We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed in unit E-2. It was beautifully furnished, ground floor, and the pool was out the front door. We had many meals on the lanai. We could walk to the beach or drive and we could walk to the shops as well. There were people in the unit next to us but we never heard them. Many times we had the pool all to ourselves - I couldn't believe it! It was a terrific place to stay. We were here for 6 nights with kids 9, 11 and 14. Lots of beach toys and boogie boards available for our use, too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiekinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Olivos, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We've stayed at many places on the Kohala Coast over the years, but I have to say that the Palm Villas at Mauna Lani is the best for the price. We found the condo through VRBO. The whole complex is small and quiet. The owners of unit D1 made us feel like special guests. The lanai looks out over the nature preserve to gorgeous sunsets every night. The condo is beautifully decorated and has a great kitchen. Comfortable beds with nice sheets. Restaurants and grocery stores are close by. The Beach Club is a short 10 minute walk through the nature preserve and fish ponds. The snorkeling is fantastic! Our family will come back here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo-Santa-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed in A building upstairs A-21. The owners are incredibly kind and considerate. Very easy to deal with and their place is absolutely perfect! We enjoyed ever single moment there and so did our little ones. The grounds were impeccable and the pool was great. Location to all attractions (minus Volcanoe National Park) were fairly close. I hope God wills for us to go back cause I am addicted!

Annabelle

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

Just returned from the Big Island and a week's stay at the Palm Villas. Our 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo was perfect for our family of six: grandparents, parents, and two boys. We stayed at unit I-1 which we found through vrbo. There was no view of the ocean, but the grounds are well landscaped and we were close to the pool (which was hardly used the week we were there). Access to the Mauna Lani beach club was included; a short drive, the beach had small waves and good snorkelling as well as some shady areas and a small lawn. A walking path from just outside the condos leads through a lava field to the fish ponds and beach area - about 10 to 15 minutes to reach the ocean. The condo itself was clean, spacious, well-decorated, and well-equipped. We would go back in a second!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HPJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

My family spent one week in the Palm Villas H4 condo which is located in the Mauna Lani resort. The condo is a two story end unit that has three bedrooms and three full baths. The unit is probably a year old and is well appointed and furnished. The unit was well stocked with beach items such as beach towels and mats and household items like laundry detergent, dishwashing soap and etc.

The condo is located at the rear of the complex, overlooks the adjacent nature preserve, it is a very short walk the pool, a 15 minute walk to the Shops at Mauna Lani and a 10 minute walk to the beach. The Mauna Lani resort's grounds are not the most spectacular but are well maintained and peaceful. The fish ponds located next to the beach were serene, especially at sunset. The beaches at Mauna Lani are quiet, with low surf and very clear water. The beach at the Resort has very good snorkling.

If you want to boogie/skim board or surf these beaches are not for you. These beaches are about a 20 minute drive from the resort. The town of Kona is 30-45 minutes away depending on the time of day and the road construction activity.

Summary, unless you want a pounding surf beach within walking distance, this is a fantastic property and location on the Kona-Kamuela coast. Cheers!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MoovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
1.7 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.5 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
1.3 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
3.0 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas at Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas at Mauna Lani

Property: Palm Villas at Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1376 S Pauoa Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-7770
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Waimea
Price range (per night): RM1,842 - RM2,210
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas at Mauna Lani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Villas at Mauna Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Villas At Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing