We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong place wrong time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

I wish I could upload a picture of the construction zone that supposedly was a three star B and B. the neighborhood is not sketchy it is just plain unsafe and the building has seen better days. The yard was full of furniture and scaffolding enveloped the building on both sides.

Stayed: August 2015
7  Thank Mjcalvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2015

I've stayed with Laura Sue and Rick, and gracious hosts of Schuster Mansion, at least a dozen times over the years; often while I'm on Milwaukee for business, but for a get-away as well. I am consistently charmed by their Victorian manners as I am by the authentic Victorian surroundings. The breakfasts are delicious and served on period china. The beds are more comfortable than my own and each room is tastefully, authentically appointed in the Victorian style. I recommend anyone who desires to have a romantic/relaxing time to make Schuster Mansion your first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Our initial impression was very unwelcoming. We came in the back door as we parked in back (where we should have). Laura Sue was very condescending as we checked in and was very snappy when we tried to ask some questions before she finished 'checking us in'. First impressions are important and ours was not a very good one.

Word of advice, book directly through them and not a 3rd party. Even though we paid the amount of their top package, we did not receive a tour of the house, bottle of wine, and popcorn.

Pros- Pias room was lovely. It was much bigger than I expected and had a separate sitting area. Very clean and comfortable and plenty of towels in the bathroom.
The home is lovely and they have taken great care to decorate it with many unique items. It is a work in progress, they are working on the exterior but fortunately no hammering while we were there.
They have added some nice practical touches to your stay. The plastic cups and blow dryer in the bathroom were appreciated.
Coffee and delicious cookies available at all times.
Parking is off street behind the house.

Cons-not in a nice area. I was a bit uncomfortable coming in late at night and driving through the area.

You have a choice of one of 3 items with a side. Large portions but not our preference on items and taste. A bit too 'sweet' for us. This is a matter of preference as the other patrons raved over the breakfasts.

Fortunately our last day we had a pleasant talk with Dave and then also Laura Sue. If the house was in a nicer area, we may have given it another chance as I can understand having a bad day and giving a bad impression but I think we will try and stay downtown next time.

If you want a beautiful and clean room, stay here...but you will need to drive everywhere you want to go. Check the prices and find out exactly what you want before you book.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We had a suite of rooms which gave us options to read, drink coffee or watch TV. The breakfasts were excellent, crepes, strata, etc. The hosts were very welcoming, we parted as friends. The house itself is gorgeous, built in 1891 and many of the features remain. It is wonderfully decorated. Easy to get to downtown from the mansion. We will be back!

Room Tip: Second floor suites are roomy and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

This was a find. The mansion is unbelievable and i have never seen so much attention to detail. The Innkeepers were so much fun and even saw that we got safely to and from the Brewers game. It was a step back in time with all the amenities. Thank you Laura Sue and Dave for sharing your home with us
Kirk and Brenda.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Happy812015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,958 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,686 reviews
Downtown
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Best Western Milwaukee West
#15 of 55 in Milwaukee
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3209 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range: RM531 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schuster Mansion is the newest B&B in Milwaukee's Historic Concordia Neighborhood. Converted to luxury apartments in the 20s, owners/innkeepers Rick & Laura Sue take great pride in returning this architectural gem to its original splendor. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it's the perfect destination for your private weekend getaway. Our spacious Victorian suites will surround you in luxury and our wonderful homemade breakfasts can be enjoyed at your private in-suite breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuster Mansion Hotel Milwaukee
Schuster Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing