We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Was tremendously impressed with location. We were definitely out of the norm...removed from hustle of the city...only regret is we were only able to explore the property on the first day....the rest of time we were definitely exploring the big islands treasures and always got back really late.

Day started with breakfast. Lea our hostess wound up planning our trips without even knowing it. Her advise always paid off and was exactly as she described it.

On our last day as we returned to our room (late as usual) we found the feral pigs eating mac nuts just like she said. We saw all the wild-life we hoped to see on land and sea.

We were here for three days before leaving for Oahu and business end of trip

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboyrenn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 754 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

First of all, drive to the Inn was an unexpected treat. The 15 min drive from downtown Hilo to the Inn goes through farms and orchards, a beautiful sight. We stayed at one of the rooms in the Residence. The room matched up to the description in the Inn website. It had a nice small balcony that looked out to the city and also windows through which we could see the ocean and Hilo. The room and the bathroom were clean equipped with all the necessities. We could see the waterfall from the lanai, it was relaxing to see it while having breakfast in the morning.
The staff were very receptive and helpful. We forgot our laptop at the Inn but the manager was extremely accommodating and actually took the laptop to the FedEx office in the city. All in all, a relaxing hassle free stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hills_port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a place that I'd definitely seek out again if in Hilo, Hawaii. Our family stayed in the Pagoda, which had views of the waterfall from both the living area and the bedroom. The sound of water rushing over the falls reminded me of camping next to a rushing creek. The grounds are lush, and it is a wonderful area for walking or running. Breakfast items were provided and replenished for both mornings in the Pagoda, so we were well prepared to start the day. Wish we had spent a little more time in Hilo. Maybe we'll get back!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This is a really beautiful Inn - run peacefully and happily by Lenny and his wife. We had been travelling round the island and Kulaniapia gave us a wonderful experience of the lush forests and raging waterfalls of Hilo. The view from our room of the waterfall was amazing and the sound of it at night lulled us throughout our three night stay. Breakfast was freshly prepared each morning by Leah and Heidi - two lovely girls who were more than happy to share their experiences of the island. The Inn is a fair drive out of Hilo through fields of macadamia nuts and affords the most beautiful view of stars and the Milky Way outside of those we saw at the top of Mauna Kea.
Our room was in Harmony House on the second floor. It was clean, modern and nicely furnished with Japanese art. It was a little smaller than we'd expected based on the photo on the website but that is not to say that it was a small room. It was extremely comfortable and cool in the evenings. This resort is definitely a great choice on this side of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidaze25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed in the small one bedroom house (The Pagoda) with our 2 young sons. The property is wonderful and the fantastic view of the waterfall makes the stay here worthwhile. We were comfortable in the place. Lots of mosquitos, wear serious bug repellent. Only thing lacking was that their website advertises their "hospitality", which was completely missing. No one greets you; your name and room location are written on a chalkboard. You find where you belong by yourself, no one checks on you. We only saw innkeepers when it was time to pay at the end. I would stay there again, however, because the lush vegetation and flowers make you feel like you are in a tropical rainforest. But, we did feel a little neglected by the innkeepers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudslinger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
4.7 km away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
681 reviews
7.2 km away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
9.9 km away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
7.3 km away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.6 km away
Orchid Tree Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls

Address: 100 Kulaniapia Dr, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: RM 784 - RM 1,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls sits among 22 lush, natural acres, surrounding Hawaii’s largest privately accessible waterfall. The Kulaniapia experience is like no other, just 15 minutes from town, but completely away. Whether you come for relaxation, adventure or both, nothing quite prepares you for how much you find of each. Those seeking adventure are invited to sign up with the Kulaniapia Adventures team for a guided, 120 foot rappel down our namesake waterfall. Accommodations are provided in several asian inspired buildings providing accommodations ranging from standard/waterfall view rooms and family suites, to fully detached cottages and a Pagoda Guest House with a full kitchen. Enjoy a wholesome, locally sourced breakfast and the big island’s best coffee, all while enjoying the view of our namesake falls each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kulaniapia Falls Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing