We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value, but airport transportation is a hassle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Oak Creek WI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Oak Creek WI
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value, but airport transportation is a hassle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We recently spent two non-consecutive nights here on a trip to Milwaukee.

Night 1 was on Friday - we arrived late and wanted a hotel nearby. The room was clean and looked fairly newly remodeled, although it did smell like someone had been smoking in it. We had a full size bed - not sure why hotels don't make a queen size standard. We went out to grab some food & returned around 1 am - I called down to the front desk to get the access code (wireless is free, but you do need a code) - and it rang 3 times, and then someone answered and hung up. I thought it was in error, but I called back and let it ring 20x and no one answered. I waited 5 minutes and tried again - same result. Breakfast was fine - bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee was pretty decent.

Night 2 was Sunday - we returned as we had a 6 am flight. Their website indicated they had an airport shuttle - this is NOT a hotel-run shuttle. You have to go through Airport Connect (similar to Super Shuttle) and it's $8 each way. For our early flight they said they would have to pick us up at 3:30 am - even though we were less than 2 miles away! We had to return our rental car Sunday night - we assumed the hotel could just come pick us up. Instead, we ended up taking a taxi and dealing with a driver who complained about the short trip & overcharged us. We took a taxi back in the morning because the shuttle was just too much hassle.

Overall the hotel was fine - staff was very friendly. When we checked in Sunday we said we'd be leaving before breakfast & she said to ask the clerk in the morning & she could probably grab us something if we wanted.

However, the lack of a shuttle will probably prevent us from staying here again. If you have a car, then this place would be fine. There's also a restaurant/bar next door that is open late.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek WI, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Please know that your comments and suggestions are very important to us and we are working on upgrading and improving all apsects of our hotel. We are working with our owners both about the hotel-run shuttle (a problem we are sorry you experienced during your stay with us) as well as our rooms with the one double bed, as we are looking to upgrade those rooms in the future. In the meantime, we will continue to strive to give you the best in service and selection of hospitality here in Milwaukee. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    62
    56
    51
    34
See reviews for
66
49
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

This is not my first time staying at this hotel. It is very clean and close to General Mitchell Airport. A great value if you have an early flight out.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek WI, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to hear from one of our returning guests that we have been able to maintain the level of service and quality you expect from us. We hope to continue to be of service to you during your travels to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

The hotel is very dated, but it is kept mostly clean. Except for the fact that someone was obviously smoking in their rooms and this seemed to fill our room with a lovely cigarette smell.

Where do I start? The room, is clean, old style television with cable, coffee machine, desk. The bed, is... different. Small pillows & see through sheets- they're that worn. Stained mattress... not that nice to be honest.

The room itself was quite roomy with decent space, not the best heating system when travelling in the winter, but it was generally quiet which was a good thing. Free Wi-Fi was pretty poor, it took ages to connect and kept re-connecting, the signal was bad. And don't expect to have two windows running at the same time - not very fast!

Breakfast-is awful. If you're staying more than a day, expect to be paying for somewhere else for breakfast like iHop. You get the choice of boiled egg, toaster waffles, bagles or awful pastries. The cereal selection is Frosties & Raisen Bran. Thats it... and - only the bagles were half decent.

There is a 'Business Centre'; aka one computer and a printer. Which was out of service for 4 of the 7 nights we stayed in the hotel.

There is a small 'gym' - 2 tredmills, we didn't use it but it seemed decent enough.

Car parking is ample and the location is ok if you have a car and want to drive about. It's about 15/20 mins from downtown.

I personally wouldnt stay here again. It wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but it sure was one of the bad ones. Days Inn? ... more like Days out!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdole07, Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek WI, responded to this review, 11 December 2010
We are very sorry your recent stay with us was anything less than completely satisfying. Please know that your comments and issues have been addressed with our staff, particulary in housekeeping. There is no reason that the linen you described should have made it back to our guest rooms, and for that we are truly sorry. We will, as always, continue to welcome your feedback (whether good or bad) so that we can continue to improve our services and amenities. In response to the issue of our business center, we are aware that unfortunately it was down for several days due to maintenance issues. We are, at times, at the mercy of our associated vendors to repair our equipment in a timely fashion. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please know that for future reference, any additional services you may need may be directed to our front desk staff for assistance. We will continue to work diligently to make sure all of our guests needs are met. Again, I apologize that we fell short with you during your recent stay. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, and please continue to have many happy travels along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

I wanted to be close to the airport for an early morning flight so I chose the Days Inn. Cinderblock walls. One double bed. Cheap furniture and furnishings. Unattractive room. Loud acrobatic sex antics next door kept me awake through the night. I know Days Inns are budget motels, but this was beyond budget to just plain bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziebart27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek WI, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I am very sorry that your experience with us was anything less than fully satisfied. Please know that we are currently working with our owners to update our rooms to the same extent that we recently remodeled our public areas last year. We are also consulting with several engineers to see what we can do about the noise level as well without having to knockdown half the walls in the hotel. I am sorry if other guests of the hotel were a disturbance to you during your stay. We hope that in the future you bring any disturbances or complaints to the attention of the front desk so that we may minimize or correct the situation. We also hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future and make your stay one you will remember for much better reasons. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any additional comments. I can be reached at the hotel during normal business hours or will respond directly to e-mail sent to gm-mkedaysinn@att.net. Thank you again sir, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel based on friends recommendations. Hotel stay was nice and parking availability for park and fly was very good. The rooms were clean and quiet. A charge was put on my room by mistake and the manager was very helpful in resolving the accidental charge to my room. Definitely will stay at again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcadotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdole07, General Manager at Motel 6 Oak Creek WI, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope you truly enjoyed your stay with us and that we can be of service to you again in the future. We hope your next visit with us will be just as pleasurable without the aforementioned billing error (again, our sincerest apologies about the mistake). We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Creek
0.0 km away
Red Roof Inn Milwaukee Airport
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.1 km away
MainStay Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oak Creek WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oak Creek WI

Property: Motel 6 Oak Creek WI
Address: 1201 West College Avenue, Oak Creek, WI 53154 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Oak Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Oak Creek
Price range (per night): RM174 - RM250
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oak Creek WI 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Oak Creek WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Milwaukee South Hotel Oak Creek
Days Inn Oak Creek
Oak Creek Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing