We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$100
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Suites(La Crosse)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(La Crosse)
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
160
8
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
8
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseballroom suitebreakfast basketfresh fruitevery morningqueen anneexcellent hostsrestored houseguesthouse offersdelightful breakfastthird floorbed and breakfastliving roomour favorite place to stayfriends familywithin walking distance of downtownperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We've been to many B & Bs in the last 25 years, and this is one of the best. The suite was huge, warm (on a subzero night), beautifully decorated and just a delight.
The only caveat would be if you're looking for the traditional breakfast with other guests, this wouldn't work. We enjoyed a simple but tasty breakfast delivered to our door. So we had lots of privacy, but no contact with the other guests and did not tour the rest of the B & B as we sometimes do.
It was one of the best New Year's Eves ever, as we watched the fireworks from our cozy suite! We had the ballroom suite which also brought us a lovely sunrise. And the Christmas tree was spectacular.
The one problem we did have was parking. We got blocked in by another car before we went to dinner and had a tough time getting out, so we opted to park on the street when we got back. That worked out just fine.

Room Tip: Check out the photos on the website
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Bentley-Wheeler B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much for the positive response, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the Bentley-Wheeler ... especially with the frigid temperatures!

Thanks also for the opportunity to share thoughts about your feedback in relation to parking and breakfast. Through our website and communication prior to guest arrival, we attempt to address both parking and our amenity baskets. Unfortunately, not everyone reads our communication in its entirety, so a few are sometimes surprised with their amenity baskets (although we have discovered that most people prefer NOT to congregate for a community breakfast). Parking? Even though we have plenty of space, there is always the occasional guest that doesn't see they have parked someone else in ... all we can do is continue to ask for observance (until we build a historically accurate parking ramp!). :)

Thanks again for your feedback, and for staying at the Bentley-Wheeler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Hard to call this a B&B as it offers so much more. Located on 'Mansion row' (Cass St.) in Lacrosse, it is a stunningly restored house of many dimensions.
Look carefully at the varied room descriptions to find one that suits your needs. I stayed in the 'Ballroom Suite' which occupies the entire 3rd floor (2500 sq. feet) and is much like a house itself. Only one bed and bath, but a large living room, dining room, and complete kitchen within the private area.
I booked this large room to accommodate a small meeting of 10 people I was conducting while there (perfect for such an occasion). Walkable to downtown Lacrosse. A lovely continental breakfast with fresh berries, juice, cereal, milk, yogurt and wonderful scones served. Owner (Jay) appears to shop for these early every morning.
The owners reside on the ground floor. 2nd and 3rd floor units accessible only via stairs, but owner assisted with luggage.
Could not have been happier with my stay.

Room Tip: Survey the rooms to find what you need. All are different.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We were in LaCrosse for a wedding of a friend. Stayed in the 4-bedroom guest house with 2 other couples. So much room and very comfortable. Beds were comfortable and the owners were excellent hosts. This B & B is situated within walking distance of downtown. Beautiful town right on the Mississippi. The neighborhood has a number of preserved 1800's homes that are absolutely wonderful including the two where we stayed! And the price was right as well. My only small complaint was the ceiling fan in the bedroom we stayed. It was off balanced and made a clicking noise while rotating. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend!

Room Tip: You might want to bring your own pillows if you are picky.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bentley-wheeler, Owner at Bentley-Wheeler B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for the positive review, and so disappointed that you didn't give us the chance to fix the bothersome fan; Jay and I would've removed the fan and replaced, because that's how responsive we try and be. Rest assured, the fan will be gone this morning and replaced immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

An absolutely breathtaking bed and breakfast. The hosts were amazing. They were so much fun, gave us the inside scoop on where to go and what to see. We had an early morning fishing charter and there was hot coffee and snacks ready to go by the time we left at 530am! My wife, Rita, and I absolutely loved the experience! We will definitely be back. Oh, and my wife has not stopped talking about the wonderful beds. Apparently I need to find out the make of the mattress and everything else that was on your beds - SO comfy!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Beautiful B & B in LaCrosse. The location is excellent as you can walk to the downtown area and walk along the Mississippi River. Very, very clean. Excellent breakfast delivered to our room. Bed was so comfy! Thanks, Jay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 431jazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews