We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Couldn't Make Up for Small Sites and Lack of WiFi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheridan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheridan/Big Horn Mountains KOA
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I would rate this KOA as Average to Below Average. The campground looked like it could use a little TLC (trimming, appearance of the campground, leveling of sites, etc.). The staff was friendly, but they were having (and it sounded like they had been having) a LOT of issues with a lack of WiFi (even though it was supposed to be included; I'm assuming that it's part of our overall charge for our stay). Lots of construction but access as fairly easy. Quite a few bugs/mosquitos - something we didn't encounter at any of our other KOA's the night before or the night after. The sites were pretty cramped and looked like they were really set up for more of a 1960's type of camper versus today's campers with slide outs. On our site, we stepped out of our camper basically into the site beside us and our grill as well as table was also utilizing the site beside us; luckily nobody was assigned this site during our stay. I could stay here again - but, given a choice, I would continue on or go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

I get it, these types of campgrounds are next to freeways & railroad tracks. As usual road noise & train whistles all night. But seriously, the campground is empty and they assign a new camper a site right on top of us. That is just management not having a clue who is assigned where. Stay at Peter D's, this KOA is a joke!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Uncompahgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Older KOA...tight sites but not too bad...no cable...WIFI strong and fast...stayed only for a night. Travelling along the highway is easy as its next door to the park....there is currently road construction happening just outside the park though so that is a pain...bit of a maze to get in and out...but again not too bad.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Yes, it snowed ! Duh, Wyoming. The sites were nowhere close to level. Almost no gravel. Had to stay in ruts to get in site. We were without power second day and without water half a day. After calling about power several times they offered to let us move about an hour before dark. All 4 slides had 6" snow on top. No way to start removing snow at dark. The people next to us were offered to move early in the day??? Then they made us pay full price with no hookups. We spent more on generator fuel than camping. When we left the next morning, our 43' Class A Diesel Pusher looked like we had been mud bogging. Service and campground terrible. Don't do it!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank julialawrencew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We stayed in a full service site.
A good campground for stopping over. Not many people seemed to stay multiple nights.
Small sites, but enough space for everything. Not a lot of privacy.
Small, but nice pool for the kids. Older, but fun playground.
Bathrooms & showers clean, well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knblackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
3.6 km away
Best Western Sheridan Center
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in Sheridan
426 reviews
6.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#1 of 19 in Sheridan
501 reviews
7.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Sheridan
141 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan/Big Horn Mountains KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan/Big Horn Mountains KOA

Address: 63 Decker Rd, Sheridan, WY 82801-9686
Region: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sheridan
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing