We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$200
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 31/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$231
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$127
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
142
25
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
25
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomthe main houseevery morningbreadbreakfast is servedview of the oceanbanana stuffed french toastthe big islandbed and breakfastwasher and dryervolcano national parkbedroom cottageswimming poolfresh fruitgreat place to stayother guestscoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed in the cottage for two nights, and it was lovely, comfortable, and had everything we needed for a very relaxing stay! I agree with other reviewers to make sure you have the directions clearly in hand. It's a great place from which to tour the Puna Peninsula, and an easy drive into Hilo. Breakfasts were excellent both days. Only thing I hadn't realized was that the ocean view couldn't be seen from the cottage's lanai, but all the wonderful aspects of this B&B make up for that. I heartily recommend Ala Kai!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbarshis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for a week with a friend of mine in the cottage and it was just wonderful. Pat and Mary were very accommodating (the breakfasts were delicious) and the cottage we stayed in had absolutely everything we needed (including a TV to watch the Australian Open when we came home every night). I went out every morning to sit on the lava cliffs across the street and watch the sun rise and it was a great neighborhood for walking. The only downside for us was that it was far from both Hilo and the volcanoes. Lots of driving if you don't want to just stay in one place and relax. Loved the coquis; reminded me of Costa Rica in that regard. And the cat was FABULOUS.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for four nights in the cottage. It was absolutely fabulous. Yes, it is a drive from Hilo and yes, the road out there is paved but uneven, (and can be hard to find esp at night, make sure you have good directions or a GPS), but what a great place once you find it. It is right by the ocean, very quiet, (expect for the nature noises which add to the charm). Breakfast is wonderful, and the owners, Mary and Pat are wonderful. There is a small pool to swim in, a cat to greet you when you arrive, and the best part for me were the whales. They had left the area by the time we got there but these two whales were slow to leave and put a show on for us one morning. The cottage was very private and is wonderful for parents with kids, it is like having your own apartment. I would go back there tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Only there for two nights but it was a great location between Hilo with the waterfalls and the Volcano Natl. Park. Wonderful food and a gracious host. Would stay there again for sure. Thanks Pat & Mary!.....Tj and Glenda from Pismo Beach, Calf.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Found this great hideaway run by Mary and Pat. So peaceful and quiet - and we didn't even mind the coqui frogs! Great ocean views, fantastic breakfasts (banana stuffed french toast with homemade guava syrup!), and a wonderful rooms. It was a great spot to just hang out also. Didn't get a chance to try the pool or hammock, but wished we could have stayed longer so we could have! A wonderful value too!

Room Tip: Aloha room shares a bath with another room. No one was in it when we stayed though so we had a "private" bath.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedgar703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews