We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pono Kai Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$239
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$176
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
245
349
126
54
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
349
126
54
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherb gardenputting greenwalking pathocean frontliving roomthe kitchenvacation internationaletennis courtsbuilding btimeshare exchangeevery other dayshuffle boardisland orientationtime shareono family restaurantkoi pondwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2009

While the room was dated and we had a few minor repairs that were needed during our stay (slow drain and disposal clogged which were fixed very quickly), the room met our needs quite nicely. We wanted to be close to the water for our three kids (16, 12 and 8). They loved playing in the surf and the location on the East Side village of Kapa'a was convenient to the entire island. The grounds were well taken care of with grills and picnic tables available as well as a nice pool/hot tub close by.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The Pono Kai staff was very helpful while we were here. They do try to push certain tours and activitities but you are not required to sign up through them. We found the kayak tour and the movie tour they recommended to be well worth the money but the Kilohana Luau to not be worth the rather pricey charge (the show was great but the food was mediocre). Pono Kai itself has very spacious rooms; the staff keeps them clean and in good repair. Plenty of amenities and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, dishes, glasses, etc. We slept very soundly every night although it should be noted the rooms are not quite as sound proof as one might hope. Parking is good, and they're located right next to the historic portion of Kapaa Village so there's lots of little shops and bristos to visit. A long (3 mile) bicycle/jogger pathway runs along the ocean starting near the Pno Kai and heading north. We had a great time and would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KauaiTrip0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Overall, Pono Kai was very good not excellent. The beach has eroded to the point that a orange safety net is between the resort and the ocean. Therefore, all oceanfront views have this orange barrier in front of the ocean view. Condos were clean and in very good condition. My only pet peeve was internet access; you pay for it ($40 per week). Also, you have to pay to get printouts of your return home airplane boarding passes (cost is $4 to $13 depending upon your computer experience). The computer crashed as I was using it. Most places we have stayed printed out our boarding passes for free. This was ticky-tacky. Watch for other ways to squeeze you for more money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

This is an older, but well maintained resort. The unit was a decent size; furnishings were old and worn, but clean. The kitchen and bathroom fixtures were also old, but again very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The lanai was small with plastic furniture, but there was enough room for the five of us to sit out there and the oceanfront view from Building D was gorgeous. Whether or not you like the location depends on what you like to do on vacation. It’s not a resort you would want to spend all of your time at, but it is centrally located to other Kauai sights, and the town is right there if you are interested in shopping or going out at night. I would have no problem recommending this resort as long as it is understood that this is great place to crash as opposed to your vacation destination in paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JerseyTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed at the Marc Pono Kai in B101 from March 13-23/09. It was a dirty, dingy hodge podge of a suite where everything seemed damaged or worn out. Our suite was on the ground floor with broken windows and no lock on our son's bedroom window. The wind would blow the broken shutters open so we had to keep them closed alot. When we asked to be re-situated elsewhere we were told to suck it up. We paid top dollar for beach access accomodation for our family but the beach was cordoned off with orange plastic fencing. We noticed many pages of the guest book had been torn out with only favorable reviews left inside. The bedding was cheap gray poly/cotton and pillows were cheap stained and smelly. The patio table looked like someone had put a fist through it.

The path out front was nice and we liked the little town of Kapaa. As well, the grounds weren't bad with a pretty koi pond. This unit was spacious but needs gutting and updating with attention to better safety and comfort. Save your money and check out a unit managed by another resort company or another resort altogether. Staff were okay and I don't think they should be blamed for poor quality. They didn't buy the sheets etc.

To the owners of this unit: you're not fit to be in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crhmaui, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

It's very unfortunate that Marc Resorts neglected to care for their units and their guests at the Pono Kai. We as the new management company have taken the initiative to turn things around by doing thing the right way. At CRH, we take pride in providing high quality customer service and cleanliness; something we've been doing for the past 26 years in business. We invite all previous guests to come back and experience the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews