We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent place to rent kayaks

We rented a double kayak. This is the way to go! You arrive and check in. If you need a dry bag... read more

Reviewed 30 January 2021
D1559UXmichellem
,
Marco Island, Florida
via mobile
One of the best

Rocky owns and operates his business right at Kealakekua Bay. His is very friendly, helpful and... read more

Reviewed 10 January 2021
deansD1326AP
Read all 448 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Hawaii
Ocean Kayak Tours
129 Reviews
from US$94.40
More Info
from US$110.42
More Info
from US$66.67
More Info
from US$87.18
More Info
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
431
13
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
431
13
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dry bag double kayak captain cook monument spinner dolphins fish family run the aloha spirit life jackets person kayak rent kayaks snorkel gear tour boats the big island easy kayak highlight of our trip these guys launch point
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We rented a double kayak. This is the way to go! You arrive and check in. If you need a dry bag they have them their for you. You leave right there from the spot. They secure all your items and off you go. So convenient and friendly excellent service. This is the way to go for kayaking to captain cook! Great snorkeling! Go early because the later you go all the tour boats come in and it is very busy!

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank D1559UXmichellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

Rocky owns and operates his business right at Kealakekua Bay. His is very friendly, helpful and professional. He cares about your experience and your safety. When the water was pretty rough, he came out in his kayak to guide us and others personally to shore. He can rent in advance or on the site last minute. Sometimes the dolphins are there and sometimes not. Ocean conditions change as well so occasionally waiting for the day off may be the best option. Either way you are in good hands.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank deansD1326AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2020

Rocky & his team are great. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, thorough in their safety instruction. They embody the aloha spirit. We rented from them three separate times over the course of the week we visited. And very competitive prices. Renting kayaks right on the water is SO MUCH EASIER than hauling them on the roof of your rental car and finding a place to launch them (we've done that too). Mahalo, Rocky & crew!!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank ElenaM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

It was very easy to get signed up for our two person kayak for the next day. Quick and eay sign in and before we knew it we were off. It was fun paddling through the surf but not sure a novice would think so. The trip over to the monument was a good workout. The close to the shore the easier the paddling. Snorkeling out by the moment was very relaxing and beautiful. We followed the directions given and had a magical time. The paddle back was smooth and easy. Landing was like landing a plane on a windy day...FUN!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Garrett120007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

We saved this activity for our last day on the Big Island mainly due to my wife's concern over getting in and out of the kayak in the water. We've kayaked a bunch in cold climates where the goal is to stay out of the water, so we were not experienced in getting wet. Good dry land instruction on how to do it, where to go, what not to do - everything (equipment and instruction) was top notch. Snorkeling was awesome (go early before the tour boats arrive and you'll have plenty of time/space on the reef). The bottlenose dolphins in the bay were incredible - give them space. We spent about 4-1/2 hours on the water and could have spent all day if we brought snacks. This was the highlight of our trip and highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank jaredk718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews