We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country House Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country House Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great view, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Country House is nice and quiet, providing a relaxing atmosphere. It is convenient but away from noisy roads and tourist traffic. The staff is very friendly and the beds are comfortable. The decor could use some updating and there was a slight smell in our unit for our stay but other than that we enjoyed it and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our friendly staff and convenient location. I really do believe that our secluded setting on the bluffs overlooking the waters of Sister Bay, yet with in walking distance of downtown Sister Bay, is unique among lodging properties in Door County.

I also understand and appreciate you comments regarding some of our decor. Each year we review guest input, staff suggestions and general market trends to create and prioritize a list of updates and projects for our slower season. Last year one of our upgrades were flat screen TVs. This year comforters, linens and other decor items are at the top of the list. Feedback such as yours helps us to prioritize our annual investments on things most important to our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    96
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
253
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown PA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Watch the sun rise over Sister Bay, sit by the fountain courtyard and enjoy a very good continental breakfast including extras like french toast and local fruit preserves. The staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice and probably the best available in this small charming town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for your review and kind words about our property and staff. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the continental breakfast and our peaceful, picturesque setting. We hope you will return to Door County often and choose to stay with us again when you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indian head park Il.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Secluded, overlooking Sister bay, with plenty of activities, and great staff, we enjoyed every minute of our short ( 2 night ) stay. The continental breakfast left a bit to be desired but overall this resort was very relaxful and peaceful. Well maintained. It's obvious the owners take pride in the property. Plan to return next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you are a senior ask for a first floor room. Also, book a room facing the bay, it is well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. All of us, ownership, management and staff do take great pride in providing our guests with an exceptional stay, be that a few days or a week or more. We know the time you have to get-a-way is precious and we recognize the role we play in making it enjoyable.

I apologize that you found our continental breakfast buffet disappointing. We do not have a full service restaurant license so we are limited as to the hot cooked items we can prepare but we strive to offer a wide variety of fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, pastry, cheese, salami, hard cooked eggs... We are constantly searching for new items we can feature and ideas and suggestions are always appreciated.

Thank you again for you review and we hope next time you can stay a even longer with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I love this place. It may not be the grandest or the fanciest, but it is clean, quiet, peaceful, adult place to bring a book and a bottle of wine. It is close enough to all the attractions yet, it sets far enough of the main road that you never hear the sound of traffic. With that being said, there is a go-cart place which can be a bit loud for an hour or so in the evening. But as luck would have it, the balcony's face the the water, and the sound from the go-carts seem to be blocked nicely by the building.
There are bikes to use, tennis court, pool & hot tub, water fountain feature, continental breakfast, warm- freshly made cookies in the afternoon , schuffle board, a small row boat, and a pathway to walk to downtown Sister Bay (through the woods and along the shoreline).
I fought my wife about going here the first time, as it looked a bit prissy, but we been back about a dozen times. It is not prissy at all, but it is not rugged either. Just a nice, clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Second floor but not the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoors4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our property and especially for your many stays with us. We are honored to say that around 60% of our guests are repeat visitors and referrals from previous guests.

We are so pleased that you gave us a try some time back and enjoy our location, quiet/relaxed atmosphere and many amenities. We hope we will see you at the Country House for many future visits to Door County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Reserved a room with either two queens or one king for a price of $126 per night - had it confirmed Got there and they gave us a room with one queen bed - said it was because we booked through Expedia - which was the number they provided for reservations. Offered us three choices: 1) pay more money for an upgrade; 2) stay where we were, or 3) check out. Classic bait and switch. Would never go back there again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CZC101, Owner at Country House Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
I apologize and am extremely concerned that you feel you were intentionally mislead about the room you booked through Expedia. We take great care to provide accurate information through all channels our guests use. I am puzzled by your comment that seems to indicate we provided the Expedia number for reservations. If you mean that was the number on their site, that is true because they control the contact with the guest. We would much prefer guests book directly with us as there is an additional cost to us for rooms booked on other websites and we are unable to completely control the information and experience you receive. I pulled up our listing to double check the information provided and this is the description copied from their site for the rate you mentioned.

Country House Resort
1 Room: Our Most Affordable Room Type, The Queen Pool View Provides A Small, Single Hotel Room And Affords Guests Access To All The Same...


I am not sure where the confusion regarding room type and rate occurred but I sincerely apologize.

We have a "Guaranteed Lowest Rate" policy on our website to encourage guests to book directly with us. Unlike larger and corporate properties we do not change our rates based on our occupancy. Our loyal guests who book months in advance will receive the same rate as someone who books a day before their arrival. We feel strongly that this is the fairest policy for all of our guests. Any where you are able to book a room with us the rate should be the same.

The copy of your confirmation that we received from Expedia showed the rate and description I copied and pasted into this response. If you received something different we would be very interested in receiving a copy to follow up on. Again, I apologize for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
4.7 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
19.1 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
10.8 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 km away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.4 km away
Open Hearth Lodge
Open Hearth Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Property: Country House Resort
Address: 2468 Sunnyside Rd, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9163
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price range (per night): RM397 - RM945
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award winner - Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at an elegant, adult, wooded waterfront retreat. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private balcony overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Many with 2-person whirlpool, 2-person body spray shower and fireplace. Complimentary bikes, rowboats, tennis and an in-season European style buffet breakfast. Amenities include heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, sun deck, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Dogs accommodated is designated "dog friendly" rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing