We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always comfortable”
Review of Open Hearth Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Open Hearth Lodge
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We have been staying here for years and never been disappointed. The owners and staff are friendly, rooms always clean and it's a peaceful setting to return to after a busy day of activities. The value is unbeatable in Door County!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wiscmom2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHLodge, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is the first time I felt absolutely compelled to write a review for a hotel I stayed in. Over the past 30 years I have been travelling, I have stayed a number of awesome places and seen exceptional service. However I have never come across the level of integrity shown by the operators of Open Hearth Lodge.

My wife and I decided at the last moment, literally yesterday, to come to Door County to see the fall colors and eat fish boil. We have done this several times in the past. The only option we could find was Open Hearth Lodge on Hotels.com. During booking we saw a price which was higher than we expected and wanted to pay, however considering it was all last minute, we could rationalize.

When we were checking in this afternoon, the front desk manager/owner informed us that actually the price quoted was $130 more than what their rates are (as per him this happened due to some technical glitches), and our credit card has been charged only for the appropriate amount. This was a first !!!!

The staff has been great, and rooms are very nice.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sudhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHLodge, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thanks for kind words and taking the time to write a review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Once again, we were planning a trip to Door county WI. As usual the last three years we have stayed at the Open Hearth Lodge in Sister Bay. It is clean, quiet, and well cared for. Twice we have stayed in the new lodge, once in the older part. My preference is the new lodge. Rooms are bigger and just more comfortable.
We have been to Door many times and this is the first ever that we have chosen the same hotel each time. I also like second floor, they do have an elevator. But my choice of second floor, is that usually people have no manners when it comes to walking hard on the floor . It will be my choice again when next we visit Door county and Sister Bay

Room Tip: Newer Lodge is my Preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank babica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHLodge, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you returning. Have a great winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This family really cares about their guests, as they were seen toting luggage to rooms and making sure that everyone was taken care of. We stayed there while we toured all over Door County, including going to Washington Island. They were very knowledgeable of things to do and places to go, and were very available and friendly.

The rooms are quaint, clean, and quiet. They have a small breakfast area, but a nice continental breakfast is offered as part of your stay. It has a nice, central location, and you an easily walk to downtown Sister Bay to all of the restaurants and other things to do, if you like to walk.

They have a fire pit and BBQ's outside, as well as corn hole and other games for families to play. Plenty of parking.

I would stay there again the next time I'm in Door County.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emdicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHLodge, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I have stayed at the Open Hearth twice and have had great experiences both times. The owners are very warm and love getting to know you. The rooms are large, nicely appointed, and the beds are great. The breakfast bar has a decent variety without the usual hot items. It has a really interesting pancake maker. There are a lot of choices on the peninsula to stay, but this is a good one and worth the visit.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHLodge, Owner at Open Hearth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sister Bay
1.4 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
3.3 km away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
0.8 km away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#2 of 17 in Sister Bay
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
1.8 km away
Scandinavian Lodge
Scandinavian Lodge
#10 of 17 in Sister Bay
141 reviews
1.8 km away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Hearth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Lodge

Address: 2669 S Bay Shore Dr, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9160
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range: RM325 - RM554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Hearth Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is in a meadow on 6+acres at the Welcome to Sister Bay sign. Clean, friendly, well appointed, we offer fine accommodations at a reasonable cost, year round... Located minutes from beaches, state parks, biking, hiking, golf as well as the art, music and theater of Door County. Visit orchards, farm markets, wineries, or hang out at the pool or near the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Open Hearth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Sister Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing