We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,870)
Filter reviews
1,870 results
Traveller rating
702
751
278
83
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
751
278
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut marketplace ocean front sand bar free dvd rentals parking lot oceanfront room small kitchenette trees lounge overflow parking fridge and microwave third floor general store partial ocean view every morning coffee maker hot tub no elevator
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 1,870 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Very clean. Just right for our stay for a week. Beautiful views and very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient to grocery stores and restaurants. Will come back here to stay again. The bar by the pool is a fun hangout.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoBeamBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha JoBeamBradshaw!

Thank you for staying with us at Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled to hear we were "just right" for your stay on Kauai and I will be sure to let the staff know that you found them friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This resort, although having quite lovely grounds and a good location is quite dated. Rooms seem old, lanai furniture is falling apart with and an old rusty air non-used air conditioner on site. There are no elevators, so those with mobility issues would be disadvantaged. Doors are heavy, and slam loudly, often at all hours. No restaurant on site, but a few take-out, coffee bars etc. nearby.
My thoughts are that having stayed at the nearby Courtyard Marriott, this is a better choice and offers better accommodation and amenities

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carmena16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Aloha Carmena16,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, your feedback is important to me. I will investigate what unit you occupied and will follow up on the lanai furniture. I don't know of any unit that we have a non used air conditioner in but appreciate you letting me know so that I can check that out. We are surrounded by some wonderful restaurants all within walking distance to property but can understand how you might prefer a hotel with one on site. Hope that your travels bring you back to Kauai one day soon.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This place gives you an upscale Hawaii experience but at a cost less than some of the named hotels near by. Good views of the beach and ocean waves. I highly recommend. They were great, helped us with a late check-out without a charge and are close to everything in the nearby town of Kapaa.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank MJantsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Aloha MJantsch!

Thank you for your lovely review and your high recommendation. I am thrilled that we meet your expectations at The Aston Islander on the Beach. I will let the front desk know you appreciated their helpfulness. We would love to welcome you back again one day soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This is a traditional hotel complex with a colonial feel. Each unit has three stories (no lifts) and each room has balconies. Most if not all with have sea views. The property is on the beach which is lovely, but the beach itself is not that accessible for swimming or even walking as it has a steep drop to the sea. Still very pleasant to look at and spend time on.

The rooms are a bit old and dated, but are still charming and very comfortable.

The resort has some great little stores and cafes on the complex and a shopping mall next door, so you have everything you need to hand.
Some nice touches included the DVD free rental and the complimentary coffee from the excellent coffee roasters next door.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Aloha Mary M!

Thank you for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to complete a review! Your feedback is important to me. So happy that you found the room charming and very comfortable and that you enjoyed the DVD rentals and excellent coffee next door. Hope that we can see you back again one day soon. A hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Great spot that is right on the main drag, has plenty of shopping, a grocery store, and nightly events in the common area. Its no resort but has a nice spot on the beach and the rooms are decent. Great spot if you are looking to get out and see the island.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Aloha Myles,

We agree....Aston Islander on the Beach is a great spot! Glad you enjoyed our proximity to the beach, shopping, nightly events and sight seeing around Kauai. Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews