We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$233
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aaron's Cottage(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilo Bay Hostel(Hilo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
571
187
59
40
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
187
59
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo gardenharmony housewafflesbeautiful waterfalljasmine roommacadamia nut treesking kamehamehathe main housefoot waterfalljade cottagesingle lane roadthe big islandoff the beaten pathamazing locationfalling asleepbreakfast was deliciousother guests
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2009

First of all, drive to the Inn was an unexpected treat. The 15 min drive from downtown Hilo to the Inn goes through farms and orchards, a beautiful sight. We stayed at one of the rooms in the Residence. The room matched up to the description in the Inn website. It had a nice small balcony that looked out to the city and also windows through which we could see the ocean and Hilo. The room and the bathroom were clean equipped with all the necessities. We could see the waterfall from the lanai, it was relaxing to see it while having breakfast in the morning.
The staff were very receptive and helpful. We forgot our laptop at the Inn but the manager was extremely accommodating and actually took the laptop to the FedEx office in the city. All in all, a relaxing hassle free stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hills_port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a place that I'd definitely seek out again if in Hilo, Hawaii. Our family stayed in the Pagoda, which had views of the waterfall from both the living area and the bedroom. The sound of water rushing over the falls reminded me of camping next to a rushing creek. The grounds are lush, and it is a wonderful area for walking or running. Breakfast items were provided and replenished for both mornings in the Pagoda, so we were well prepared to start the day. Wish we had spent a little more time in Hilo. Maybe we'll get back!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This is a really beautiful Inn - run peacefully and happily by Lenny and his wife. We had been travelling round the island and Kulaniapia gave us a wonderful experience of the lush forests and raging waterfalls of Hilo. The view from our room of the waterfall was amazing and the sound of it at night lulled us throughout our three night stay. Breakfast was freshly prepared each morning by Leah and Heidi - two lovely girls who were more than happy to share their experiences of the island. The Inn is a fair drive out of Hilo through fields of macadamia nuts and affords the most beautiful view of stars and the Milky Way outside of those we saw at the top of Mauna Kea.
Our room was in Harmony House on the second floor. It was clean, modern and nicely furnished with Japanese art. It was a little smaller than we'd expected based on the photo on the website but that is not to say that it was a small room. It was extremely comfortable and cool in the evenings. This resort is definitely a great choice on this side of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidaze25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed in the small one bedroom house (The Pagoda) with our 2 young sons. The property is wonderful and the fantastic view of the waterfall makes the stay here worthwhile. We were comfortable in the place. Lots of mosquitos, wear serious bug repellent. Only thing lacking was that their website advertises their "hospitality", which was completely missing. No one greets you; your name and room location are written on a chalkboard. You find where you belong by yourself, no one checks on you. We only saw innkeepers when it was time to pay at the end. I would stay there again, however, because the lush vegetation and flowers make you feel like you are in a tropical rainforest. But, we did feel a little neglected by the innkeepers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudslinger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My wife and I stayed in the "pagoda" for our honeymoon. If you want privacy for a romantic getaway, this is the place to go! I have never I been to a place that is so natural and yet so close to town! Swimming beneath a natural waterfall is an experience I will never forget!

The drive to the B&B is a bit long, but it is completely worth it!! You will definitely need a rental car, and it's an hour-long drive (or much longer) to see many of the island's sights (Volcanoes National Park, South Point, Kona, etc.). But if you're looking for romance, privacy and natural beauty, stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmithers303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews