We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$199
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$209
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$299
US$269
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
353
8
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
8
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove shackelvis roomsimon pottsoutdoor showerboogie boardsbeach chairsplace to staysimon's placeprivate patioour honeymoonsurround soundnorth shorethought of everythingpine treesshort walkgreat musiclocal community
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hanalei at the surfboard house. The small enchanting town and its beautiful bay, along with the very unique and ideally situated accommodations at the surfboard house (plus its really down to earth and amazing host!) made this the trip of a lifetime. We spent time all over the island while there for 10 days, and I would not change a thing about where we stayed. Simon was really one of a kind, an outstanding host and great to talk to. Everything from the outdoor gardens, to the funky décor to the hand made Kauai soaps and shampoos to the beach equipment we had at our disposal to the cool outdoor lanai with grill, to the phenomenal location steps away from hanalei bay made this a really unique and ideal place to stay. Perfect town/location, perfect accommodations. simple as that.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonJulioCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at The Hanalei Surfboard House. The location was perfect, being only a minute's walk to the beach. The property owner thought of every detail to make this stay such an amazing experience for his guests, from beach chairs to insulated cooler bag for picnics to locally made soaps/shower products. The room decor was fun and eclectic and the surrounding gardens were beautiful! We didn't turn the TV on once, but it does have direct TV for those who want it and we definitely enjoyed the amazing music sound system. The owner is very friendly, he provided great recommendations for dining and other things to do on the island. You will not be disappointed if you are able to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

What more can we say! The Surfboard House is an amazing place. Convenient to everything on the North Shore. Less than 5 min walk to Hanalei Bay/Beach, 5-10 min walk to restaurants, coffee, and shopping. Simon is a gracious host with an obvious passion for his property. We stayed in the "Love Shack" which is a free standing efficiency style unit. This unit is beautifully appointed, full amenities in the kitchen and bathroom, even an OUTDOOR SHOWER with hot and cold water. The unit includes as private/fenced courtyard which we just loved. The King Bed is VERY comfortable and the finishes are exceptional. Additionally, the unit is decorated with unique touches from the host's amazing life journey. If we had the trip to take again we would skip the South side of the island and Poipu completely and stay with Simon at the Surfboard House for our whole trip. Location A+, Units A+, Host A+. We stay in this type of smaller hotel/B&B multiple times a year all over the world and the Surfboard House is, without a doubt, one of the top units we have ever seen. Highly recommend this unit to anyone without reservations.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eoehler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

What an interesting labor of love that Simon has built here in Hanalei. The previous reviews talk about what the Surfboard House is, so I won't go into great detail. Suffice it to say that the Love Shack is certainly one of the coolest places we have hung our hats and we've been to 50 countries and 50 states. It's our last day of eight and we are sitting in the LS listening to Nat King Cole on the excellent surround sound and watching the rain. It's a lovely interlude before heading back to the mainland tonight.
When you come here, it takes a while for your mind to settle into the pace of life on Kauai, but it will. Take at least a week and you will love Hanalei; any less and you may just be wondering what all the fuss is about. Be ready: traffic on the is crazy all over the island. Hanalei gets overrun by the tourist locust horde (of which we are one, so what can I say?) Here are some helpful hints:
1. Use the outdoor shower as often as possible. It is so liberating to take bathe in the sunlight! And at night after coming back from the beach.
2. Eat at the food trucks in Hanalei, especially Fresh Bite and Turmeric. They are great.
3. Bar Acuda is a delicious, if expensive, choice for a special dinner. (reservations essential)
4. Piazza up in Princeville is great for Italian standards and pizza. (reservations essential)
5. Eat the chicken at Chicken in a Barrel (bring it back to your room and have with the wine you wisely purchased at your first stop on the island: Costco in Lihue)
6. Go to Waimea Canyon; make sure you go to the end of the road! If the weather is bad, forget it and go to Barking Sands Beach.
7. Spend an afternoon at Ke-e Beach. Parking is awful, but because of that the place is uncrowded and gorgeous. I mean like, out of a movie gorgeous.
8. Buy the coffee from Hanalei Bread company. Simon supplies a 12 ounce bag for starters and it is divine. It's expensive, but so is everything else here e.g. the place for sale across the street is listed at $45 Million (!)
9. Take the time to appreciate the room; the details of Simon's labors are amazing.
10. Take the short drive to the Lighthouse. It's beautiful.
11. Of course, get a copy of Kauai Revealed. It's essential and helpful for getting around.
12. See if you can expand the length of the crack in the mirror through vigorous rutting (kidding Simon.)
13. Get a Sugarloaf Pineapple at the Organic market; it is the best piece of fruit you will ever eat.

I suppose that is enough. Parting is such sweet sorrow, but we know we will be back and that the Hanalei Surfboard House and Simon will be waiting.

Room Tip: The Love Shack....what can I say?
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanaleimax, Owner at Hanalei Surfboard House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

yeah you failed to get a free night by cracking the mirror all the way thru:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The surfboard house is incredibly imaginative, fun and interesting. There are only 3 cabanas (rooms) in the property. The Cowgirl room, the Elvis room and the Love Shack. We stayed in the Love Shack. The owner of the property, Simon Potts lives in the main building upstairs of the 2 rooms, the Love Shack is a stand alone. Simon is a gregarious, friendly and very interesting man, he knows "everything" about the island is a font of information and happy to offer recommendations. Everyone knows him as well, it can help to use his name. The Love shack is impeccably appointed as is the entire property. And unlike most tropical properties it is in perfect repair and condition, the old is meant to be old. Mr. Potts had a career in the entertainment industry and the Love Shack walls are covered with mementos, memorabilia and his personal LP vinyl collection from his previous life. Simon quickly lets you know you are welcomed to play any of the selection, there must be thousands. Everywhere you look there is something that is fun and tickles your fancy or stirs the imagination. The facilities are very comfortable and feel like home. We did not want to leave! Boogie boards, beach mats, chairs and umbrella are there for the beach. Hanalei bay is beautiful and the beach is only almost across the street. Literally you can be on the beach in a matter of a couple of minutes. Stay here if you can, it is an amazing, wonderful experience.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here, the Love Shack is incredible.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews