We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
77
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic location other guests great hosts relaxing visit yummy breakfast fresh macadamia nuts the big island sliding glass view is amazing historical park fellow travelers every morning bed and breakfast fruit captain cook monument wonderful place local ingredients
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

The owners of Kona Bayview Inn, Sharon and Thomas, are relaxed and gracious hosts. We stayed with them for four nights, and in retrospect wish it had been longer. The breakfasts were superb, with delicious omelettes and a large variety of fruits, many grown on the property, in addition to fruit juices and great coffee. From the lanai one looks out over their ten acre macadamia farm which slopes down to the sea. Sharon and Thomas also were helpful when asked for ideas of places to see and how to get there. This is a place we definitely hope to visit again.

Room tip: There are only three rooms, all with direct lanai access.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ax0l0tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

The Kona Bayview is tucked high above Kealakekua Bay giving guests a birds-eye view of the picturesque panorama below. My husband and I were welcomed by our attentive hosts, Sharon and Thomas, and shown to the Hula Room which would be ours for the next four days. We really enjoyed staying in this large, uncluttered room whose sliding glass doors opened out onto the lanai overlooking the bay. The room had a mini-fridge had Hawaiian candies on top and water inside. The room had a ceiling fan which we never needed as well as beach towels, mats and even a cooler in the closet. The bed was comfortable, and the room, including ensuite bathroom, was clean and airy. There are only three rooms, so the service is always personal. After settling in, we went out to the lanai with Sharon, Thomas and the other guests to watch an incredible sunset.

We also enjoyed amazing breakfasts on the lanai. Breakfasts always included platters of fresh local fruit, some of which needed Thomas' explanation, as well as fresh baked treats like quiches and monkey bread. The fresh brewed Kona coffee was wonderful and the unusual breadfruit hash browns were very tasty. Because the Kona Bayview Inn is located on a macadamia nut farm, there were always bowls of macadamia nuts on the lanai for cracking and snacking. While we ate, we watched the Java sparrows, Northern cardinals, and yellow finches swoop around the bird feeder, and got to know our fellow travelers.

During our time here, we snorkeled at nearby Two Step Beach, visited the Place of Refuge Historical Park, contemplated Captain Cook's demise at Napo'opo'o Park, visited the Kona Pacific Famer's Cooperative, and sampled shaved ice at the local farmer's market while enjoying a performance by a local musician. We found good local restaurants, including excellent pizza at Patz Pies, spicy jambalaya at the Rebel Kitchen and, and a very authentic opakapaka (pink snapper) dinner at the islands oldest restaurant in the Manago Hotel. The Captain Cook area is more laid back than the Kona town and the north Kona coast resorts, but we found that it was our favorite area on the Big Island. There was plenty more to see on our next visit, including kayaking to the Captain Cook Monument, the Painted Church, numerous free coffee farm tours, and the free honey tasting at Big Island Bees. We can't wait to go back!

Room tip: There are only three room and all of them have sliding glass doors to a beautiful view of the bay.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KConrad2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Thomas and Sharon were amazing. The breakfast was good, they were able to commendation my hours, and the property is very cool. They provided advise for things to visit and do and lent me snorkel gear. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Room tip: Rooms are the same and right next to each other. Only 3.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZachSmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KonaBayviewInn, Owner at Kona Bayview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Aloha Zach.

Thanks so much. We really enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to come back to the Big Island one of these days!

Mahalo,
Thomas & Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

An unforgettable view, and amazing hosts, comfortable room and yummy breakfast ! Sharon and Thomas were also very knowledgeable about nice spots to visit around the area. I will for sure go back to this bed and breakfast !!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rcsMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Tom and Sharon were very welcoming and friendly. They provide a great breakfast, great ideas for exploring, and the view is amazing! They grow some fruit on site as well! Yum! We would certainly stay their again!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donald_r_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews