We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Safe Haven from the Storm - Literally!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I had arrived on the Big Island on Tuesday 8/5/14 to begin our Honeymoon and by the following Saturday had to find another place due to Hurricane Iselle. We both felt incredibly lucky to have found the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very gracious and accommodating. When we stepped into our room, the view from the bedroom window took our breath away. We could see the falls from our window. The room was exquisitely furnished and incredibly clean. We looked forward to the continental breakfast every morning and conversation with the staff at the Inn. When we told them we had an early departure and would not be able to have breakfast, "Brit" was so kind by leaving a "care package" of fruit and muffins in the refrigerator for us to take with us. The scenery around the Inn is spectacular, but I could go on and on. Simply put - Michael and I would stay there again, and recommend the Inn to anyone, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VirgilandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 357 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful grounds, great falls and the finest hospitality. The Owners and staff definitely went out of their way to not only make it comfortable for me, but they extended the same generous hospitality to all. Highly recommend staying there. I'm going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesRequins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the place to stay near Hilo! The scenery is spectacular, as most rooms have views of Kulaniapia Falls. There are trails to the verdant pool below the Falls, which allow inn residents a refreshing dip. The rooms are tastefully decorated in Oriental decor, and the breakfasts were delightful. Wifi access is spotty, however the views are a welcome exchange for an hour missing from the internet. The hosts were extremely gracious, hosting a dinner for stranded residents when Hurricane Iselle hit the island on our last night. This place is a gem!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tapbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Harmony Building in the maile room. From the moment we arrived this place amazed me.
Having read some reviews on getting there I was a bit sceptical, thinking we had an off roading experience to contend with I was delighted to find a tarmac road through a macadamia nut farm.
This place has such a laid back approach which is suited to it's location.
It really is beautiful and well worth the stay. Our room was clean. Breakfast was great and our housekeeper was quite possibly the nicest, friendliest and most helpful person I've had the privilege of meeting.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbiReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls is a beautiful location. The location is fairly easy to find and the drive up the hillside offers a view of Hawaii agriculture, lush ravines, and Hilo. Our initial impression was apprehension, since we didn't remember any e-mail telling us what to do upon our arrival. We inquired with the owner (curt, but polite, and businesslike) who told us the key to our room was in the door. We stayed in the Harmony House, Mallory Room, which was very clean, tastefully appointed, and inviting. Our view of the waterfall and valley was unobstructed and beautiful. We toured the grounds, attempted to swim beneath the waterfall, and relaxed to the sound of rushing water (which we listened to all night out our open balcony door). There is a very beautiful lanai on the back of the residence, which I used for wifi access (temporarily unavailable at the Harmony House). The Harmony House and Residence facilities are both equipped with full kitchens, where I brewed the available Speepytime Tea before bed. The nighttime view of the sky and Hilo was great and good for long-exposure photography. Breakfast was very filling, as they offered a decent selection of local fruit, coffee, juice, etc, along with very good waffles and eggs made-to-order (cooked by the extremely pleasant and personable staff). Our experience was pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.7 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
7.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
9.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
7.3 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
80.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: RM719 - RM1,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing