We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I've always wanted to visit The Abbey Resort, but during the summer the fares seem a little high. But it was my 59th birthday in early January. So, my honey and I decided to get away for a few nights. We were thrilled. The rates off season are so good, and it included breakfast each morning and free access to Avanti Spa. What a great deal! We enjoyed the spa's pool, whirlpool, saunas and fitness center. And the meals were heavenly. I ordered the short ribs with horseradish mashed potatoes at 240 West, and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. My boyfriend had the scallops, his favorite dish. It was excellent too. And the breakfasts at the same restaurant were plentiful, tasty and the staff are so sweet and kind. Our room was in the older part of the resort, but it was still good. One night, they even showed, "Hidden Treasures" in their new theater. It rounded out our night. Thanks again, The Abbey, for a much needed getaway.

Room Tip: We were in building 2, an older building -- but it was close to the spa and the restaurants, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne S, Marketing Coordinator at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Happy Belated Birthday to you! I am glad to hear that our resort and staff were instrumental to make your celebration memorable. Hopefully, we can celebrate your birthday with you again next year, and the year after that. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

This was our first visit and we couldn't have asked for a better experience! Everything was wonderful from the hotel service at the front desk, to the spa, to Sunday brunch! It was the perfect weekend getaway! We hope to go back for a visit soon!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you! We're so delighted to read about your experience, we're definitely looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Luv the Abbey! Not my first trip there, but first review. Always an awesome time. Rooms are clean & comfortable. We usually stay in a room facing the pool, but this time stayed in one facing the Harbor. Both rooms are similar, just different views. Overnight Avani Spa Package is the way to go! Great value! Spa & all its amenities always great. 15 minutes from Lake Geneva. Staff very helpful, especially Alissa (sp) from the front desk. Other staff set up a fire outside for us, since the bar was closing. Highly recommend this place & will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 13Star13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

It is quite sprawling with little stairways between buildings and hallways-somewhat difficult to get around. The pool was fun but because of the real cold air outside, it was hard to stay warm unless you stayed in the water. The counter person, Monica, was great! However some of her attempts to help us were delayed by apparent miscommunication. It took three tries before we were able to get the 2nd robe that was supposed to be in the room. A real plus for Monica is each time she remembered me by my face despite how busy things were.

Room Tip: use valet to get your stuff moved around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for you review and for choosing our resort! I am very happy the staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay overall. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with several things throughout your stay. This has been communicated to the concerned staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Went to this Resort for a small conference and was very disappointed in almost every way. The resort is on a lake and a very lovely location. Checked in and went to my room which was not that easy to find as the resort has many levels and is up/down stairs without elevator access to all floors and sometimes between floors. Was hard to haul trade show items and suit cases, etc. around. My room was OK except for the bed. I am 5.4 which is the average height for a woman and the bed was 4 feet off the floor 3 feet plus off the ground. It was so high, I had to walk my feet up the wall to get in bed. Terribly uncomfortable. But actually the worse part of the stay was the lack of elevators to floors that were imperative to get to with carrying stuff. I would never stay there again. The food was poor, the service was too and in the middle of the night the staff charged my credit card instead of waiting until I checked out. It was the wrong card but they did it and of course, it would be days to see that cleared.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Downpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I’m glad that your found our location lovely, as we are the only full-service resort on the shores of Geneva Lake. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. We do indeed have elevator access to all floors and wish you had reached out to our staff for assistance with directions, as they would have been happy to help. We do hope that you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana
6.8 km away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
489 reviews
8.8 km away
Lake Lawn Resort
Lake Lawn Resort
#1 of 7 in Delavan
1,022 reviews
11.4 km away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
1,042 reviews
7.4 km away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
132 reviews
12.6 km away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI 53125-9604
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range: RM 561 - RM 1,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Abbey Resort & Avani Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing