We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property with amazing gardens and waterfall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were sure our GPS was wrong, but it wasn't! The Inn at 'K' falls is a wonderful oasis just a few minutes up in the mountains behind Hilo. Once you're there, you feel a million miles away from your day to day life.

The 5 star review comes as a recognition for what the property is and what it is not. If you're looking for a traditional room in a traditional hotel, you will not likely be happy. If you're looking for a unique experience in a tropical wonderland and don't mind giving up air conditioning for a fantastic experience - we highly recommend it! The room we had was nice and clean, but not fancy. The views from our room and patio onto the falls were great! It was a comfortable room.

To get there, you wind up a single lane road through a macadamia tree grove. From the property, you can see the town of Hilo and the ocean below. The inn uses hydro power from the falls for its electricity and serves a breakfast with a lot of fruits from the property as a centerpiece (along with really good macadamia nut waffles).

When you're there, the staff are unobtrusive. You feel like you may be the only ones there (we did, until breakfast came and the room was full!).

Take the time to walk along the paths through the bamboo gardens and down to the falls. Wear plenty of mosquito repellent!!! It's a beautiful and secluded paradise that the owner has created here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chattanoogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 353 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

About 5 miles from Hilo, not too far but enough to fell real nature
Pagoda was fully equipped even with food for breakfast
Perfect location for everbody who loves incredible beautiul natur
Staff and owner very very kind and helpful with advices
Swimming in the pool under the waterfall was not possible because of to much rain the day before, but there is an awesome walk at the property through a bamboo park to the waterfalls- a must see!
It is very calm out there but you have to consider that you are just besides a waterfall, what makes it very noisy in the nights.....we loved it.

Room Tip: Pagoda for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoergLotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

although the drive is a bit out of the way from Hilo, the property is set at a gorgeous waterfall under which you can swim. Lots of bugs here -- bring your spray.
We stayed in the pagoda -- the attic was unusable (we thought we could use it to look at the falls). The doors did not work properly and all of us were up killing mosquitoes, as well as with multiple bites. The spiral staircase is neat, however it is very low and I bumped my head a few times (once pretty badly).
Also, the wireless internet and computer internet did not work at all.
We were given a great assortment of food to cook for ourselves, pancakes were delicious, however it would have been nice to join others for breakfast.
The staff were lovely.

Room Tip: Not pagoda if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank switsquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The views of the falls and the privacy of the property were amazing. Best sunrise -stunning! The macadamia nut waffles for breakfast are a must. The rooms were quiet and cozy in the main house. The drive up to the property was so neat and the macadamia nut orchard was an added element besides the private water falls.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MegMNtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I had arrived on the Big Island on Tuesday 8/5/14 to begin our Honeymoon and by the following Saturday had to find another place due to Hurricane Iselle. We both felt incredibly lucky to have found the Inn at Kulaniapia Falls. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very gracious and accommodating. When we stepped into our room, the view from the bedroom window took our breath away. We could see the falls from our window. The room was exquisitely furnished and incredibly clean. We looked forward to the continental breakfast every morning and conversation with the staff at the Inn. When we told them we had an early departure and would not be able to have breakfast, "Brit" was so kind by leaving a "care package" of fruit and muffins in the refrigerator for us to take with us. The scenery around the Inn is spectacular, but I could go on and on. Simply put - Michael and I would stay there again, and recommend the Inn to anyone, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VirgilandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
4.7 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
7.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
9.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
7.3 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
80.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: RM718 - RM1,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing