We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schuster Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Milwaukee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The owners are very charming. Offers a selection of breakfast. Located near lots of attractions.Some remodeling still going on. Our room had a separate sitting room. Very historic. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Everything about this Bed & Breakfast is Exceptional. The owners Rick and Laura Sue, were amazing people.. Kind and friendly and dressed the part as well. Such a beautiful home.. Decorated to the hilt.. So much to look at. Our breakfast was excellent and amazing.. You read a lot of reviews about the neighborhood.. We never felt "unsafe". they have security cameras all over and a security guard sat in a car across the street as well. Parking in the back of the house not on the main street, which also was very safe. Can not wait to go back.. The location is very close to Miller Park and to downtown if you are going to a play or show. Rick and Laura Sue made us feel like family, everything about our stay was excellent. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We booked this home base on a 9.3 booking rating. When we arrived at the location I was shocked. It was in a very low rent poorly kept area. I was afraid of leaving our car and bikes there. The home was beautiful and the hosts were very nice. Prior to our arrival I got an emai advising me of a two night charge that was applied. We were only staying one night and booking told us it would not be charged until we arrived. I just received another two night charge from them. I also did not get a request from booking to evaluate the B&B. This is the only time in 400 plus times that had happened. The 9 be rating is totally false and after talking to booking I believe the owners have rigged it.

Room Tip: Make sure your car is safe. The area is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kearnsbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We are heading to the air show and decided to stay in Milwaukee one night. Looked up website and attracted by the pictures. After we get in here and checked in. We really satisfied with their hospitality and enjoyed the decorations in the house. One of the great experience of B&B.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Fazhi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Be very careful about choosing this location as very few reviews seem to mention this. It seems strange as the decrepit state of the neighbourhood is so apparent. There seem to be a lot of 5* reviews written by people that have only ever reviewed this one b&b and nothing else.

Saying that, the house itself was beautiful and the rooms were extremely spacious. We even had a living room attached to the bedroom! The breakfasts were exceptional and the tea selection was abundant. The hostess, laura sue, took great pride in the house and her food. However, when we told a museum tour guide where we staying here (we were yet to check in), he warned us it was not a safe neighbourhood and we should not walk around. When driving there after visiting the museum, we could see why. The neighbourhood was in a state of disrepair, with boarded up houses, garbage and grafitti. Although nothing happened to us, we could feel the stares from people as we drove by and we did not feel safe driving. We already agreed before we checked in that if the b&b did not have private parking, we would not have stayed. There are cameras across the whole house and outside, which makes us believe it was for security reasons. In the night you could hear shouting from the streets and cop car sirens. A couple we had breakfast with there shared our sentiment.

As for laura sue, she was very nice to us but it seemed to be a little forced as she was rude about a previous guest to us, sharing an inappropriate story and she refused to open the side door to a couple checking in as 'they should know to use the front door' despite there being no signs saying this. She was also very condescing to her employee kendra, who was very nice and sweet.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,958 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
The Iron Horse Hotel
The Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,687 reviews
Downtown
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Best Western Milwaukee West
#15 of 55 in Milwaukee
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3209 W Wells St, Milwaukee, WI 53208-3325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Milwaukee
Price Range: RM531 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Schuster Mansion is the newest B&B in Milwaukee's Historic Concordia Neighborhood. Converted to luxury apartments in the 20s, owners/innkeepers Rick & Laura Sue take great pride in returning this architectural gem to its original splendor. Situated just 5 minutes from downtown, it's the perfect destination for your private weekend getaway. Our spacious Victorian suites will surround you in luxury and our wonderful homemade breakfasts can be enjoyed at your private in-suite breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Schuster Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuster Mansion Hotel Milwaukee
Schuster Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing