We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2ND TRIP BACK & JUST AS GOOD!”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We love the Pono Kai! It is centrally located with easy access to go North or South! The grounds are immaculate and the tennis courts just got a face lift. The staff is always welcoming and friendly. The rooms are always clean and tidy, a bit outdated but clean and they are very roomy. We do not really spend much time in the room, so we don't need all the bells and whistles you may have at other resorts. Yes the floors may creek but your in Hawaii, your burning daylight, get out of bed and stop complaining about the squeaky floors! We stayed in K103 and did not hear noise from above as other indicate in reviews. The bike path along the ocean is right there and although there isn't a "swimming" beach, there is beach area you can walk along. Stores are very close by which is convenient. If I had to make one complaint, it would the pillows, they are very flat and not comfortable at all, but the beds aren't bad. If you're looking for something to do on your trip, take a dog out on a field trip for the day from the Kauai Humane Society, they would appreciate it! Oh and stop by the activity desk, Cyrus is such a great guy and he'll help you plan things to do! We will back again in February for our third trip to Pono Kai and can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort and return visit. While our vacation rental company does not manage the exact condo you stayed in, we appreciate your honest review and repeat visits to the Pono Kai Resort. The oceanfront bike path you mention is a great route for guests to explore while visiting!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Pono Kai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2014

Wife and I took son and his fiance to Hawaii on vacation. Went to Kauai for the first week. Boththe Iiland and this resort are simply beautiful. The resort is very convenient, within close walking distance to old town Kapa'a.

Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and grounds. We will stay there again if we go back to Hawaii. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom condo in Building E on 3rd floor. Every morning I was up early for the gorgeous sunrise view from our balcony, and several evenings we sat out for the super moon. Our room seemed to be newly remodeled, kitchen, carpet and furniture were clean. Many grills on site for cooking and kitchen has everything you would need. Only issue was bedroom would stay very warm while living area was cool, so ended up using the pull out couch. It was HOT in September in Kapaa, so it was really nice to have an AC.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GoLobos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a nice place to stay with some caveats. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in building J at the end of August. This resort seems to have many older, retired visitors, although we saw visitors of all ages throughout our stay.

Pros:
-Centrally located resort for easy access to entire island. 1-1.5hr max to either end of island.
-Nice, modern, spacious accommodations (did not find our apartment dated like some other reviewers stated) with one major caveat (see below).
-Friendly, attentive and helpful staff (24 hour front desk).
-Fully equipped and stocked kitchen, very nice kitchen layout (minor caveat below).
-AC and overhead fan in living room, fan in bedroom.
-Pool and hot tub (though pool is rather small and gets heavily used).
-Nice garden of Hawaiian tropical plants and landscaping on the grounds.
-Store and concierge service on site to help you plan your trips on the island, rent snorkeling gear (for much cheaper than many other places).

Cons:
-Floors screech like crazy! The people above my bedroom get up really early and as a result, so do I! This is pretty annoying as I am on vacation and like to be able to wake up when I choose to rather than being awoken every morning by the people upstairs. (They do not do anything out of the ordinary, just walk around, so I do not blame them in any way, but I blame the design of the building!).
-No swimming beach within walking distance. We love getting up in the morning and taking a walk to and dip on the beach. The beach here has strong currents and high waves, so is not for swimming (there are 2 swimming beaches within a 5-10 minute drive).
-Paid wi-fi in unit that does not always work. Free wi-fi in lobby. Wi-fi should really be FREE in room in this type of resort!! And if you have to pay for it, it should at least work reliably!
-The bedroom faces the parking lot, so you probably won't be able to or won't want to open the window. Our living room faced the garden and had a much nicer view.
-The sink in the bathroom is VERY low, like it was designed for people who are 5 feet tall. I am 5'5'' and found it a slight annoyance. A person of 6 feet would probably find it much more so.
-A very minor thing - there is a lovely, Hawaiian herb garden on the grounds, which the visitors can use, but there are no signs to identify the plants, and as a newcomer to the island, I have no idea what I should try and how. Would be nice if they provided some information.
-Another very minor thing that again could be easily fixed - they only provide salt, pepper and coffee, as well as some sugar packets, tea bags and creamer. We stayed in similar type accommodations in Maui and got way more condiments, including a variety of seasonings in small packets.
-Parking is right outside building and is free, but there is no shade whatsoever, so your car can heat to 100F or higher unless you leave really early in the morning! It would be nice if they built some sort of canopy or planted some tres that could provide at least some partial shade for at least a part of the parking area.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B and C have ocean views. If you stay on the third floor of any of the buildings, you w...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Carabiniero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Pono Kai Resort was great. The check in and out process was great. The staff were friendly and informative. The one bedroom unit we had was clean and comfortable.

The pool and barbecue areas were great.

The location for walks on the beach path and being near town is plus. Morning walks on the path were great. Also nice to be able to walk to town for shopping, browsing and meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
7.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,335 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.6 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
354 reviews
2.0 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.3 km away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: RM722 - RM1,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing