We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$209
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
US$229
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$156
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$250
US$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lae Nani(Kapaa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
688
736
269
83
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
736
269
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut marketplaceocean frontsand barfree dvd rentalsparking lotoceanfront roomfridge and microwavetrees loungeoverflow parkingthird floorsmall kitchenettegeneral storepartial ocean viewevery morninghot tubcoffee makernorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We enjoyed a four-night stay at the Islander on the Beach and can't wait to do it again! We are usually South Shore people and decided to do something a little different prior to heading to Poipu this year... a stay in Kapaa would allow us to explore and enjoy some of the sights and restaurants in that area. New year, new sights, right?

Our room at the Islander was a great surprise. We walked in to a beautifully prepared room with all the amenities of home. The view of the ocean was mesmerizing but you probably already guessed that! The room was nicely decorated and very clean.

We loved having the option of preparing a meal in our comfortable, air conditioned room or heading downstairs to one of the nearby dining places. NOTE: We personally prefer island breezes so didn't really use the AC, but we liked knowing it was there if we needed it. The fridge and microwave were great for all the doggy boxes one of us brought back when we ate out; the little kitchenette was perfect.

The bed was super comfortable so we were able to get a great night's sleep; since our flight did not arrive until about 11 pm and we were coming from the east coast, we needed the rest!

We both enjoyed our lanai, the pool, and walking around the immaculate grounds. We found all personnel we encountered to be extremely pleasant and welcoming.

One night we forgot to place our parking tag on the dashboard. When we approached our car the next morning, we noticed a note. With a little embarrassment, we explained to the very professional and polite security person that we really DID belong there, we had a valid permit -- somewhere. No worries; as we headed to the front desk to get another one, we remembered it was probably in the trunk...

We wandered around the grounds a lot and chatted with other smiling guests. The aloha spirit was alive and well; we were in no hurry to head to Poipu and wished we could've stayed longer. Not sure why it took us so long to do this (creatures of habit, I guess) but we have decided we'll now have to start saying we are Poipu and Islander people; our stay truly was perfect and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We loved being ocean front. Although the property is oceanfront, some buildings are closer to the ocean than others.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d2bkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Aloha d2bkauai!

Mahalo for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to complete our survey! I am thrilled that you have discovered our gem and that we can now refer to you folks as "Islander people". Happy to hear that you found the room beautifully prepared and equipped with everything you needed. I agree those oceanfront views are mesmerizing and if you rise early enough, the sunrise from the lanai is breathtaking. I will be sure to share your positive comments with our teammates. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them as polite, professional, welcoming and pleasant! That is exactly what we are aiming for.... to keep the aloha spirit alive and well!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

A hui hou (until we meet again)!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This stay is memorable for the wrong reasons.

We stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach in March 2018. It was our first stay in an Aston affiliated establishment.

On our second night, sewer water was flowing back in the bathtub of the room, menacing to spill over on the floor. We were reassigned to an alternate room. On our third night, a portion of our alternate room was flooded by an uncontrollable bathroom appliance in the unit directly above ours.

Despite the inconveniences we had to go through, only the plumber had the common sense to apologize for the situation. No apologies were offered by any of the employees at the front desk or any other employee for that matter.

To top it off, the windows of our oceanfront units were somewhat opaque due to either poor maintenance or to inferior quality of the windows and patio door. Humidity seems to have taken residence between the glass panes of the windows, obstructing significantly the view of the ocean.

The maintenance program followed by this hotel is either insufficient or deployed inefficiently to the point of affecting significantly the travelling experience of the clients.

Recommandation: Stay away. This is what we intend to do for this hotel and all the other establishments affiliated to this hotel.


Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tynamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Aloha Tynamy,

I am so sorry to hear about your experience with us and the inconvenience you experienced. The plumber that came to your room that night was our maintenance employee. Could you please contact me at (808) 822-7417? I would love to speak to you personally.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The good: right on the beach; in walking distance to nice restaurants and lots of shops including a Safeway; kitchenette in room (small fridge, microwave and Keurig with Kauai Coffee Company coffee provided daily, plates, cups, silverware, no range or oven); great storage in room: small bureau, drawers in the platform bed and a large armoire with drawers and ample shelf space under the sink in the bathroom; nice bath products provided; comfy bed; a nice balcony with chairs, table and an ocean view; free dvd rentals; pool; lovely grounds; nice staff; close to airport.
The not so good: No elevator, so keep in mind you will have to haul all your luggage up stairs; the room was a little dusty (see photos)--some dust bunnies on the floors, thick coat of dust on the lampshade and headboard. I went and bought Clorox wipes and wiped down everything.
Overall, the staff was very nice and the accommodations were convenient. If you want a more luxurious experience, you may want to consider a resort. If you have never been to Kauai, you should know that the roosters start crowing around 5 am HST. It's a great local wake up call to get up and start enjoying the island.

Room Tip: Request ocean view or ocean front room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha NancyT,

Mahalo for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to complete our survey! Your feedback is important to me and will be used to improve our services. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location, the room and all of the amenities. I will be sure to share with the staff your positive feedback! And I will also share the housekeeping shortcomings with the department manager. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Hotel has exceeded my expectations! Extremely clean, well manicured grounds. Friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel is adjacent to shops and restaurants. There's a great gourmet market, too. Amenities include parking, dvd rentals, coffee, even a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts! The surf is high here, not conducive for swimming. Lygate Beach nearby was filthy! We went 30 minutes south to Poipu Beach, which was great. The room has a mini fridge, microwave, toaster, blender, flatware, dishes, etc.,and sink. A Keurig coffee maker and k-cups provided each day! Loved this place!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank AlexandBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha AlexandBunnie!

Excellent, we exceeded your expectations--that was our goal! Please do come back and see us at The Aston Islander on the Beach soon, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Very clean. Just right for our stay for a week. Beautiful views and very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient to grocery stores and restaurants. Will come back here to stay again. The bar by the pool is a fun hangout.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoBeamBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Aloha JoBeamBradshaw!

Thank you for staying with us at Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled to hear we were "just right" for your stay on Kauai and I will be sure to let the staff know that you found them friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews