We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Washington Inn
Reviewed 31 August 2017

My wife and I were in Port Washington to fish and do some tourist stuff and we could not have chosen a better place to stay! From the treats outside our door to the wonderful breakfast, it was all good. We stayed in Dorothy's Room and it was perfect for us. Dave and Rita are wonderful hosts, the house is gorgeous and very close to downtown. It was quite and is in a nice neighborhood. If we are ever back in Port Washington, this is where we will stay again! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dorothy's Room, and even with the leaves on the trees we could still see Lake Michi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LeadFoot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We spent a long weekend at the Port Washington Inn for my husband's birthday. Rita and Dave Nelson are wonderful hosts and the B&B is beautifully furnished and decorated. We had the third floor suite which had an excellent view of Lake Michigan from the living room. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The Inn is within walking distance to several restaurants in town. All in all we highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Port Washington.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margery N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaNelson, Owner at Port Washington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

A fringe benefit of the innkeeping profession is meeting delightful people. Sometimes our guests' journeys to the inn have been an adventure; this birthday weekend began with the adventure of dodging thunderstorms aboard Harleys. Other guests arriving that stormy afternoon were driving a vintage Jaguar. We tip our hats to such adventurers!

In the presence of proud owners of vehicles dear to their owners' hearts, we are reminded that the care and keeping of our inn has much in common with the care and keeping of their vehicles. Ownership of the 'vintage variety' demands/inspires patience, problem-solving, and TLC, and those who engage in it tend to be big-hearted, generous people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in Port Washington, and we had fantastic time. Rita and Dave were extremely welcoming and hospitable, and their home was beautiful and immaculate! The location of the inn is ideal-we could see Lake Michigan through the trees, and we thoroughly enjoyed the short walk to the marina/downtown area. Our days started off perfectly with a delicious breakfast, and ended with a scrumptious treat. Thank you for helping make our trip so memorable!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gretchenlbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My husband and I were in town visiting family and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Rita and Dave make you feel right at home, our room was spotless and comfortable, great breakfasts and location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbklenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaNelson, Owner at Port Washington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Over our years as innkeepers, we have met wonderful people from around the world. Inevitably we learn from our guests of places we would like to visit.

This time, we learned not only of places to visit but of places to enjoy superb food, both in the greater Milwaukee area and further afield. Thank you for sharing with us so generously!

Most of our guests have come to explore the area, not to visit family, but PWI can provide the 'home away from home' experience valued no matter the nature of the visit.

In a world that is often noisy, PWI offers peaceful quiet; in a world that is often about fast food, PWI offers 'slow food'. In a world that is often about hype, you will recognize the spaces you've seen in website photos when you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We will remember our pleasant stay at The Port Washington Inn for years to come. Rita and Dave couldn't have been nicer and we so enjoyed our morning chats of the lovely array of delicious breakfast goodies. We stayed in Grace's room with a balcony view of blue Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay again as Port Washington is a delightful and peaceful lakeside town with many beautiful places to visit.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bobbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaNelson, Owner at Port Washington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you, Bobbie, for sharing the sweet memories of your stay at our inn; it is heartwarming for us to hear that your time at Port Washington Inn has created memories that incline you to return.

We have had the pleasure of seeing many past guests since your stay with us; we are always honored when guests return. Often, both we and they are surprised at the passage of time since their last visit!

Iris were in bloom when you were here; roses and daylilies are adding color to our landscape now along with the blooms of lavender, yarrow, hostas, succulents, and astilbes.

This year we are appreciating the additional spots of color interwoven with the variety of foliage colors and textures. Recent rains and moderate temperatures have kept our landscape vibrant and fresh.

We look forward to your return whenever that may be:)

Rita & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Washington
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Washington
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Port Washington
Holiday Inn Port Washington
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
244 reviews
13.8 km away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
The Stagecoach Inn Bed and Breakfast
13.9 km away
Lilly Pad - Boerners' Guest House
0.4 km away
The Port Hotel Inn
The Port Hotel Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Washington
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Washington Inn

Address: 308 W Washington St, Port Washington, WI 53074-1839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Port Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Washington
Price Range: RM562 - RM953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Washington Inn is a four room bed and breakfast in the truest sense of the term. The inn was built in 1903 as the private home of George and Eva Blessing. The original character of the home has been preserved during the extensive restoration it has undergone during our time here (we are now in our 22nd season of incepting). A stay at Port Washington Inn will provide peaceful privacy and generous hospitality, and food to nourish body and soul. Dave's excellent early morning coffee and a full breakfast prepared from scratch and served buffet style in our formal dining room get our guests' day off to a great start. GIVEN ADVANCE NOTICE, WE ARE ABLE TO PROVIDE HIGH QUALITY FOODS FOR THOSE FOLLOWING A GRAIN-FREE, GLUTEN-FREE, LOW-CARB, OR DAIRY FREE DIET. We routinely serve breakfast meat(s) separately so NO ADVANCED NOTICE IS REQUIRED TO ACCOMMODATE A VEGETARIAN DIETARY PREFERENCE. The complimentary beverage centers, homemade treats, and generous common areas inside and outside the inn receive high marks with our guests. ALL GUESTROOMS HAVE QUEEN BEDS, ENSUITE BATHS, COMFORTABLE SEATING FOR TWO, LIGHTING TO SUPPORT READING. We invite you to experience the peaceful privacy and generous hospitality which bring guests back again and again. Secure WIFI access and good mobile phone reception will keep you connected during your time away. Take advantage of our multiple night discounts! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing