We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place to Spend a Hurricane!”
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite Parking/Entrance/Lanai
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - Suite
Dancing Bamboo Cottage - En Suite Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stodgman
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Spend a Hurricane!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I arrived on the island about 3 hours prior to hurricane Madeline. During the lead up to that time Karen kept a running dialog updating us on the conditions and making recommendations for a safe arrival. Karen went WAY above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The wind howled and the rain came but that property is built to handle it. The next day it was fantastic weather again.
The Dancing Bamboo is a beautifully decorated free standing cottage only 6 miles from Volcano National Park. The kitchen was fully stocked with juice, milk, cereal, papaya and english muffins. It’s quiet and feels secluded surrounded by a bamboo forest and Hawaiian rain forest. It was soooo cute and decorated in a frilly but homey way.
The shower is extra, extra large and just luxurious.
If you are looking for something special, something romantic, something secluded, look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fully stocked kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
277Maggie...
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We came in before dark as Karen had suggested and with a quick phone call Karen helped us with directions and suggestions of where to eat. the GPS gets mixed up. It is a 10 minute drive to the park and we were able to go see the glow that night and the next. It was clean and I like watching a movie with popcorn, the fresh papa was a nice touch and we had everything for breakfast muffins, cereal juice milk , coffee tea etc. The counter space was a little tight for both the toaster oven and coffee maker but it was great . There was an iron as we'll although we didn't use it. You need reservations at volcano lodge for dinner so plan ahead we ate lunch and dinner there as we spent two full days at the park and basically did every hike. I would highly recommend this for a couple if you are visiting the park, Everything was new and clean. We would definitely come stay here again, thanks karen for the great stay,..I would suggest a kitchen tea towel however for the kitchen area. It might have just been an oversight and not restocked,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New clean and close to the park
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy Z
Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Secluded Luxury”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Karen thought of everything...really. The booking process was quick and easy. Karen's directions, although I came from the other direction, were spot on. The property was easy to find. The grounds were beautifully groomed and maintained. The self check-in was really convenient and made coordinating my arrival a breeze. Dancing Bamboo is a newer, stand-alone structure next to the main house. Although only 400 square feet, it felt larger. The space was well appointed and the interior decoration was tasteful. Large windows faced the bamboo forest. Instructions/reminders were set out so there really was no need to bother Karen with lots of questions. The bathroom was quite large with a huge rainfall showerhead. The breakfast portions were perfect. She even had socks to warm chilly toes. Anyone not familiar with the area should know there are coqui frogs. This is way beyond the owner's control. She did a great job insulating the unit, so we were able to eliminate most of the noise by closing the windows. Light sleepers might consider ear plugs. The sinks in the bathroom, although I loved them, were a little tiny which made it difficult to keep from getting water on the floor. Karen thoughtfully posted a reminder to turn off the exterior lights once in the room for the evening. This particular room has no window coverings on the windows that face the driveway. As such, if the guests in the other unit leave their exterior light on, it will cast light into this unit which cannot be shut out. Wasn't a big problem for us, but I noticed it. Beautiful property; beautiful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The huge shower.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilynan...
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully decorated cottage only 6 miles from Volcano National Park”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you are looking for a beautifully decorated cottage only 6 miles from Volcano National Park, with a kitchen fully stocked with juice, milk, cereal, local fruit and bagels you have come to the right place. It’s quiet and private, with a beautiful deck that looks out to bamboo and tree ferns. It was immaculate. Be careful not to arrive at night as it is up a small road and on a lane that has a different name than the address. We continued up the unpaved road and ended up way past the cottage. Get the correct name of the lane from the owner. Then spend at least two days hiking and exploring the beautiful, diverse Volcano National Park.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secluded Luxury”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

New and luxurious little cottage with a bathroom to die for! So quiet and peaceful to come back to after a busy day of exploring in Volcano National Park - which was a short ten minutes away. Note that Volcano is a small town and has very few restaurants - plan ahead!

Would definitely recommend this place. Provided simple breakfast starters that easily got us through two days. Can't go wrong here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing