We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hula with a view”
Review of Copper Bar

Copper Bar
Ranked #18 of 80 Restaurants in Waimea
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Description: Copper Bar is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel's iconic gathering place for friends and family to enjoy creative, casual cuisine based on abundance and sharing along with crafted cocktails, beers and wine. Of course, the centerpiece was and remains stunning sweeping views of Kauna'oa Bay that have beckoned travelers for decades.
Restaurant details
Description: Copper Bar is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel's iconic gathering place for friends and family to enjoy creative, casual cuisine based on abundance and sharing along with crafted cocktails, beers and wine. Of course, the centerpiece was and remains stunning sweeping views of Kauna'oa Bay that have beckoned travelers for decades.
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Been going to the Copper Bar for decades and just love the setting. Magnificent sunset views with excellent musicians and authentic hula. Is now a restaurant (prior to Marriott it was truly a cocktail bar/lounge) so you must reserve a table if you want to be in the outside area. We have cocktails and order appetizers to watch the dancer and enjoy the sunset.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank birddogpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Copper Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Mahalo for continuing to choose to dine with us and enjoy the delicious food and drinks, live entertainment and all served with beautiful sunset views. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

The food was average at best, and it was difficult to get true gluten free food here. the orders would take much longer than necessary, and the servers did not seem to have good knowledge of true gluten allergy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with celiac disease.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 171lindsayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Copper Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We are sorry to see your feedback regarding the limited menu items to accommodate your dietary restrictions. Rest assured I have since shared your comments with the Food and Beverage team to explore options available to improve our menu selection. Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We spent a week at the neighbouring Westin Hapuna Beach, but made our way to the neighbouring Mauna Kea for dinner on three occasions. We did Manta the first night, and Copper Bar the following two.

What a wonderful experience it was. From the brilliant views, the more casual but still upscale menu (from pizza to scallops, all delish) and the excellent service this was a 5 star resort experience. The highlight for our family was the fantastic gentleman singing and playing the ukulele both nights accompanied by a charming and talented hula dancer performing traditional dance. Perfect laid back but upscale island vibe. Definite recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank vancouver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Copper Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We are delighted to hear about your wonderful dining experience at Copper Bar and glad to see you found many of the menu items to your satisfaction. Mahalo for sharing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

I can't say enough about The Copper Bar at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. Food was delightful, atmosphere was outstanding and the service was superb. Waitstaff made it all even more memorable.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Copper Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

We are happy to see that you enjoyed Copper Bar. We hope you'll return for another relaxing evening soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay at the Mauna Kea beach hotel. While service is not speedy, who needs it with the lush surroundings at this incredible beach hotel? The burgers are very delicious as are the mai tais. There’s usually live music during the cocktail hour and plenty of room to spread out. There are several other food options on the menu as well.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank HollyRoger_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Copper Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Aloha and thank you for the positive review. We're happy you enjoyed the food and ambiance at Copper Bar! Mahalo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copper Bar also viewed

Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Copper Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing