We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
41
24
5
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
24
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation style tai chi ceiling fan community center staff was friendly and accommodating walls are thin handy location the big island hardwood floors pololu valley lilikoi syrup reception staff the hotel manager place to stay old hawaii would definitely stay here again king room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Wow, we wanted to experience Hawaii the way life is...away from our resort home in Mauna Lani. To say the least, staying at Kohala Village was the best part of our trip. By all means, it is not fancy, but like living life on a farm. It was perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IowanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We arrived late with no booking, the receptionist (think her name was Renae) was such a great help, she found us a suitable room at an excellent price. She also had a wonderful sense of humour! The room was basic, but it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mclean42017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Stayed with my three adult daughters - we had 2 adjoining rooms. This is not a high-end hotel but we liked it better than the 2 condos we stayed at during our visit to Hawaii because of the friendly community feel. The location is amazing - Hawi is a cute, quiet little town. The rooms are not fancy, they are small and and have minimal furnishings, the bathroom is small with a quirky but functional shower. The rooms we were in were not very private - big windows looking directly on the parking lot and the courtyard, heavy curtains ensure privacy but block out the light. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant is amazing for any meal with really tasty vegetarian options (try the ulu patties!) as well as meat options. We met other guests, everyone was so friendly -staff and other guests. If you are looking to feel like you are part of the community, this is the place to stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

My daughter and I chose the Kohala Village Inn due to its proximity to the Upolu Airport for our skydiving jump and because of its affordability. We were not disappointed. As a matter of fact, we were quite surprised at how lovely a place it was. We were getting in late after the front desk had closed but they communicated well with me via phone and email and told me where we could find our keys after hours. The room and surrounding grounds were clean and the onsite restaurant was fabulous. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area as well as the dishes on the menu. We ate there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and absolutely loved each of our meals. My family has stayed at the big resorts along the Kohala Coast and you definitely pay for all the amenities you get with those big resorts. The drive to the Inn from the Kona Airport took about an hour and was scenic. You have to remember that it's an Inn and doesn't have the amenities that the large resort hotels have. The walls are thin between rooms so you can sometimes hear people in the next room when you're trying to sleep. We didn't have drinking glasses in our rooms but they did provide us with coupons for free coffee in their restaurant. The Inn is also close to the Pololu Valley Lookout and hike which we also thoroughly enjoyed. And it's a short drive to the Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area. It's also walking distance to the town of Hawi which has nice local stores to browse through and a cool coffee shop. I'm pretty sure we'll be heading back to this Inn to do more skydiving and relaxing on the North end of the Big Island. If you can put up with these few minor inconveniences, then this is an excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Clarke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stopped in while driving thru the quaint town of Hawi, based on a recommendation from a local walking by, and were not disappointed!
Really good breakfast, and AMAZING bloody Mary's, with their own local bacon....DELICIOUS!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyrod27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews