We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
driveway leading up to the cabin kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
driveway leading up to the cabin
kitchen
queen size bed 
note- you need to climb in from the bottom
bathroom
view from back deck
driveway to cabin
driveway to cabin
driveway to cabin
foliage
foliage
bell tree
homegrown bananas
south point
green sand beach
black sand beach
Hawaiian hawksbill turtle on black sand beach
windmills on south point road
lava going into the ocean
lava going into the ocean
volcano glow
halema'uma'u crater
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek S
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Perfect cabin for 2, couldn’t have asked for better accommodations. Beautiful surroundings and very easy to make arrangements with

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Txwinelov...
Bedford, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool and quiet.”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We spent 3 nights in late December. After accidently spending the first night with the bedroom window open, pretty chilly, we really enjoyed the peace and quiet. You'll find just about every thing here you need. It is completely private and as advertised completely off the grid. (If you can't boil water you're in the wrong place) ;) This is not your usual island resort. No microwave, TV, spa, groomed beach and mai tai bar. This is not Honolulu. This is Hawaii off the grid.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review. It has been unusually cold here this winter - sorry about that but there's nothing I can do about it. Apparently it's been extremely cold everywhere! Glad it didn't ruin your experience at the cabin, living off the grid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valhikes
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like staying in a botanical garden!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had the great pleasure of staying in this amazing little cabin for five nights the first week of May, 2017. What a treat!
First of all, the setting is absolutely stunning. As we drove down the long driveway it felt like we were entering a lovely botanical garden. Connie, the owner, has done a fantastic job of creating a beautiful oasis, surrounded by natural beauty. Towering Ohi'a trees and a lovely assortment of vegetation line the driveway and surround the cabin, except the back yard, which looks out at wide open rolling green hills and huge trees of a relatively newly acquired addition to a National Park (currently not open to the pubic, former Nature Conservancy land). Nice morning walks included simply strolling down the driveway and the road.
Inside, the cabin was exceptionally clean and well stocked with every thing we could have needed. Lots of natural light fills the main room, and every window provides a picture perfect view of the beauty outside. The bed was tucked into a cozy space and I found it to be very comfortable.
Staying in this cabin is different from most vacation rentals in that the cabin is completely "off the grid", with solar power. Connie has put a lot of thought into creating this little house to function in a way that minimizes its carbon footprint. This requires that those visiting practice mindfulness in how we use our resources, which was refreshing in today's world of consumption and waste.
For cooking, there are two propane burners (like glamping (glamour camping)). No microwave or oven. So when you're shopping for groceries, keep this in mind.
Guests are encouraged to compost and recycle, which is no different than how we live at home, but may be new to some folks.
The location is almost directly opposite the South Point Road. The only downside we experienced while staying here was that driving to some key destinations required considerable time in the car, but we were able to visit Kealakekua Bay for an awesome day of kayaking with spinner dolphins and snorkeling, Volcanos National Park where we saw lava splashing up from the lava lake in Kilaeua crater, spent a great day in Hilo, visited Black Sands beach, Pu'uhonua O Honaunau (Place of Refuge). And after each day, we loved returning to this incredibly peaceful and beautiful cabin.
If you're someone who enjoys staying in unique locations, surrounded by natural beauty and away from crowds, cars, tourism, and who can appreciate being mindful of our impact on the planet, you will love this very special little cabin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely and detailed review! It describes the cabin perfectly and will help future guests know what to expect when deciding where they want to stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated everything about the cabin and the land. It was nice meeting you and I hope you come back again sometime. Aloha nui loa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen A
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“PERFECT Bungalow”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Connie is super friendly and the bungalow is absolutely perfect. Tina and I enjoyed our stay immensely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna T
1 review
“Comfortable retreat nestled in the forest with an engaging view.”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfectly planned simple living. A place to revive in solitude. Close to sights, culture and ways to get to know Hawai'i Island. Be sure to take binoculars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thank you for the nice review! So glad you appreciated the beauty and peacefulness of this place. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing