We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interval International Timeshare Exchangers Beware!”
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2009

If you have kind family/friends offering an exchange of their timeshare, DO NOT choose Pono Kai for that exchange. After reading reviews on here, I anticipated issues and lowered my expectations but we still shortened our stay -- having already shortened it at the beginning, we left a night early after arriving. For four early mornings of our honeymoon, we were rudely awakened by the slamming doors and loud yells of children staying in the unit across from us, the loud scamper of them down the hall outside our bedroom window, roosters all over the grounds who had no sense of time and crowed at all hours (typical in Kauai but not a problem at the other place we stayed) and the ultimate cringe factor: creaks from the bed in the unit above us. In addition to the very thin walls/ceilings, the only friendly face we encountered was the concierge who greeted us after check-in. Her colleague behind the counter called us "no shows" because we arrived on the third of seven nights reserved...guess the receptionist answering the phones on the Sunday morning before our stay neglected to inform her of my phone call notifying them that we would be late arrivals. We were annoyed by the $2.50 per day charge to use the safe and unimpressed by the orange fencing and warning signs scattered along the beach outside our balcony. Bed was hard, shower leaked...I could go on. Ultimately, if you are going to travel to Kauai: stay near Princeville on the north side or Poipu on the south...not east-side Kapaa that only offers a strip of cheap shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sleeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 628 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

While the room was dated and we had a few minor repairs that were needed during our stay (slow drain and disposal clogged which were fixed very quickly), the room met our needs quite nicely. We wanted to be close to the water for our three kids (16, 12 and 8). They loved playing in the surf and the location on the East Side village of Kapa'a was convenient to the entire island. The grounds were well taken care of with grills and picnic tables available as well as a nice pool/hot tub close by.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

The Pono Kai staff was very helpful while we were here. They do try to push certain tours and activitities but you are not required to sign up through them. We found the kayak tour and the movie tour they recommended to be well worth the money but the Kilohana Luau to not be worth the rather pricey charge (the show was great but the food was mediocre). Pono Kai itself has very spacious rooms; the staff keeps them clean and in good repair. Plenty of amenities and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, dishes, glasses, etc. We slept very soundly every night although it should be noted the rooms are not quite as sound proof as one might hope. Parking is good, and they're located right next to the historic portion of Kapaa Village so there's lots of little shops and bristos to visit. A long (3 mile) bicycle/jogger pathway runs along the ocean starting near the Pno Kai and heading north. We had a great time and would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KauaiTrip0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Overall, Pono Kai was very good not excellent. The beach has eroded to the point that a orange safety net is between the resort and the ocean. Therefore, all oceanfront views have this orange barrier in front of the ocean view. Condos were clean and in very good condition. My only pet peeve was internet access; you pay for it ($40 per week). Also, you have to pay to get printouts of your return home airplane boarding passes (cost is $4 to $13 depending upon your computer experience). The computer crashed as I was using it. Most places we have stayed printed out our boarding passes for free. This was ticky-tacky. Watch for other ways to squeeze you for more money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

This is an older, but well maintained resort. The unit was a decent size; furnishings were old and worn, but clean. The kitchen and bathroom fixtures were also old, but again very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The lanai was small with plastic furniture, but there was enough room for the five of us to sit out there and the oceanfront view from Building D was gorgeous. Whether or not you like the location depends on what you like to do on vacation. It’s not a resort you would want to spend all of your time at, but it is centrally located to other Kauai sights, and the town is right there if you are interested in shopping or going out at night. I would have no problem recommending this resort as long as it is understood that this is great place to crash as opposed to your vacation destination in paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JerseyTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
7.3 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
2.5 km away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.6 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
359 reviews
2.0 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.8 km away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1658
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: RM777 - RM1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing