We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
US$76
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn(Rhinelander)
US$104
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Acres Resort(Rhinelander)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oneida Village Inn(Three Lakes)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northernaire Resort(Three Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
1
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice quiet peaceful getaway weekend up here at the Shady rest lodge. Very easy access off of highway 8. We stayed in cabin 6 and enjoyed the lake view from the sitting room as well as from the screen porch. Very nice and clean modern restroom was a plus as well.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our large family occupied several units. We had a fabulous time. The resort is rustic but very nice. Having breakfasts and dinners included relieved a lot of stress. We learned that a lot of the things we brought were unnecessary as they were already provided.
We have been searching for years for a place that could accommodate all of us and that everyone liked. A miracle happened! Our five grown children and their families all agreed!! We will be back next year and anticipate returning for years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a week here bit was a truly fabulous experience. Brad and Amy were very accommodating and organized. The kids loved hanging out at the beach and fishing. One of the kids in our group caught 60+ fish off the dock! There is water skiing, tubing, and wake boarding daily. It was very organized and fair. The boat drivers were great! They have calm, lazy river, rides to those who requested it, and fast bumpy rides for those looking for more of a thrill. It was also very helpful that they had one person off the boat to help the skiers. The kids enjoyed the water trampoline and kayaking. My son also had a blast catching frogs.

Meal time was amazing. Great food, including freshly baked breads and muffins, as well as dessert after each dinner. Breakfast and dinner was included. One in our group has celiac disease. Amy was so accommodating. She bought a new toaster just for that one person. She had gluten free muffins and bread for each meal. Amy also showed us the ingredient list for the food to be extra careful. We really appreciated that!

The cabins were pretty basic. Older furniture and rustic. There is no tvs in the cabins. This was fine for us, because we were outside from sun up to sundown. It was nice to disconnect. We just slept, got up and started with a new fun day.

The staff was also great! It was nice to have clean towels daily. They also got to know us, and not only knew all of our names, but even knew which kids belonged to which parents. It helped make us feel at home.

There were some planned free activities as well. My son loved the softball game. My daughter enjoyed performing in the talent show. They also enjoyed smores on our last night. They suggested a free ski show a few minutes away that was a lot of fun. They also had some suggestions for activities that cost money. Go carting, mini golf, and horseback riding. Such fun!

Overall this was such a fun and relaxing vacation. We will be back next year! Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank hrdorfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Our family has been visiting this resort almost every summer since 1970 and each visit ends with us planning the next trip. Brad and Amy have done a great job carrying on the tradition that the Fease family started.
This resort is exactly what you would hope for when visiting the north woods. The cabins are cozy, rustic, and each have their own special views. Our family particularly enjoys the screened porch on cabin 5 that is right on the lake.
We are able to spend quality time as a family over excellent meals, hiking, tennis games, kayaking, and water skiing & other water sports.
The cabins are cleaned daily and the grounds are well maintained. Breakfast & dinner are provided daily and we love not having to cook! The staff are all friendly and hard working. There is a bald eagle nest on the property and it is amazing to watch the adults catching fish.
There are no TVs in the cabins and cell service can be a little spotty. We love being able to unplug and just enjoy the fresh air & outdoor activities!!
The fees may seem expensive at first glance but include pretty much everything you will need for your trip. The only things we buy for the trip are snacks for mid day (you won't need a big lunch because the provided meals are so great) and alcohol.
I can't say enough good things about this place. I have been lucky to be able to travel many places around the world but I always feel myself drawn back to Manson Lake and Shady Rest Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drschmangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This was our tenth year at Shady Rest! Our extended family of grandparents, parents and grandchildren (30 of us in total this year) meet every year for a week in July. Over the years we have gotten to know Brad and Amy and watch their kids grow up. They are a wonderful family and they attract a wonderful staff. Shady Rest has come to embody summer-- both for us and for our kids. My favorite part is not having to cook-- the meals are delicious, with lots of healthy options (although the deserts are deadly). We spend our days on the beach, in the water, running around the tennis courts and playgrounds, and kayaking or swimming out into the lake. The kids can really run free, with plenty of eyes to watch them. One of our children has special needs, and our week in Shady Rest is a great break for us. The cabins are nice enough-- and the daily housekeeping is a treat. There are enough activities planned (go-carts, softball game, ski show etc) such that the week is full of adventures, yet with plenty of time to relax or play on the water. On rainy days, the kids enjoy the large indoor room with space for rip-sticking, playing ping-pong, air hockey, etc.

We have already planned our trip for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank OceanOakOrionRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews