We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$239
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$176
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
246
350
126
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
350
126
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenwalking pathocean frontliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationtime shareono family restaurantkoi pondwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Had a great time in this timeshare exchange. It's located on the east shore and its 30 minutes north or south from all the other great areas. Their staff was great in providing sugestions and big discounts for outings. We snorkled, zip-lined, tubing etc. Had something fun to do everyday. There is beach access in front of the resort, but there is a bikepath that can take you to one or a short drive.

The units had fully stocked kitchens, living rooms, balcony's. We had trouble with our bed, but the staff fixed it right away.

Would love to go back to this resort again,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berniek1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the Pono Kai the week of March 3rd to the 10th. The week was very stormy but we still enjoyed our stay. The unit met our expectations. It was very clean and the staff was wonderful. Very important - the bed was very comfortable.

We found the location perfect for travelling either South or North. There are wonderful beaches within 10 minutes (driving). There are lots of great restaurants and grocery stores minutes away.

It is like day and night going from the street in Kapaa to the path that runs along the ocean front. Wonderful.

The staff was right on top of the island floods and warned us to stay in our rooms to stay out of danger. We appreciated their concern.

Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was the first time we used our Global Connections vacation package. We booked 2 weeks in Hawaii and the Pono Kai was the second place we stayed at. Our condo was beautiful. It was a one bedroom and was right next to the beach. The condo was very nice and clean. We saw so many humpback whales from our patio and while walking on the beach than we did on a whale watching tour we took on the Big Island. The couples massage on the beach was outstanding. The pool at the Pono Kai is very nice and we loved the herb garden. The concierge was so helpful. We went ziplining, did the mudbuggy ATV tour, helicopter tour. There is so much to do and we are definitely coming back! You absolutely cannot beat the view we had from the grilling area! The sunrises from our patio were so beautiful. You could walk down the beach path and enjoy the ocean or walk along on the street side and visit little shops or restaurants. The poolside chair massage was great. Wish we were back there! We would definitely stay at the Pono Kai again, only the next time for 2 whole weeks! We really miss the hot tub while gazing up at the stars!

Room Tip: The room we had on the beach side was wonderful. The only concern was being close to the beach path. But when we were there, we had the doors open and just locked them at night and while we were gone. We did not have any problems and everyone walking on the path were very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I love this place! Super clean, beautiful grounds, excellent location -I didn't want to leave. I am going back in a few days. It is close to the town area where you can walk to eat and shop. Perfect for when you are tired of sitting in traffic. It is also next to the new sidewalk that runs along the coast. Bike rental places within walking distance. Our room was really clean and the staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurazina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This, I was told, was the only 2 bedroom 2 bath rental available on Kauai, by a rental company for Feb 18-25. I was desperate,since my tmeshare trading company did not deliver as promised, and took it for $2500 for one week. I was told by the rental company counselor that she had stayed there and it was nice. I got an ocean front owners unit for that price--beautiful view. I also got a dated unit with old furniture, a filthy refrigerator(inside and out which I scrubbed) filled with previous renters food, a stove with aluminum foil covered burners to hide the stains, chipped counters in kitchen, ants in the cabinets, a dining room with food splattered walls, filthy carpeting, NO AIR CONDTIONING, a front door lock which didn't work, a wiggling toilet. tile in the entrance, kitchen and bathrooms which was wearing thru, dated bathrooms, doors and walls throughout with scratches, gouges, food marks and holes, ants in the bedroom which got into our clothing, no mid week cleaning, threadbare towels, cold unheated swimming pool, squeaky ceiling fan in living room, heard every move of renters above us--and they were quiet people.....shall I continue?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jameswife91397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews