We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
246
350
126
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
350
126
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenwalking pathocean frontliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationtime shareono family restaurantkoi pondwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Wife and I took son and his fiance to Hawaii on vacation. Went to Kauai for the first week. Boththe Iiland and this resort are simply beautiful. The resort is very convenient, within close walking distance to old town Kapa'a.

Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and grounds. We will stay there again if we go back to Hawaii. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom condo in Building E on 3rd floor. Every morning I was up early for the gorgeous sunrise view from our balcony, and several evenings we sat out for the super moon. Our room seemed to be newly remodeled, kitchen, carpet and furniture were clean. Many grills on site for cooking and kitchen has everything you would need. Only issue was bedroom would stay very warm while living area was cool, so ended up using the pull out couch. It was HOT in September in Kapaa, so it was really nice to have an AC.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GoLobos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a nice place to stay with some caveats. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in building J at the end of August. This resort seems to have many older, retired visitors, although we saw visitors of all ages throughout our stay.

Pros:
-Centrally located resort for easy access to entire island. 1-1.5hr max to either end of island.
-Nice, modern, spacious accommodations (did not find our apartment dated like some other reviewers stated) with one major caveat (see below).
-Friendly, attentive and helpful staff (24 hour front desk).
-Fully equipped and stocked kitchen, very nice kitchen layout (minor caveat below).
-AC and overhead fan in living room, fan in bedroom.
-Pool and hot tub (though pool is rather small and gets heavily used).
-Nice garden of Hawaiian tropical plants and landscaping on the grounds.
-Store and concierge service on site to help you plan your trips on the island, rent snorkeling gear (for much cheaper than many other places).

Cons:
-Floors screech like crazy! The people above my bedroom get up really early and as a result, so do I! This is pretty annoying as I am on vacation and like to be able to wake up when I choose to rather than being awoken every morning by the people upstairs. (They do not do anything out of the ordinary, just walk around, so I do not blame them in any way, but I blame the design of the building!).
-No swimming beach within walking distance. We love getting up in the morning and taking a walk to and dip on the beach. The beach here has strong currents and high waves, so is not for swimming (there are 2 swimming beaches within a 5-10 minute drive).
-Paid wi-fi in unit that does not always work. Free wi-fi in lobby. Wi-fi should really be FREE in room in this type of resort!! And if you have to pay for it, it should at least work reliably!
-The bedroom faces the parking lot, so you probably won't be able to or won't want to open the window. Our living room faced the garden and had a much nicer view.
-The sink in the bathroom is VERY low, like it was designed for people who are 5 feet tall. I am 5'5'' and found it a slight annoyance. A person of 6 feet would probably find it much more so.
-A very minor thing - there is a lovely, Hawaiian herb garden on the grounds, which the visitors can use, but there are no signs to identify the plants, and as a newcomer to the island, I have no idea what I should try and how. Would be nice if they provided some information.
-Another very minor thing that again could be easily fixed - they only provide salt, pepper and coffee, as well as some sugar packets, tea bags and creamer. We stayed in similar type accommodations in Maui and got way more condiments, including a variety of seasonings in small packets.
-Parking is right outside building and is free, but there is no shade whatsoever, so your car can heat to 100F or higher unless you leave really early in the morning! It would be nice if they built some sort of canopy or planted some tres that could provide at least some partial shade for at least a part of the parking area.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B and C have ocean views. If you stay on the third floor of any of the buildings, you will not be bothered by the screeching floor of your neighbors upstairs, but your room will probably get much hotter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Carabiniero8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Pono Kai Resort was great. The check in and out process was great. The staff were friendly and informative. The one bedroom unit we had was clean and comfortable.

The pool and barbecue areas were great.

The location for walks on the beach path and being near town is plus. Morning walks on the path were great. Also nice to be able to walk to town for shopping, browsing and meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Relative who found this availability on internet didn't realize this was a privately owned unit rather than "time share". Desk folks weren't very helpful since it wasn't booked through them.

The furnishings were tasteful; a lovely unit per se. It was immediately obvious that "problems" such as broken closet door were not taken care of by whomever. The price per day seemed quite high as did the cleaning fee.

The grounds were well kept. The pool was clean.

Our previous time there was as a time share; I think we would have preferred that.

Room Tip: Second and third floors have less noise. No air conditioning. Usually a nice breeze. Ocean view was nice. (This was not a hotel; it was two bedroom condo.)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MissyMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Mahalo for your review and glad to hear that you found the condo and grounds very nice. You are correct that a majority of the condos at the Pono Kai are timeshares managed through the front desk. Some privately owned condos are rented out by owners or management companies like ours. I am not sure if you stayed in one of our managed condos, but we pay close attention to any maintenance issues in the condos to assure everything is comfortable, clean, and in working order for our guests. We will also send out repair personnel promptly if needed. For future stays, I encourage you to look on your confirmation email or placard in the living room on who you can call for any questions while in your condo.

We hope to see you again at the Pono Kai Resort in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews