We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
138
127
45
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
127
45
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews third floor pork chop japanese room historic hotel old hawaii tatami mats no elevator the big island tight budget clean rooms farmers market affordable hotel closed on mondays tofu oldest restaurant private bath ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Manago Hotel at the tail end of our recent trip to the Big Island. It's right on the main highway in Captain Cook, 15-20 minutes south of Kailua-Kona. The place was founded in 1917, so they're celebrating their 100th birthday this year.

Check-in was easy, since I'd booked it on-line a couple months before. The lady at the frond desk was really nice, and all the employees we encountered were helpful and pleasant. We stayed in room 108, which was very basic and very clean, including the bathroom and walk-in shower. There was no air conditioning, but there was a ceiling fan that kept the room cool. There was a small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table looking out over an orchard and onto the ocean, The hotel also had free wi-fi access, which was very convenient. There are also small parking lots on either side of the building. They will also print your boarding pass if you ask them!

There is a sitting room across from the office with comfortable seating, a small library and a small TV. The hotel has a restaurant, serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Prices are fair and the food is fresh

There is a small local farmers' market just across the street on Sunday with live local music and some good bargains.

Good place to stay if you're on a really tight budget or to add couple nights ( or 3) at the beginning or end of your stay on the Big Island.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This is a place I will always go back to eat and visit! If you appreciate turn of the century (1800-1900's) then here it is. My first time here I just simply loved the atmosphere oozing from every part of this incredible place. AND the food was great! Server the way it would be done in the early part of last century. The menu is printed on a board and placed prominently in the dinning hall. Friendly and courteous waitresses are efficient and present. I had to go back again. It was once again delightful. I will go again to try out their famous pork chops that all are talking about. Cuddle-fish is supreme! Enjoy!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The Manago Hotel has been there forever and has been maintained but has kept it rustic look for at least several generations. Last had a meal there many many years ago and was very pleased to see that they have kept things essentially the same. Their signature this cut pork chops continue to be a favorite as well as the "pupus" before the main course.

Room tip: did not stay overnight but it looks nice.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gordoni298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The Manago is a unique hotel. It is Japanese and some of the rooms are Japanese style with Tatami mats. Gorgeous views of the ocean, and an interesting location, with the Farmers Market on Sundays across the street and don't miss Teshima's the oldest restaurant on the island.

Room tip: high floor ocean view
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mirabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is stellar!!!
Great service, restaurant and price makes for a great bargain!!
Uncle Dwight, Britney (sp?), Cathy, Ramona and the entire staff are a Hawaiian treasure.
They have the Aloha Spirit to the max and made my wife and I feel like Ohana (Family).
All rooms face the garden and ocean with beautiful views.
Coqui frogs and tropical birds provide a wonderful soundtrack to one's stay.
Breakfast is da kine and cheap!
Pork chops are legendary and mucho mas ono!
Kona Koffie gets ya jacked and ready to snorkel, surf, hike, jog or just lay on the beach while enjoying Kona Chips (made next door to hotel!) and Crack Seed washed down with Guava Nectar or your fave adult beverage!!
Really kool rattan chairs in private rooms and common room.
Plenty of hot water for showers.
The history at Manago is abundant and heart warming.
Many mahalos from the Mojave Desert!
With fondness,
EMCO & JACO

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheVolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews