We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved staying above the trees!”
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6. Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
A work of art in the forest. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
1000+ square feet of luxury treehouse living. Sleeps 6.
Cozy up or eat by fireplace. Photos by Jon Mikan, ©2017
Kitchen area with island sink. Doorway opens to porch and the sky-walk.
Open kitchen/dining/livingroom area with spiral stairs case in the middle.
.Queen with extra trundle bed underneath.
Queen loft at the top of the treehouse looking out at the secluded forest
Outdoor covered lanai 20 feet above the hapu'u ferns and forest floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
rubisdad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved staying above the trees!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

While it is off the beaten path and not what some would expect in Hawaii our time in the tree house was EXCELLENT. the look on my daughters face when she saw the place was what every dad should see. enjoyed the nightly fires, looking at the stars and the peace and quiet it provided. very close to volcano national park.
if traveling with young one that likes cartoons/tv in the morning or at night have some movies or go rent some from the little gas station in the village as he provides tv and blue ray but no local channels.
Owner was excellent to deal with and provided great directions and tips on the island

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: sleeping in the trees
Liked least: wife didn't care for the windows in the bathroom
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Kids really have a ball here. Of course IT'S A TreeHouse, but besides that there are many places in it just for the young people tucked down under where they can only go. They love the safe 80 foot long walk way out into the forest at TreeHouse level which is about 16 Feet to 18 feet up off the ground in the tree canopy . Check it out but be sure to make your stay long enough to really enjoy their delight and awe, for there is no other place like it. You might feel like a kid again here most adults do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineL...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in Big Island”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the tree house the day before going to Volcanoes National Park. For 2, it's a bit expensive, but the house sleeps 6 and is super comfortable, so it's good value for a family. It's incredibly well done with a lot of windows so you really sleep between canopy and stars. The fireplace makes it very special, so do the balconies. We can only recommend it!!!!!!!!!
Tips: it's quite secluded and not so easy to find, so best is to arrive when there is still daylight

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Privacy and secludedness is hard to find these days so that what the TreeHouse offers. Commune with nature that's all around you and forget the stresses of the normal busy life most of us are forced to deal with these days.Feel like a kid and watch your kids freak out when they see where they're going to stay and squeal with glee. Some place all of you won't ever forget and your friends won't believe the photos you bring back, green with envy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troopieli
long island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“3 islands 4 accommodations nothing came close to this treehouse !”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The treehouse is located off the grid with all the amenities.we never wanted to leave!.it was filled with special touches like umbrellas under an awning as you pull up,than colorful Christmas lights guide your way through ferns anthuriums and more up to a beautifully well crafted treehouse with many surprises and cozy spots to hang out.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
It's great to hear what each persons favorite things were, and I enjoy meeting and greeting all my guests and filling them in on the area, Volcanoes National Park and other interesting places, if they can tear them selves away from the TreeHouse that is, I've lived here in Volcano for 20 some years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela Ca...
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our 2-night stay at Volcano Treehouse was a highlight for our time in Hawaii. Skye has splendidly integrated his enthusiasm for treehouses with the nature beauty of the Volcano rainforest. The treehouse is full of clever decoration and construction -- it takes a couple of days to find all of the little surprises which make this unique accommodation so special. The treehouse is located near Volcano National Park but is secluded within the rain forest for a peaceful stay which will surely replenish the soul of any nature lover. Skye gave us excellent tips for hikes in and around the park and for nearby restaurants. My favorite experience was lying in bed while stargazing. Tip for visitors -- at this elevation, it gets cold at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Treehouse experience and connection with nature
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
I love the enthusiasm and I like knowing people look for and enjoy all the little surprises around the TreeHouse and I know the Volcanoes National Park is also very interesting to visit and hike. It is cool up here at night so the fireplace gets used a lot and the electric heaters are available for the cool mornings. Thanks for taking a chance with my TreeHouse for your visit to Hawaii. Skye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijjy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wow! We travelled from the U K to Japan then Oahu then Kona staying in luxury 5 star hotels and mega lux condos with our boys aged 18 and 16.
Then we arrive at the tree houses ( we booked both, one for us, one ( just round the corner)) for our lads.
The boys saw the treehouse and their faces dropped, "there's no wifi? where's the bar?".
We met the owner / builder, who showed us around the most amazing, imaginative, hand crafted beautiful tree houses. We aren't talking roughing it here!
Well equipped kitchen ( with Kona coffee of course) plenty of hot water, cooking facilities, and the greatest uplifted comfy romantic double bed in the universe.
After 2 nights the teenagers changed their rating from 1 out of 10 to 7 out of ten (that's as high as cool people go apparently ). Our rating went from 7 out of 10 to full marks. Why?
Where shall I start? With the creator of course, Skye is a friendly, helpful, cool, cheeky. fun loving artist. These are his babies ,ten years in the making and we were privileged to experience them. The sounds of silence at night, followed by bird song alarm in the morning. The solitude and safety of the area, The 100% coolness of the tree houses. Taking a pee when the toilet has full glass walls. Taking a shower when all you can see is forest. There's no one around to see you. Yet you can have your privacy and dignity in tack from you housemates.
So many great touches will be discovered as your stay unfolds.
Skye is the perfect host. Discreet ( he has an invisible property nearby) helpful and with just the right amount of contact for us uptight britts.
We spent a good while one morning chatting about the benefits of riding on the roof racks of cars as I had let my kids drive and ride the previous night, I think Skye was tickled pink by the fact that other people can enjoy life as much as he does.
Volcano village has it all, shops that sell food drink and supplies, great restaurants for breakfast and dinner, and.... peace!
Love the tree houses, remember there are 2 of them. No 1 is a bit better in the fact that it's bigger and has a better bathroom, no 2 has a better view from the bed as it's higher, and is good for bird lovers (or just regular lovers)
I am oldish, cynical, not good at roughing it, and I absolutely loved the tree houses.
Skye, You're a top chap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that you will never experience anything like this
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Aloha Paul and gang,
Fun and excitement are very important to some of us, you are far from stuffy britts, more like, not afraid to engage and enjoy living life to it's fullest type britts, which are my favorite. I appreciate your enthusiasm and enjoyed your go for it attitude. I've had several families wise enough to get one TreeHouse for themselves (parents) and the other for their grown up kids, being just a block apart is close enough but also far enough apart. Staying in a real TreeHouse doesn't have to be uncomfortable at all.
Come back and visit again sometime old chap and crew,
Skye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing