We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaron's Cottage(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
285
319
175
94
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
319
175
94
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrap around balconyoverflow lotlobby barself parkingbreakfast buffetview of the baynicest hotelmerrie monarchthe open air lobbythe big islandnational parkrental carjapanese gardenclose to the airportbanyan treesmauna keafarmers market
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

This was our first visit to Hilo so we were coming to discover this side of the island. I was happy with the hotel we picked. It was very rainy while we stayed so we spent evenings at the hotel in the onsite restaurant/bar. It had nightly entertainment, really good food and atmosphere was fun. The rooms were nice but you can tell they did a remodel. Beds were ok but I've slept on better ones in hotels. I thought the location on Hilo Bay was really nice. Our room faced the bay and swimming pool. It was beautiful sitting out on lanai in the morning I recommend this hotel and will come back next time I come to Hilo

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank breth789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Let's be honest -Hilo is not a resort town, with upscale hotels. While the Naniloa's property and grounds are nice to look at, and the hotel, superficially, has a lot of the bells and whistles that one would normally associate with a resort hotel in Hawaii, don't be deceived. Customer service is severely lacking, the management staff communicates poorly with one another and with guests, and the property's infrastructure is awful. I had to endure 3 or 4 nights without a functioning room air conditioner, and had to change rooms to boot. I have always stayed at the Hilo Hawaiian in the past (work trips) and although it has none of the trappings of a resort, it is a far superior hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with bay or ocean view, with a balcony. Avoid rooms near the elevators -the constant noise will drive you crazy.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

This hotel sits in Hilo and has well appointed rooms with everything you would expect Flat screen tv, coffee maker, safe, etc. We had two queen beds and they were super comfy. We were facing the harbour and we found the view really inspiring, I love to leave the window open at night and listen to the waves and the rain.
The hotel has a small pool and is facing the ocean, but has no beach. There are however several beaches a short drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Great value at the DoubleTree. Adequate parking facilities, restaurant on site, excellent fitness center, beautiful grounds, helpful staff. There are beautiful grounds about a 5 minute walk from the hotel as well as a drug store where you can purchase things you need for a trip in hawaii (sunscreen, bug spray, toiletries you may have forgotten). Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank amandapT852EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Just checked in and received great service. The lobby is very nice and the cookie warm. The staff members we met were very nice and wanting to help. BIG difference from our last visit to this hotel. Our room was ready before the listed check in time and the room is very nicely redone. My wife likes the ocean view on a sunny day in Hilo.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary M. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews