We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buffalo Inn(Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Horn Motel(Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Z-Bar Motel(Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
314
118
19
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
118
19
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy rooseveltold westowen wisterbusy beestep back in timethursday nightbuffalo billthe ownerantique furniturehole in the wallliving museumblue grassherbert hooverclear creekclawfoot tubfloors creaksundance kid
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

It's great, this place. Historically, it is fascinating. The owners have put a lot of love into its restoration and show a true dedication to keeping the past of the Old West alive and accessible to modern travelers. It's no fancy hotel like a Four Seasons of the Beverly Hills, but purely for the brilliance of the reverence this hotel and its proprietors show for our historical past, I am indebted to them for the experience.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I visited The Occidental on a 2 month trip across America, and this was by far the best place I stayed. When I arrived, I was upgraded from the hotel's cheapest room to one of its most expensive, simply because this room was free. This turned out to be huge, with an incredibly comfy bed.

Everything here was like stepping back into the Old West. Lovely, lovely owner and staff.

If you can, visit on a Thursday, when what seems like the entire town turns up for its country music night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I felt like we were in a old western movie!I Hotel is great.We ate in the Virginian,the food was excellent-would stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one Sunday night in late September 2011 after a very long day of driving up from Boulder through Laramie and Cheyenne. We didn't arrive til after 8:00 p.m. and, as a result, the restaurant was already shut down for the night as were most other dining places in town. We ended up having a sandwich and salad at the Pizza Hut, and closed the place.

The hotel is clearly a labour of love by the owner. It has been painstakingly restored and the historical documentation and artifacts in the lobby and the museum upstairs are all very interesting, although somewhat over the top (ragtime music was playing in the lobby the whole time we were there). We stayed in the Teddy Roosevelt Suite which was spacious and very comfortable if a bit dark. The pillows were very small and way too soft, and there was too much bedding so it was not as cool for sleeping as we would have liked.

The only parking available is limited and on the street. The hotel provides a notice to put on your dashboard to identify you as a patron of the hotel. Also, there is no elevator in the hotel and at almost 5,000 feet elevation this can pose a problem for some guests.

We had breakfast in the morning at the "highly recommended" Busy Bee Bakery next door. The food was adequate but nothing special, yet the service was very friendly.

We'd recommend this hotel for the friendly staff and the experience of staying in a historic building and seeing what life was like for travellers 100 years ago, but don't expect the amenities of a town or city.

Room Tip: You won't enjoy this hotel if you are expecting modern amenities or the efficient kind of service one receives in an urban environment.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The details of the hotel are very nice. Rooms are full of antiques, which makes the stay different from other chain hotels. Nice claw foot bath to relax in. Even the tv is old!! but no problem there as we don't go for that! The restaurant on the other hand is well over rated. The food was more than ordinary, my reservation (made 1 month before arriving) was overlooked, the waitress shouted with the chef all evening long, and it was expensive for what you got. It was a shame, as it is part of the hotel. I wouldn't go back as I think its a bit of a tourist trap.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEITH TRAVEL AGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews