We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the beginning of October, to visit Yellowstone National Park. Motel significantly exceeded my expectation. It is very clean and neat, interior is renewed. Breakfast is not served, however coffee and tea are available. Location is convenient for Yellowstone. There are good restaurants and stores nearby. Good attention on reception desk.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almaz616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big bear provided a surprisingly comfortable landing at the end of a long day of travel.
The rooms were modest, but comfortably appointed. Although the winds were howling at well over 50mph the night we stayed, the rooms were snug and pleasant.
Breakfast the next day at "our place" across the street was tasty and a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank RHW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, clean facility. Friendly staff.
I would have rated higher, but the room door did not seal well when closed. There were two nights that the wind noise whistling through the door and all the sand blowing into our room around the door, we were unable to get much sleep!! I’m sure it’s a simple fix and I’m sure we weren’t the first to experience it!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Betts53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Clean comfortable motel. Upstairs rooms have cathedral ceilings, making them seem huge. Staff was friendly and flexible even with a last-minute reservation extension. The grounds and buildings are well-maintained and the location is close to both the rodeo grounds and the Cody museum.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shelly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

It has not been made clear to us, that the townhouse we rented on a hotel website, actually is a different location about 3-4 mile away from the main hotel building. Coming late at night and tired, that was not a welcome discovery.
What made it worse, however, that the townhouse'was not at all equipped as in its description:
It was said that the bedrooms had queen size beds, but the bed sizes were double, very tight for 2 people to share.
Furthermore, the hotel advertised the capacity for up to 6 people at least, but there were only 4 chairs at the table, do they expect other two guests eating standing up??
The kitchen missed the most basic appliances and tools: no toaster, no cork screw, no wine glasses, and only 4 set of plates (again advertised for 6 people!!!)
One of the toilet doors cannot be locked.
The cleaning was a joke: during the day someone came in and put fresh towels in the bathrooms. No sweeping, not even made the beds. We paid $250 for this.... I am sure we could have done better with AirBnB. Do not recommend (at least the apartments - perhaps the motel rooms that are right on the property are better tended to).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.2 km away
Best Western Sunset Inn
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.3 km away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
3.8 km away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
3.1 km away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: RM298 - RM661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing