We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, funky boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Loved the hotel! Although I was there for a Harley function and appreciated all the motorcycle features, one does not need to be a motorcycle buff to appreciate it. The lobby staff were very pleasant to deal with, as were the restaurant and bar staff. I LOVED the room - very different, high ceiling and SUPER comfy bed! (see photos) They sure did hire a fantastic designer - the lobby, library, restaurant and bar are done up SO well.

I rated the location as very good as my functions were primarily in the Harley museum. Others may find the location less than ideal.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper and was fortuante to be on the front hotel entrance side, not the side with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review about your stay with us. You are absolutely right in saying that you do not have to be a motorcycle buff to appreciate the hotel. If you should ever have to come back to Milwaukee for another Harley Event or just for a visit, we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,029 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Wow! We flew in from the Caymans after 9pm and stayed here overnight. What a cool and reasonably priced hotel. The bar scene was hopping and made us forget we left tropical breezes for sub-zero ones. The room we had reminded me of a loft style condo. Fully stocked bar, snacks, and extras!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you so much for the review. I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us when it is a bit warmer out! I promise if you liked our bar, Branded, you will love our outdoor patio, The Yard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

From the arty decor to the exposed brick and beam of this converted warehouse to the flawless service and the lavish rooms this is every bit as good as reviews suggest. A funky, trendy hotel that makes a business trip memorable but does all the basic hotel stuff very well. Lovely rooms, great service, good food from a nice restaurant and a pretty awesome range of local beers in the excellent bar, this is a place I'd happily return to at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: floor 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

I am so happy to hear that you had a good time with us. If we can provide an enviornment where people have fun even when they are staying here for work, then we are doing our job. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

For my husband's birthday, I surprised him with a trip to Milwaukee, staying at the Iron Horse. Although the location is not ideal, the hotel itself is beautiful and interesting. It is by far the most luxurious hotel in Milwaukee--we have stayed at most of the well reviewed hotels in downtown Milwaukee, and I can say without a doubt that this is a step above. The lobby is gorgeous, and worth a trip in itself. The food is great. The room is unique, comfortable, and artistic without being kitschy. And, the main selling point for me: the bathrooms are extravagant, bathrobes included! - Anna (Tim S's wife)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for this great review! I hope that your husband had just a great of a time as you did for his birthday. We would love to have you back and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please feel free to reach out to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Since my daughter and husband lived in Milwaukee, we have been able to enjoy this hotel when we go to visit. We love the uniqueness of it. The industrial look coupled with the "Harley" theme is so well done. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. Love the rooms,the decor, the amenities, the earplugs in case you are not a train lover. (My husband and I personally find the train sounds comforting). The food is good, better than most, with some thoughtful prep. The only bad thing is my daughter moved to Denver! Now we will have to find an equally comfortable place in Denver.b

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

We are very grateful that you have chosen to spend your time with us for all of your trips to Milwaukee. We wish your daughter all of the best in Denver and if you should return to Milwaukee for any reason, we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,959 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 55 in Milwaukee
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,687 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: RM702 - RM1,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing