We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Waikoloa Village(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
US$225
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$459
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$321
US$289
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aeolian Residence(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$559
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$393
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Villas(Waikoloa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
24
21
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
21
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suitevacation clubrice cookerwasher dryerlifetime platinumthanksgiving buffetgrocery storebeach areatowel cardscoffee pothawaii callsother islandsbeautiful resortfull kitchenthe big islandfamily resortfood court
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We were there for a week. Most comfortable one bedroom suite. Much to do within the resort complex. Staff very helpful with the real Aloha Spirit. Nice shops & restaurants in walking distance. Will definitely come back. No problem from the volcano activity in the SE part of the Island.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoeKathyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Aloha Joe and Kathy! Thank you for your five-star review of your recent visit. We are happy you enjoyed your time and felt the Aloha Spirit from our team! We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Waikoloa Ocean Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I have read other reviews, and many have seemed to capture it appropriately so no need to repeat too much. This was our first time to this newer resort, we were very happy with our stay. We had a one bedroom suite, included washer/dryer, full kitchen except no stove top or oven. There are several grills available on site. There were 2 balconies, with sunset views a few nights. It is a quiet resort most of the time, we felt relaxed there. Lots of places to walk. The beach was a coarse but not too rocky sand and the water was clear and warm. There are free beach chairs, palm trees for shade or rent umbrella. The beach was really nice, quiet an relaxing. We had no trouble finding pool chairs, but be ready for kids (don't expect an "adult" hot tub). The resort has yoga (included for MVC) on beach, water aerobics, and SUP yoga for $30. There are kayaks, SUP boards, etc, for rent. Free snorkel gear available. The Kings Marketplace is directly across the street (few restaurants, shops) and the Queens market is a block away, where there is Island Gourmet, a decent market. There is a bigger grocery store about 10 minutes away, and Costco near the airport, and any store (Walmart, Target) in area of Kona (Kailua Kona) which is more developed.
We found the staff and management helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Aloha Sondra! Thank you for spending time with us at Waikoloa Ocean Club. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful first visit to the resort and do hope it is the beginning of many more to come. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We are Marriott Vacation Club Owners so we are used to the vacation club experience and the quirks that come from being owners. We arrived late on a Friday evening(11:30pm) and were greeted warmly from the staff. This hotel is located about 15 miles from the Kona Airport-it is not located in Kona near the town. It is away from Kailua/Kona in an area that is filled with lava flows and is very dry looking. When we arrived there was no parking available in the self parking lot so they offered to valet our car for free. There were no bellman at this time of night so we transported our own luggage to our rooms. We booked a one bedroom deluxe ocean view room and couldn't see a thing at night when we arrived so couldn't assess the room/view until the next day. We also received a handicapped room(5119) so the layout of the room was odd(no connecting bathroom to the bedroom). You cannot hear the ocean waves from the room which was a disappointment. The hotel is situated a ways back from the water. We were pleasantly surprised when we woke up that we had a nice ocean view (see photos) we had read about people booking an ocean view and looking down at a parking lot so we felt very lucky. The hotel is only 6 stories due to zoning laws against high rises because of the observatory on Mauna Kea. The room was decorated in lava colors and decor(black and gray, red, orange). Not my favorite, it seemed dark and not the happy, colorful island colors I was used to at the Marriott on Maui and Kauai. We loved the tile floors and washer and dryer in the suite. The kitchen is just a microwave, fridge, dishwasher, toaster, blender and coffee maker. We just ate breakfast in the room so it is fine for us. We are used to this with vacation club properties being the same on Maui and Kauai. They have a luau 2 times a week on the grounds. You can watch them bury the kulua pig in the AM. The property has 4 pools but not a lot of pool deck and chairs. It got crowded a few of the days we were there(Easter week) You can walk down to the beach and use lounge chairs on the beach on a first come, first serve basis. The VOG(volcano fog) was horrible except one day of the 7 we were there. It makes it hard to breathe. My husband had an asthma attack and ended up in urgent care on Easter(in Kona). There is a good restaurant at the hotel, Hawaii Calls. We had the brunch buffet one day and the food was great. Good variety but a little pricey($29PP). There is a gift and sundry shop that has some food items and a small grocery store at the Queen Shops. We drove to Waikoloa to the big market and they have about everything. They had nice lounge areas with tables, chairs, rocking chairs on the main floor of the hotel. It is nice to be able to look out at the ocean and relax. You can order drinks and some food items there as well. This is a big resort so you can walk for a long time to get anywhere. There is hotel rooms on one side of the resort and converted villas for the vacation club on the opposite side. The grounds are well maintained but I didn't see the flowers that we usually see at the other resorts(not sure what grows on this island). There is lava absolutely everywhere. This is not the lush, green, Hawaii looking side of the island. There is a fabulous ocean walk down to the Hilton. We did this everyday and it was so beautiful. You can see both Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa. This is also great to see the sunset. There are ancient Hawaiian fish ponds and ruins all over this part of the island. The Waikoloa petroglyphs were very close and a nice place to walk to. Bring water and wear a hat as it is hot out on the lava. There are two shopping centers within walking distance of the Marriott. The Kings Shops are across the street and have shops and restaurants and the Queens Shops down the street with more shops, food court, small grocery store, and restaurants. We found the food in Waikoloa expensive and frankly not good. The food in Kona we found much more to our liking or eat at the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the resort but didn't care for the island, we just didn't feel like we were in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view with a pool view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorCal-traveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Aloha and thank you for your review of Waikoloa Ocean Club! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and thank you for sharing the photos from your trip. We do hope to see you again at Marriott Vacation Club in Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

This trip was amazing especially Melissa at blinnk photography right inside the lobby of the hotel she was a great photographer she did everything right up to par and she also delayed her day 30 min to hit us in to look at our photos. Next time we visit this resort blinnk photography will definitely be a repeat

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Drexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your visit, Drexton! We are pleased to hear you had a great trip, especially with the photography team. We hope to see you again soon at Marriott's Waikoloa Ocean Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Only went in the ocean once - way too rocky/hard to get in/out, and not many fish. The pools were a little too warm to be refreshing, except at night. Very convenient to walk to Shops at King's and Queen's. Decent happy hours at both hotel bars, although the food choice was limited to one item (hot combo platter for $12). Enjoyed the aqua fitness classes, especially Joni. The room was nice and quiet. If we were planning to cook there, the lack of an oven/stove would have really been a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott’s Waikoloa Ocean Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, Lisa! Thank you for your feedback about the beach and pool. We hope you were still able to enjoy some rest & relaxation at both during your visit. Your kind words for Joni are certainly appreciated and will be shared with her team. We hope your travels bring you back again to Waikoloa Ocean Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews