We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, homey, historic stay in a town not typical of Hawaii”
Review of Jacaranda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jacaranda Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed in a suite at the Jacaranda Inn for one evening. Our suite seemed very private, with entrances through a maze of hedges and foliage. It was spacious with a living room, large king-sized bedroom and jacuzzi bath. The 100 year old property was nicely updated, but still retained its historic charm. The weather in Waimea was bad when we stayed there (low 60s, very windy and misty), but it was a short 15 minute drive to the North Kona coast beaches, where the weather was sunny and warm (80s). Would like to visit Waimea again in the summer, and we would stay at the Jacaranda Inn again.

Room Tip: Reserve a suite; it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

have been working on the Big Island for the last two years. The condo work put in recently sold. Hence, I needed to find temporary lodging. The place is amazing and forces you unplug from our digital world and take in the beauty of the house and grounds. Some reviews talk about the musty smell of the main house, but that's exactly what brings in the charm and authenticity of this historic building. After work, I would saunter around the main house with a glass of wine taking in each room amazed by it all. It made think of all the possibilities of a such a beautiful place... With that said, here you go.

The place would be fantastic for large family reunion or any group to take over the location for your entire stay. The Billiard room is legitimate. The table is true and all the pool cues are true and straight, unlike most places. The room is surrounded by a plethora of old books as well as modern literature left by from visitors from around the world in multiple languages. There a slew of board games for groups to enjoy.

The nights I stayed, the weather at night was cold and rainy, but I loved it! The bed was warm and cozy and such a nice treat to escape the Hawaiian heat just down the hill from Waimea.

Room Tip: Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I checked in here on February 8 for two days while I was on business as it was equidistant to where I was travelling. I stayed in the Anthurium room for two nights which if I hadn't prepaid, I would have checked right out. Upon opening the slatted wood door and then the glass door, I instantly smelled mildew and found mold on the baseboards. The owners were no where to be found that day as I wanted to ask for a room switch. I settled back in to do some work on my tablet and could barely see anything with the dim light in the room. Upon seeing the dehumidifier, which was full of black water, I knew the mildew and mold were there. I then went into the bathroom to find a silverfish bug walking across my toilet. Weeds in all the gutters, this place is a breeding ground for a fungal or staph infection. If you are going to run a guest house (no it is not a B&B, no breakfast, no service, no ownership for making things right for guests) then do so. This place should be condemned by the health department. Talk about quaint and charm in your advertising flyer all you want....BUT MOLD AND MILDEW AND BUGS SHOULD BE FAIR WARNING TO TRAVELERS TO STAY THE HELL AWAY!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I've been coming to the Big Island of Hawaii for many years and visit Waimea every time I'm here. I've always wanted to stay at the Jacaranda Inn, because it looks so lovely from the road.

And it is lovely -- lots of history and a beautiful setting.

If you approach it with low expectations, you won't be disappointed. There's no service, to speak of. The room I was in was large and lovely, but the beds were made in a very haphazard fashion -- sheets showing beneath the duvet covers, etc. It's really not a big deal, but I always think that if attention is not paid to some of the details, there's a larger problem. Also, no TV or Wifi in the rooms, and no food service on the property can be a drawback, possibly, for some travelers.

If you just want a reasonably nice room in an interesting and historic setting, though, this is the place.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank mphay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
8536
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

I was not disappointed. Read the "musty" comments, no problem. They get a lot of rain her, what do you expect? We had a huge room and bathroom, sit down shower. I liked it a lot.
The weather was great, cool, damp, windy. Very refreshing.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
14.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28 km away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
42 reviews
21.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
79 reviews
23.9 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
20.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Inn

Address: 65-1444 Kawaihae Rd, PO Box 563, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8554
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: RM709 - RM1,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jacaranda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing