We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love wolfs den bar and grill”

The Great Northern Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Great Northern Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mercer
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We live up here and would have to say the wolfs den has the best burgers, fried pickles, Sunday night pizza special for 4.99, tues. Night ribeye special for 10.00 melts in your mouth. We bring family there to eat, best place to eat in the Northwoods!

Room Tip: Lake behind motel, the Restaraunt is a must stop to eat.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank largeandlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Room was large and clean, beds were firm but not bad. Scenic location on a lake with green space, a dock and boats to use and games to play. The Wolfs den bar and restaurant in the hotel has a great fish fry!! All in all, a great place to stay in the Mercer area!

Room Tip: They offer street view and lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hedquist13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I would give this DUMP a zero if I could. Bitter and hostile receptionist. She gave us a room on the second floor even though my 80 year olds Mom asked for a first floor room when she made the reservation. There is NO ELEVATOR so my Mom, with bad knees and hips, had to walk up the stairs. There are no luggage racks so not only do you have to haul your luggage through the parking lot you also have to schlep it up rickety stairs. There are NO LOCKS ON THEOUTSIDE DOORS so anyone can access the hallways. Stained, hard beds with old polyester cone rings that appear to be from the early 80's. Pillows were as flat as a piece of paper. Two towels in the bathroom. Questionable cleanliness. Worst hotel I have seen in 30 years and it cost $100 for 1 night! Don't stay here unless you've had a recent tetanus shot!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbaxter348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

First room stunk broken toilet and facet melted AC unit dirty carpet, next room better. Nice view on a lake with a friendly staff and bar with food was very nice. Serious remodel needed for the rooms.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Room was large and clean, but needs some updating. No microwave or refrigerator. TV is an old, small tube model. Shower head is low - my wife is 5' 6" and had to duck to wash her hair. Wi-if seemed good and pretty fast. Some of the paint was peeling in the hallway. Otherwise, not a bad place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kroll41271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercer
34.3 km away
AmericInn Ironwood
AmericInn Ironwood
#1 of 11 in Ironwood
333 reviews
34.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Ironwood
149 reviews
3.6 km away
No photo provided
Beaver Lodge
#4 of 5 in Mercer
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Days Inn Hurley
Days Inn Hurley
#1 of 3 in Hurley
420 reviews
34.5 km away
Indianhead Motel
Indianhead Motel
#3 of 11 in Ironwood
72 reviews
34.9 km away
Budget Host Cloverland Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Northern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Northern Motel

Address: 5070 US Highway 51, Mercer, WI 54547-9313
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mercer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mercer
Price Range: RM 335 - RM 452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Great Northern Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer, Fall, Winter, and Spring beckon you North to the Great Northern Motel. We're offering fun for the whole family including hiking, fishing, snowmobiling, swimming, and more. You will never get bored! Our motel has 80 rooms available, plus we now offer are very spacious and comfortable whirlpool suite. You'll feel like you're right at home. We include a complimentary breakfast every morning you're with us; and pets are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Great Northern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Northern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing