We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$219
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$197
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
353
8
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
8
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove shackelvis roomsimon pottsoutdoor showerboogie boardsbeach chairsplace to staysimon's placeprivate patioour honeymoonsurround soundnorth shorethought of everythingpine treesshort walkgreat musiclocal community
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

There's nothing like staying a block from the beach and watching less fortunate souls wait in line to cross the one-lane bridge into and out of Hanalei each day. We also appreciated having our own set of boogie boards and a beach umbrella. There's a hose just outside the unit for washing off the sand, so the apartment stays clean. Although the unit has air conditioning, we enjoyed leaving it off and letting in the tropical breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Visiting Kauai after an absence of 40 years we were astounded by the beauty of the North Shore. My wife chose the "Love Shack" for our 50th wedding anniversary and honeymoon (we were too poor to take one in 1967). The eclectic atmosphere of the Surfboard House was palpable. A 1947 jukebox greeted us on entry into the studio apartment. We were told the woodwork was recycled from an old farmhouse in Texas and the fixtures were tastefully taken from the 40's and 50's. It had the same bathroom sink as my 1929 house in Seattle. You can tell that Simon is an artist by his application of all the elements that make up the "Love Shack". Jackie was great at welcoming us and filling us in on the history of the Surfboard House. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt after this and while it was very nice did not equal our stay at the "Love Shack". It fact we loved it so much that my wife has already booked a 2 week stay there for next June.

Room Tip: Love Shack is the largest of the 3 units
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 206judithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House for 4 nights in late May-We had a great time staying in the Elvis Suite. The room was super fun, with lots of music memorabilia and island decor. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean and stocked with everything we needed to enjoy light cooking and barbecue -even beach mats, chairs umbrellas and a cooler for the beach. Simon is a friendly and knowledgable host-he was helpful with tips for the best beaches, snorkeling and restaurants, and told us the interesting story of how he built the Surfboard House. Make sure to check out Tunnels Beach for snorkeling and the Kauai Farmacy, a fabulous herbal and medicinal garden store and tour just south of Hanalei. The Surfboard House is a wonderful place to stay in a magical part of Kauai. Thanks Simon!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BandHLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House in the Cowgirl Suite and it felt like home, so comfortable.....we didn't want to leave. Simon was awesome and accommodating. We cooked meals on the patio barbecue, walked to the shops and restaurants in Hanalei, walked to the beach for boogie boarding and relaxing. We had an amazing time and next time we go back to Kauai we will definitely stay at the Hanalei Surfboard House.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheftrick33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

If you are reading this, I assume you have already decided on the north shore of Kauai. Travel reviews are only helpful if you understand the person reviewing, so about us:

Early 30 year old couple on their honey moon.
Have been to O’ahu (north shore and Ko Olina) and Maui (Lahaina)
Enjoy outdoor adventures, relaxing on the beach, long dinners with good wine, happy hour
Don’t like staying in big hotels or condo complexes
Want to be walking distance to restaurants
Want to be walking distance to a peaceful beach
Minimal contact

There are little things and big things about the Hanalei Surfboard House to mention. Let’s start with the big things. The property is better than described or reviewed. Lush, beautiful, perfectly maintained. It is a stones throw from a beautiful uncrowded beach. The main strip of Hanalei is about 5 minutes away (or 8 if you take the nicer back way). The suites are well sized, properly equipped and comfortable. Big bed, strong AC, good Wifi.

Lots of little things can make or break a location. Simon and team have thought of little things you didn’t realize you wanted. When have you ever been to a rental that has ziplock bags? You don’t realize how epic that is, until it’s 5:30am and you are packing for a hike. Or great local shower products, (free) washer and dryer with detergent (how many times have you had to buy an expensive mini container of detergent?) and HIGH QUALITY beach gear. I’m talking those awesome Tommy Bahama beach chairs and one of the best beach umbrellas I’ve ever used.

Simon was prompt and helpful in all of his emails. He was out on an adventure of his own during our stay so Jackie was running the show. She was as awesome in person as Simon was over email. Super friendly and there if you needed her, which is exactly what we look for.

I’d really have to stretch to even suggest something to change. My wife thought some of the art was overly kitsch (I thought it worked), I suppose the (free and easy) parking was a little hard to get out of (onto a street that is almost always empty). Oh! The key kept falling off the keychain. There we go. That’s the only thing I would change. Use better keychains (Jackie said she was already fixing that though).

Seriously, if you are a couple looking to stay in the North Shore, the only reason you wouldn’t stay here is because it’s already been booked. Here’s a 120 video recap of our Kauai adventure:

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews