:
Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Boulder Junction
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing