We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveller rating
376
349
172
70
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
349
172
70
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaile winglydgate parkstate parkwailua bayresort feeopen air lobbybeach matsthe cottagesfree breakfastpublic beachclose to the airporthotel lobbyhot tubfront desk stafffree mai taiocean viewmai tais
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We were impressed with this property from the time we arrived until the (much too soon) time we checked out. The staff is so friendly and always helpful. They were responsive to all of our needs. The room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The central location allows easy access to all attractions. The proximity to Lydgate State Park was great for snorkeling even though the weather wasn't perfect during our stay. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Kauai! We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank SOKI_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Just back from a WONDERFUL stay at Hilton Wailua Bay.The staff was courteous, friendly and professional. The grounds and room were exceptionally clean and understated. The activities were abundant in the immediate area. By staying just on the outskirts of all the traffic, we felt relaxed. A well run property that checked every box. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank SL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Room was stuffy with water damaged wall. Kids found 2 cockroaches within 5 minutes we entered the room (one near coffee maker and another one on the desk with hotel directory). We got a different room eventually but not before the front desk offered to send someone to spray the room. View and location is great, but after staying at a couple different places on the island at similar price range with good view and location (and those other places included kitchen plus free laundry), I feel that Hilton Garden Inn at Kauai needs some improvement to meet 3.5 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Coastal561320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We chose this hotel based on the location and ease of exploring the island. When we travel, a hotel is a place to sleep - we don't spend any time there. That being said, this was a comfortable home base for our stay on Kauai. It's located on the east side of the island, which makes it ideal for trips north or south since you cannot drive completely around the island. This was key for our stay!

The hotel itself was very nice and updated, with all the amenities you could need. They even have beach towels in every room to borrow for your stay. My only complaint would be how damp the room was - things didn't dry too well, even overnight. But hey, Kauai is a humid place!

The breakfast buffet was pretty good, particularly if you get the early bird special pricing from 6:30-7:30. Drinks at the bar are tasty and quite strong!

Like other reviewers mentioned, due to the storms this past spring the beach at the hotel is virtually unusable due to the amount of debris and trees that washed up. However, Lydgate park is right next door to the hotel and is undergoing continuous community clean-up so it's a nice alternative.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay. Given the updated rooms and location on the island, we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My family stayed for one night at the Hilton after we arrived late one evening from LA and prior to a one week stay at the Westin.

The hotel is conveniently located several miles from the Lihue airport. The lobby is open like many Hawaiian hotels although provided no view of the nearby ocean.

Check in was quick and the woman who served us was friendly.

The room itself was quite spacious with two comfortable queen beds, a sofa bed and other amenities including a small fridge and microwave as well as a Keurig coffee maker.

One nuisance was that you had to make sure to close the door to the room since it would not do so automatically like in most hotels. After coming back from dinner we realized we had not closed the door completely.

We did not eat breakfast in the hotel since we chose rather to eat at a local place nearby for a more authentic Hawaiian feel.

The cost of the room was almost $300 a night not including taxes and resort fees which unfortunately is the going rate in this area at that time of year. We were able to use a gift certificate and get the resort fee waived so for us the price was right.

The Hilton is not a fancy high end hotel like some of the other hotels on the island but for us it was perfect since we needed a comfortable room to sleep for the night before heading out on the next leg of our Kauai vacation.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank SirTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews