We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
31
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great place to stay grizzly troy wedding amenities northwoods
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015

New owners Troy and Bobbi were more than inviting to my extended family as we enjoyed the Panda Bear Lodge and all of the amenities Big Bear Hideaway has to offer.
Each hand built building has its own character with stunning detail that you will not find anywhere else!
The fire pit, outdoor eating area, sauna, bikes, canoes etc. are all available for guests.
I would highly recommend a visit. I know my family will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T-C-Motzkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

On April 14, 2014 my then boyfriend proposed to me up at North Trout Lake and our decision was to have the wedding at Big Bear Hideaway!! So on June 12, 2015 we got married at North Trout Lake and had our reception at Big Bear Hideaway. There are 5 cabins that accommodated our immediate families and wedding party perfectly! With the location so close to town, the remainder of our guests were conveniently able to find lodging in town, which is within walking distance. The charming and comfortable cabins were all hand built and are very clean and cozy. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The community pavilion area has plenty of picnic tables, a gas grill, charcoal grill, and a fire pit, with plenty of wood! There is also a deer feeder on the property so you are guaranteed to see deer the entire time you are there!! The pavilion area opens up to a perfect size area that held two 10x10 tents to hold our DJ and beer tent with plenty of room for dancing the night away.
Big Bear Hideaway is under NEW ownership and Troy and Bobbi are the perfect pair for this resort. They were nothing but kind and caring, not to mention accommodating to make our special day/weekend perfect!! I can't say enough good things about Troy and Bobbi and so many Thank You's go out to both of them for everything!!!
If you are looking for the up north feel of a cabin, but want the luxuries of a house... then Big Bear Hideaway is a must stay!! Cabins range in size to accommodate any size family or couple. Great Prices and convenient location!!

Room Tip: "Check out the website to find specifics on cabin size and number of beds"
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed one night in a very cool cabin with tons of character. It felt like we were in a tree house! Troy and his wife (new owners) were most helpful and accommodating. They had bikes available and there is a great bike path near by. Cabins are a short walk to town.

Room Tip: Johnny Depp and his crew rented out the resort when they filmed Public Enemies. Ask to stay in the cabin that J.D. stayed in.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were in the smallest of the cabins, and it was cozy and well furnished. Complete with stove, fridge, microwave oven the kitchen had everything you could want in terms of dishes,cookware etc. The location is right at the edge of Boulder Jct making it easy to just walk into town. Would rent this place again!

Room Tip: If you are just a couple the smallest lodge was just the right size/
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Immaculate one of a kind cabin rentals. Family built and owned. Beautiful and private setting, walking distance to Boulder Junction. Couldn't ask for more! Each cabin uniquely designed and artistically crafted. The experience is magical. Baby deer born during our stay every spring. Often see eagles and all kinds of birds. Hospitality abounds and every need is met by the owners and creators; Joe & Mary. Lodge full of games and a brick pizza oven. We enjoy cooking and eating out at all the great restaurants in the area. Our kids love it. Yes, there are TV's - but besides checking an occasional sports score, we rarely turn them on. Truly a "getaway" in all the best ways. Bike paths all over and great cross country skiing in the winter. Available for weddings and family events. Our family has been staying in the area for 20 years, and this is our favorite. Though not on the water, we bring our canoe or rent a boat. Fish and lakes EVERYWHERE; Musky, Bass, Northern, Walleye, Crappie and Sunnies.Wonderful bakery and bait shop in town. Chicago hot dogs to fine dining just a walk away. Or take a short scenic ride to Smokey's in Manitowish Waters. A peaceful, restful and amazing experience.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank mclohisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews