We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
280
78
19
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
280
78
19
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen one bedroom suite outdoor pool door county green bay gas fireplace water view off season small apartment paddle boats beautiful view fish creek dvd player ceiling fan board games upon check egg harbor
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at this resort for three nights - our first time visiting Door County. We liked the quiet location overlooking the bay and the spacious updated efficiency room. Our bedroom wasn't large but had a comfy king bed, a TV, ceiling fan, wooden blinds and a window that opens, built in dresser drawers and a chifferobe, The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub/shower and sink with small vanity. The living area has a couch, chair, gas fireplace, a/c and a small balcony (we were centrally located on the 3rd floor). There is baseboard heating. Nice carpeting in bedroom and living areas. The kitchen and bathroom are tiled and have faux granite counters. There are 4 stools around an oversized kitchen counter where the sink and garbage disposer are located. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a small frig, electric stove, microwave and dishwasher. There is a good-sized closet next to the frig where a carpet sweeper and plunger plus iron and ironing board are located. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom. Plenty of towels and washcloths are provided. Liked the carpet in the hallways. There are 2 pools and a fitness center on the premises that we didn't use. There is a Wal-Mart and food store not too far away. We encountered 4 different front desk employees during our stay and all were very friendly. We would stay here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: We liked room 307.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I know we were there out of season, but the service we received was excellent! We were upgraded to a suite room for no extra charge. The man at the desk was very friendly and helpful with many recommendations for places to eat and things to do, especially knowing many places may not be open. Would definitely stay again! Love that it has a water view!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the service we provided! We cannot wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nites in this resort. We had a 2 bedroom suite closed to the reception with a nice view on the lake. The appartment was very clean, with all commodities (WIFI ok, washdisher etc...). The inside pool is spacious. The service at the desk was efficient. We enjoyed the sunsets too!
This location is appropriate to visit Door County (Fish Creek & Peninsula Park, Harley's Harbour & Cana Lighthouse, Jacksonport & Whitefish dunes park, Washington Island...)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicolas_HUAULT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I chose this resort based on all the positive reviews from this site. I also understand, everybody has their personal expectations on what they expect and what they are looking for. So, This is a non biased review:

Let's focus on the Pros:

Rooms are spacious. Beds are comfortable. All rooms have a view of the lake. Front desk very welcoming. Close to Sturgeon Bay. Indoor and outdoor pool. Grills are also available, along with row boats and paddle boards. Nice sunset too.

Cons:

Let's pull back the curtain. WIFI is awful, unless you are near the center of the hotel. If you go for the premium suites, you are on the border of the signal. We complained, response was "it's spotty at best" By the way, limited cell coverage. But they do provide free local and long distant landline call. Okay, cell coverage is bad.

Both pools are small, over crowded. No swimming beach. Fitness center unsafe. Really, they have to either replace the machines or maintenance them. They are old and the room is small. Really, this is the most unsafe fitness center you have been to.

Look, this is the hotel you book when all the other suite hotels are booked. The reservation system is inadequate, since we had to switch to two different rooms throughout our stay. (They actually have a form to give to the cleaning ppl as guidance. They will move your bags and anything in the refrigerator. On surface that's nice, but isn't that a problem they have a documented process for such things?)

Also, cable (sat tv?) is also spotty. If you still have DVD, this is your destination.

They also have a "gaming room" remember them? Yeah, they standup games are still from the 80's and 90's.

Skip it, find something further North to experience Door county.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Riplip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the pro's that you did - our spacious rooms and beautiful view are our promise to our guests. Your comments regarding cell service and Wi-Fi are accurate. We are in a remote location and while we understand the need for our guest to stay "connected" we try to encourage them to take a break and as you mentioned we offer free phone calls from the phone in the room. I am sorry you were disappointed in the fact that you had to change rooms - we typically explain the process in advance and its a great way for people to stay at our hotel in times when we are very busy and have limited vacancy - it is not a problem that we have a process to make it easier for you to enjoy your stay at a time when a multiple night stay was not available. I am happy to report that we will be eliminating that game room and putting in a small sundry shop for late night snacks and items guest may have forgotten. I appreciate your feedback and think it will be helpful to potential guests - although you'll never find this sunset view anywhere north!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I could have sat on this porch forever. Such a beautiful view. Clean ,comfortable and newly decorated. Indoor and outdoor pools for the kids to enjoy. I wish I had known about the available board games in the lobby earlier. Overall just perfect relaxation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank srenee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews