We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pono Kai in Kauai - 2 Bedroom With Loft”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The property was decent, and the rooms are average. We were on the go most of the time so didn't mind the average-ness of this place. We had an ocean-view room which was nice - we were spotting whales from the balcony on our last day. This place is in Kapaa which is nice, but almost all of our activities were not near by - we wish we would've stayed in Poipu. However there is bike rental place next door with a nice easy bike trail along the coast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 513 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

Had a great time in this timeshare exchange. It's located on the east shore and its 30 minutes north or south from all the other great areas. Their staff was great in providing sugestions and big discounts for outings. We snorkled, zip-lined, tubing etc. Had something fun to do everyday. There is beach access in front of the resort, but there is a bikepath that can take you to one or a short drive.

The units had fully stocked kitchens, living rooms, balcony's. We had trouble with our bed, but the staff fixed it right away.

Would love to go back to this resort again,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berniek1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the Pono Kai the week of March 3rd to the 10th. The week was very stormy but we still enjoyed our stay. The unit met our expectations. It was very clean and the staff was wonderful. Very important - the bed was very comfortable.

We found the location perfect for travelling either South or North. There are wonderful beaches within 10 minutes (driving). There are lots of great restaurants and grocery stores minutes away.

It is like day and night going from the street in Kapaa to the path that runs along the ocean front. Wonderful.

The staff was right on top of the island floods and warned us to stay in our rooms to stay out of danger. We appreciated their concern.

Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was the first time we used our Global Connections vacation package. We booked 2 weeks in Hawaii and the Pono Kai was the second place we stayed at. Our condo was beautiful. It was a one bedroom and was right next to the beach. The condo was very nice and clean. We saw so many humpback whales from our patio and while walking on the beach than we did on a whale watching tour we took on the Big Island. The couples massage on the beach was outstanding. The pool at the Pono Kai is very nice and we loved the herb garden. The concierge was so helpful. We went ziplining, did the mudbuggy ATV tour, helicopter tour. There is so much to do and we are definitely coming back! You absolutely cannot beat the view we had from the grilling area! The sunrises from our patio were so beautiful. You could walk down the beach path and enjoy the ocean or walk along on the street side and visit little shops or restaurants. The poolside chair massage was great. Wish we were back there! We would definitely stay at the Pono Kai again, only the next time for 2 whole weeks! We really miss the hot tub while gazing up at the stars!

Room Tip: The room we had on the beach side was wonderful. The only concern was being close to the beach path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I love this place! Super clean, beautiful grounds, excellent location -I didn't want to leave. I am going back in a few days. It is close to the town area where you can walk to eat and shop. Perfect for when you are tired of sitting in traffic. It is also next to the new sidewalk that runs along the coast. Bike rental places within walking distance. Our room was really clean and the staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurazina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
7.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.6 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
360 reviews
2.0 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.8 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: RM778 - RM1,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing