We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at what a great hotel this was!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Everything was renovated and very modern! Rooms were clean, had an amazing water view and staff was very nice. The restaurant food was delicious & there's a nice gym. It was also a good base for a day trip to Volcano park(about 45 minutes) & Rainbow Falls is very nearby. It is also very close to Hilo's town center. Overall it honestly surpassed what we had expected.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Teresa1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

This was our first visit to Hilo so we were coming to discover this side of the island. I was happy with the hotel we picked. It was very rainy while we stayed so we spent evenings at the hotel in the onsite restaurant/bar. It had nightly entertainment, really good food and atmosphere was fun. The rooms were nice but you can tell they did a remodel. Beds were ok but I've slept on better ones in hotels. I thought the location on Hilo Bay was really nice. Our room faced the bay and swimming pool. It was beautiful sitting out on lanai in the morning I recommend this hotel and will come back next time I come to Hilo

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank breth789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Let's be honest -Hilo is not a resort town, with upscale hotels. While the Naniloa's property and grounds are nice to look at, and the hotel, superficially, has a lot of the bells and whistles that one would normally associate with a resort hotel in Hawaii, don't be deceived. Customer service is severely lacking, the management staff communicates poorly with one another and with guests, and the property's infrastructure is awful. I had to endure 3 or 4 nights without a functioning room air conditioner, and had to change rooms to boot. I have always stayed at the Hilo Hawaiian in the past (work trips) and although it has none of the trappings of a resort, it is a far superior hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with bay or ocean view, with a balcony. Avoid rooms near the elevators -the constant noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

This hotel sits in Hilo and has well appointed rooms with everything you would expect Flat screen tv, coffee maker, safe, etc. We had two queen beds and they were super comfy. We were facing the harbour and we found the view really inspiring, I love to leave the window open at night and listen to the waves and the rain.
The hotel has a small pool and is facing the ocean, but has no beach. There are however several beaches a short drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Great value at the DoubleTree. Adequate parking facilities, restaurant on site, excellent fitness center, beautiful grounds, helpful staff. There are beautiful grounds about a 5 minute walk from the hotel as well as a drug store where you can purchase things you need for a trip in hawaii (sunscreen, bug spray, toiletries you may have forgotten). Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank amandapT852EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
0.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.5 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
98.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
97.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 93 Banyan Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4632 (Formerly Grand Naniloa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: RM559 - RM939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed pace of Hawaii Island when you stay at the newly renovated Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton, located near downtown Hilo's quaint shops and eclectic restaurants, and the Hilo Airport. A favorite destination of both kamaaina and visitors for generations, the newly renovated waterfront hotel welcomes you with modern and stylish accommodations, an outdoor pool, a 9-hole golf course, and 24-hour front desk. Experience warm island hospitality for a truly unforgettable stay in the charming town of Hilo on the Big Island. FREE amenities include: FREE Round of Golf daily, FREE Parking, and FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naniloa Volcanoes Hotel Hilo
Hawaii Naniloa Hotel Hilo
Naniloa Volcanoes Hilo
Hi Naniloa Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing