We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hiawatha Lodge & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Derby Inn(Eagle River)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveler's Inn(Eagle River)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oneida Village Inn(Three Lakes)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Northernaire Resort(Three Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
59
12
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
12
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvaulted ceilingsduckpool tablecontinental breakfastfriendly ownersgames roomgame areatheater roomclean roomssupper clubold styleping pongother guestssnowmobile trailsnorth woodsview of the lakeoff season
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My trip was cut short so my stay was only one night. I was disappointed with this facility. The parking lot was full of pine needles and pine cones. The toilet mounting was loose. The WiFi did not work in my room and one of the lights was not working. The breakfast was very meager. Outside my room window was a picnic table that had the top smashed in. That should not have been left out in that condition it would have been better if it was taken away and was out of sight. The entire place was a bit out-of-sorts. It appeared that they were in the midst of freshening up the place but they should have closed the Inn during that process. On the plus side, the management was VERY friendly and helpful. I can see how the Inn would be inviting during the summer business season and maybe during the snowmobiling season.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are nice
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for recognizing the customer service the owners work hard everyday to make our guests stay enjoyable. Your review is confusing as the day you checked out at 5. PM with no notice we comped you a free day as in your words our school district cancelled your 2nd speech with no notice. You brought up the internet and we connected your device right there on the spot. You admitted your unfamiliarity with your other device as the source of the problem. We have fantastic 4G and 5G internet that reaches through out the property. We apologized for the pine cones and needles in the driveway we had a vicious storm just prior to you arriving 50 plus knot winds that even damaged our roof. You said it was no problem so how could we have made that better? We live in the Northwoods when there are storms of that force we will get debris from trees. You are correct in the off season we take great care to detail each and every room. We do this by closing down a wing to our guests so it does not inconvenience them in any way. Not sure how that factors in your review as it was the North wing we were detailing and you were on the lakeside of the south wing. We keep picnic tables out for our guests and occasionally they get damaged. This table has been repaired it was damaged from frozen ice falling off the roof. We are a family owned business that takes great pride in taking care of our awesome guests needs. It would not be responsible to close down every time we needed to do maintenance or sweep the driveway after a storm. Blessings to you and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We came up to snowmobile and the weather was questionable but enjoyed our room and staff so much we stayed 2 nights. Friendly desk clerks and clean comfortable room. Game area and close to the trail and fun locations.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks Chris for the awesome review! Looking forward to hosting you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This place is clean and well kept. The staff is very friendly. We stayed there for snowmobiling and is located on the trail. We will definitely be staying here again. The only recommendation would be to update the televisions.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmhalvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We have since updated all of our TV's to 32 inch HD LED ! Looking forward to seeing you and your crew again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This place is a gem! Large king room with a futon and a view of the lake was clean, comfortable and charming. We arrived to a warm welcome and enjoyed a fire in the lobby and a few games of pool in the game room. This will definitely be our go-to place when visiting the north woods!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Av8torak, Owner at Hiawatha Lodge & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for the nice review. Looking forward to hosting you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed one night on a December road trip in the Northwoods. We picked this place because of the price and the service/personality when calling to inquire about rates and availability. The owners are very friendly and try their best to make you feel welcome and comfortable. This property is unique in that it offers a downstairs theater room for the guests to use as a party room or to just hang out and watch a movie. They also have a game room upstairs featuring both a ping pong and a pool table. The rooms all have both access both via the outside door and the inside hallway. This would be very convenient for snowmobilers or cross country skiers! In the summer, there is access to Duck Lake which appears to be very nice. They are family and pet friendly.
PROS:
*Price - I'm not sure what the peak season price is, but we felt we got a good value during off season
*Service - the owners make you feel very welcome and comfortable.
*Room - very spacious, accessible from both inside and outside, clean! I didn't see any hairdryers in the room, but I brought my own. Not sure if they are available on request or not.
*Location - good location on a lake and near snowmobile trails, short drive to downtown Eagle River
CONS:
*Breakfast - they do have a very light breakfast, for us it was fine. But if you have children they would be complaining. Basically it's packaged pastry's, with cold cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee.
*The abandoned supper club next door gives the motel a strange "vibe". Especially when there are not many other guests (again, off season). Maybe this is different when more people are around.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Midwestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews