We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
599
54
11
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
54
11
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest house guest cottage outdoor shower soaking tub granola japanese tub bamboo cottage the big island national park breakfast basket fruit our honeymoon wonderful hosts unique experience kona coffee breakfast provided a special place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2023

A wonderful spot for a week's getaway from the city, especially if you're into touring the Big Island's volcanoes!

The Forest House was cozy and perfect for the week we spent. We had the opportunity to check out all the other cottages while we were there, and honestly, any of them would make a fantastic choice; in fact, I'd love to come back for a week and spend a different night in each one, as each has its own charm.

The thick forest and cleverly designed paths connecting the cottages give an excellent sense of quiet and privacy despite the relatively small footprint of the entire resort.

Nearby Volcano Village is rustic with some incredible food options. Easy proximity to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, where you can view Kilauea's craters, tour a lava tube, or drive down Chain of Craters Rd. to the oceanside. This was our "base camp" for a week of exploring the Big Island as well as a two-day jaunt to Oahu.

Take a drive to Punalu'u Bake Shop, the southernmost bakery in the US, for some of their delicious treats (I highly recommend the lilikoi (passionfruit) malasada), or head the other direction to Hilo for Ken's House Of Pancakes (best loco moco anywhere!). Or if you like Thai food, give Auntie Pon's food truck in Volcano Village a shot!

The staff at Volcano Rainforest Retreat were all amazing, but the biggest treat was Jenny, the manager on duty for most of our stay. She was always cheery, helpful, and had no end of advice for places to visit and things to see, as well as filling us in on the colourful history of the resort.

Definitely consider a stay here if you want to relax!

My only "complaint", if you could call it that, is that the website needs updating with better pictures and descriptions of the cottages. We chose the Forest House based on what was presented, and were perfectly happy with it, but might have selected differently if we could have seen better views of the others. For example, the Guest House has a loft bed that in the pictures looked like it was in a cramped space that would be difficult to access; when we saw it in person, it was actually a fairly spacious semi-attic bedroom with plenty of room to move around. If you're considering staying here, I would recommend calling and asking for more details about the cottage(s) you find interesting.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer and Rob Owens, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Mahalo nui loa! We so appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a great review. It was such a pleasure hosting you and getting the chance to chat about your adventures! Thanks for the great feedback on the pictures on the website, especially about the loft area of the Guest Cottage. We do hope that we get the chance to host you again.

Aloha,
Danyelle, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

The best place we could have thought to stay in near volcano park. It’s a beautiful drive across the centre of the island and just a 30min drive from Hilo, easy to find and the owner is always available to help. No matter what time you get there they will ensure you are settled in and know where everything is. Centred just inside a rainforest area you do feel engulfed by nature. The sound of the frogs at night is a calming sound to send you off to sleep. The peace and quiet during the day makes you truly feel you are in a retreat.

It is well worth having the breakfast. Locally grown fruit replenished daily at your request accompanied by Kona coffee was a perfect way to start your day.

The cottages are just an easy 5min drive round the corner from volcano park. If visiting we strongly recommend choosing this retreat.

Room tip: Book early as it gets booked up.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank navinleanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer and Rob Owens, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Aloha,
We really appreciate your kind words and great feedback. So happy that you enjoyed the sounds and the tranquility of the surrounding forest. Please come back and stay again on your next visit to Big Island.
Mahalo,
Danyelle, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2023

I don't think I'll ever be able to top this stay! Our jaws dropped the moment we arrived. The place was beautiful, the staff was so friendly and knowledgeable about the Island and local area. The pastries delivered in the morning were delicious, and the place is SO private and relaxing that we didn't want to leave. Don't even get me started on the Cedar Alaskan Soaking Tub. I could've stayed in there all trip. That was by far our favorite part - relaxing in there and then cooling down in the outdoor shower. There are barely any bugs so you can leave your doors open at night and get some cool air inside. All around - I can't recommend this place enough. We have been bragging about our stay since we left. I hope to return one day!

Room tip: The frogs are noisy at night - if you go in the winter time, apparently they hibernate in the cold, so you'd miss them altogether.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stay17263079809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer and Rob Owens, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Mahalo nui loa! We are so thrilled when we get such fantastic reviews from our guests, we love that you had such a nice stay! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and we hope that we will get to be a part of your next visit to Hawaii.

Aloha,
Danyelle, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Guys and girls, the place is good. But for $800+/ night I want an enthusiastic manager, a washer/dryer that isn’t restricted to management and an actual breakfast. Also, I could do without the “art” in the bathroom that doubles as pornography. Location of volcano is great and tub in Bamboo room is cool, still not worth $800/night.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer and Rob Owens, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Aloha Andrew,

We are sorry that your experience was not up to your standards. I want to clear up a few things since other future guests will read this review. The cottage you rented for 1 night has a base rate of $485, you were charged a single night fee because we have a 2 night minimum, you added 3 additional people which has a fee, purchased wine, and chocolate which is why your total was around $800. Our website states that we do not have onsite laundry and gives a clear description of what we offer for breakfast, so there was no misrepresentation on our part. When it comes to the art that you were offended by, I guess everyone has their own taste, we have not had a complaint about it in the 20 plus years that it has been hanging in the bathroom.

We do hope that you enjoyed your time on our beautiful Island.

Mahalo,
Danyelle, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Beautiful, quiet retreat in a rainforest. I loved everything about this place. The breakfast goodies were awesome and the Japanese soaker tub was wonderful! I loved hearing the frogs at night! I would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank goforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer and Rob Owens, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Aloha and thank you so much for writing a review! It brings us so much joy to share this sacred rainforest with others who appreciate having a peaceful retreat. Glad you enjoyed the Japanese tub, and the frogs at night!
Take care, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Mahalo,
Jenny ~ Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews