We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aaron's Cottage(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilo Bay Hostel(Hilo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
577
190
59
40
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
190
59
40
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo gardenharmony housewafflesbeautiful waterfallhibiscus roommacadamia nut treesking kamehamehathe main housesingle lane roadfoot waterfallthe big islandoff the beaten pathfalling asleepbreakfast was delicioustwo nightsother guestsfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Our visit to the Inn was great, with only 2 minor drawbacks. 1) It is slightly off the beaten track. This didn't prove much of an issue for us, but it is a good 15 minutes on backroads to get there. 2) Screen doors in our rooms would have made it perfect. The Inn doesn't have AC, and that would have been no issue at all if you could have left the patio doors open to allow cross breezes (as it was, the windows did a fairly good job keeping it cool). However, without screen doors, we were hesitant to leave the patio doors open all night. (Well, we tried once, then decided against it when the neighborhood cat sauntered in to our room to check things out!).

That said, the rooms were lovely, the hosts super nice, breakfast was great, and the views were just amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The Inn is set in a beautiful location with a great hike through the rainforest and to the waterfalls, and the staff are very friendly and enjoyable. However, given the accommodations, it's definitely not worth the price. Rooms are small (think dorm room). Tiny bathrooms and paper thin walls. Worst part is the beds. Felt like we were sleeping on an air mattress on top of a box spring.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank kkj003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Ultimate location .Drive to this inn was so scenic. We drive in the evening when it was getting dark. At first we we thought we are driving no where but it was a surprise to see the inn write in front of the waterfall. I would sure recommend this place. Safe, secluded and scenic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank hthottakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

As you drive along a private road between lush macadamia farms you are thinking you are certainly on your way to getting lost...and then you see The Inn! It is situated between gorgeous green landscape and a private waterfall...yes, a waterfall only for yourself (and other guests of the small inn). Decorated in Japanese zen style, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, super friendly staff, stunning lanai with waterfall views and a sneak peak of the ocean, there couldn't be a more serene and beautiful place to stay on the Big Island! I actually extended my stay just to be able to enjoy it for a bit longer! Make sure you go swimming in the pond below the waterfall and explore the trails! Truly gorgeous!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank VelinaVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We just happened upon The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls upon a Google search. Glad we did! It was amazing. Tranquil. Gorgeous. The staff was fantastic. My only regret is that we had time for only a one-night stay. We will come back...and spend at least 2 nights.

I have one small critique -- that there seems to be several upkeep projects happening at once. It'd be nice if they were completed one at a time so it feels less disruptive to such an amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DreamJobGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews