We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beguiling and bewitching”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017

What an interesting labor of love that Simon has built here in Hanalei. The previous reviews talk about what the Surfboard House is, so I won't go into great detail. Suffice it to say that the Love Shack is certainly one of the coolest places we have hung our hats and we've been to 50 countries and 50 states. It's our last day of eight and we are sitting in the LS listening to Nat King Cole on the excellent surround sound and watching the rain. It's a lovely interlude before heading back to the mainland tonight.
When you come here, it takes a while for your mind to settle into the pace of life on Kauai, but it will. Take at least a week and you will love Hanalei; any less and you may just be wondering what all the fuss is about. Be ready: traffic on the is crazy all over the island. Hanalei gets overrun by the tourist locust horde (of which we are one, so what can I say?) Here are some helpful hints:
1. Use the outdoor shower as often as possible. It is so liberating to take bathe in the sunlight! And at night after coming back from the beach.
2. Eat at the food trucks in Hanalei, especially Fresh Bite and Turmeric. They are great.
3. Bar Acuda is a delicious, if expensive, choice for a special dinner. (reservations essential)
4. Piazza up in Princeville is great for Italian standards and pizza. (reservations essential)
5. Eat the chicken at Chicken in a Barrel (bring it back to your room and have with the wine you wisely purchased at your first stop on the island: Costco in Lihue)
6. Go to Waimea Canyon; make sure you go to the end of the road! If the weather is bad, forget it and go to Barking Sands Beach.
7. Spend an afternoon at Ke-e Beach. Parking is awful, but because of that the place is uncrowded and gorgeous. I mean like, out of a movie gorgeous.
8. Buy the coffee from Hanalei Bread company. Simon supplies a 12 ounce bag for starters and it is divine. It's expensive, but so is everything else here e.g. the place for sale across the street is listed at $45 Million (!)
9. Take the time to appreciate the room; the details of Simon's labors are amazing.
10. Take the short drive to the Lighthouse. It's beautiful.
11. Of course, get a copy of Kauai Revealed. It's essential and helpful for getting around.
12. See if you can expand the length of the crack in the mirror through vigorous rutting (kidding Simon.)
13. Get a Sugarloaf Pineapple at the Organic market; it is the best piece of fruit you will ever eat.

I suppose that is enough. Parting is such sweet sorrow, but we know we will be back and that the Hanalei Surfboard House and Simon will be waiting.

Room Tip: The Love Shack....what can I say?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanaleimax, Owner at Hanalei Surfboard House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

yeah you failed to get a free night by cracking the mirror all the way thru:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2017

The surfboard house is incredibly imaginative, fun and interesting. There are only 3 cabanas (rooms) in the property. The Cowgirl room, the Elvis room and the Love Shack. We stayed in the Love Shack. The owner of the property, Simon Potts lives in the main building upstairs of the 2 rooms, the Love Shack is a stand alone. Simon is a gregarious, friendly and very interesting man, he knows "everything" about the island is a font of information and happy to offer recommendations. Everyone knows him as well, it can help to use his name. The Love shack is impeccably appointed as is the entire property. And unlike most tropical properties it is in perfect repair and condition, the old is meant to be old. Mr. Potts had a career in the entertainment industry and the Love Shack walls are covered with mementos, memorabilia and his personal LP vinyl collection from his previous life. Simon quickly lets you know you are welcomed to play any of the selection, there must be thousands. Everywhere you look there is something that is fun and tickles your fancy or stirs the imagination. The facilities are very comfortable and feel like home. We did not want to leave! Boogie boards, beach mats, chairs and umbrella are there for the beach. Hanalei bay is beautiful and the beach is only almost across the street. Literally you can be on the beach in a matter of a couple of minutes. Stay here if you can, it is an amazing, wonderful experience.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here, the Love Shack is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

After hours of researching places to stay on the North Shore of Kauai, I kept going back go the Hanalei Surfboard House website because that is where I felt a sense of proud authenticity in the descriptions and photos, which included an aerial view/video of it's location. Decision made, we booked quickly and easily with Simon. On arrival we were greeted with a handwritten sign showing our names and which path to take to our unit. The short walk through artistically designed gardens welcomed us and we immediately felt warmly and generously tended to. Simon arrived and shared information about our unit and the town of Hanalei. Generosity of thought about what guests might want or need, generosity of sharing beauty and creativity, thoughtfulness about providing a quiet, peaceful, fun, setting makes the Hanalei Surfboard House a very special place to stay. Thank you, Simon, we will be back. Saunterre and Molly

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saunterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Love Shack for our honeymoon in January and loved it! What an amazing place with very unique décor. The location is beautiful, right near the ocean and Simon was an incredible host. Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Hanalei Bay!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Hit lucky! Funky place to stay at Hanalei on the North shore - so unique and a perfect base to experience the 'jewel in the crown of Hawaii'. Great facilities and ambience with a charming and interesting host. Well located for exploring the beautiful Napali Coast. An amazing surfing beach nearby as well as excellent pilates and yoga studios. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 3 suites - all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
4.4 km away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
31.1 km away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
32 km away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
589 reviews
2.6 km away
Makai Club Resort
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
308 reviews
4.7 km away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range: RM 1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only one bedroom appt-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing