We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$113
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$133
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$189
US$129
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$222
US$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
US$179
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$215
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
175
22
14
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
22
14
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslaura sue and rickhigh teaprairie skyclotted creamlabor of lovepremium serviceshared bathroomwonderful hostsbreakfast was amazingmiller parkbad neighborhoodsitting roomchocolate chip cookiestwo night staywonderful weekendthird floormarquette university
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I've stayed with Laura Sue and Rick, and gracious hosts of Schuster Mansion, at least a dozen times over the years; often while I'm on Milwaukee for business, but for a get-away as well. I am consistently charmed by their Victorian manners as I am by the authentic Victorian surroundings. The breakfasts are delicious and served on period china. The beds are more comfortable than my own and each room is tastefully, authentically appointed in the Victorian style. I recommend anyone who desires to have a romantic/relaxing time to make Schuster Mansion your first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Our initial impression was very unwelcoming. We came in the back door as we parked in back (where we should have). Laura Sue was very condescending as we checked in and was very snappy when we tried to ask some questions before she finished 'checking us in'. First impressions are important and ours was not a very good one.

Word of advice, book directly through them and not a 3rd party. Even though we paid the amount of their top package, we did not receive a tour of the house, bottle of wine, and popcorn.

Pros- Pias room was lovely. It was much bigger than I expected and had a separate sitting area. Very clean and comfortable and plenty of towels in the bathroom.
The home is lovely and they have taken great care to decorate it with many unique items. It is a work in progress, they are working on the exterior but fortunately no hammering while we were there.
They have added some nice practical touches to your stay. The plastic cups and blow dryer in the bathroom were appreciated.
Coffee and delicious cookies available at all times.
Parking is off street behind the house.

Cons-not in a nice area. I was a bit uncomfortable coming in late at night and driving through the area.

You have a choice of one of 3 items with a side. Large portions but not our preference on items and taste. A bit too 'sweet' for us. This is a matter of preference as the other patrons raved over the breakfasts.

Fortunately our last day we had a pleasant talk with Dave and then also Laura Sue. If the house was in a nicer area, we may have given it another chance as I can understand having a bad day and giving a bad impression but I think we will try and stay downtown next time.

If you want a beautiful and clean room, stay here...but you will need to drive everywhere you want to go. Check the prices and find out exactly what you want before you book.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank KraZe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We had a suite of rooms which gave us options to read, drink coffee or watch TV. The breakfasts were excellent, crepes, strata, etc. The hosts were very welcoming, we parted as friends. The house itself is gorgeous, built in 1891 and many of the features remain. It is wonderfully decorated. Easy to get to downtown from the mansion. We will be back!

Room Tip: Second floor suites are roomy and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dieter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

This was a find. The mansion is unbelievable and i have never seen so much attention to detail. The Innkeepers were so much fun and even saw that we got safely to and from the Brewers game. It was a step back in time with all the amenities. Thank you Laura Sue and Dave for sharing your home with us
Kirk and Brenda.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Happy812015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We only had one night to spend in Milwaukee, but we wish we had had more time. We stayed at the Schuster Mansion B&B and enjoyed it immensely. The proprietor was delightful--full of information about the mansion and the city--and great fun to talk with. Everything we asked for was provided immediately, including nice china for our delivered pizza!
Breakfast was scrumptious and the coffee was perfect. Before breakfast, we took a walk around the neighborhood and enjoyed watching the denizens of a very diverse area and looking at the interesting architecture.
Finally, we had a suite which was large, comfortable, and a very reasonable price. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews