We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palmwood
Nearby Hotels
US$480
US$384
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$750
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$349
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
144
11
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
11
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper suiteoutdoor kitchenwest roomeach morninghot tubbed and breakfastb bslower roomsearly excursionfresh local ingredientsstayed for nightsloved the outdoor showerour favorite mealchain hotelcelebrate our year anniversarywonderful hostsbbq area
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We spend 3 nights at The Palmwood and wish we could have stayed more. The setting is so quiet and serene. The room was excellent. We stayed in the Upper Suite and loved getting the cross breeze through the windows up there.
Eddi is a wonderful host. The breakfast she provides in the morning are excellent, and she makes something different every morning.
We loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Best view and nice breeze in the Upper Suite
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We had high hopes for the Palmwood after reading reviews and looking at other options. We couldn't have been happier. The house, rooms, and surroundings are spectacular and can't be summed up in photos. It's quiet and serene, and the natural setting is what you'd expect from Kauai.

We stayed in the upper room. We had an unobstructed view of the sunrise over the hillside every morning without getting out of bed and spent each night watching the stars come out from our private balcony. We also had massages on-site arranged by their very responsive concierge.

We started every day sitting quietly by the pool with a cup of Eddi's amazing coffee followed by a daily gourmet (and gluten free) surprise at the breakfast table. Mychael gave us consistently solid and local recommendations for food and how to plan our excursions around the forecast.

Thanks for a wonderful stay! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in and loved the upstairs room. Private balcony, sunrise views from bed!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 8 nights at the Palmwood - we were actually married on the grounds!

The host, Eddie, is amazing!!! She makes the most amazing breakfast every day. She is gracious and has created a welcoming, luxurious, comfortable environment.

The property is amazing. If you are looking for peace and beauty - this is your place! We stayed in the East suite. We loved getting in the hot tub and relaxing on the lanai after a day of adventures. With only 3 rooms, you will feel like you own the place.

The outdoor kitchen was great. We really enjoyed quiet evenings grilling fish and making fresh salads from the local farmers markets. There is also a beautiful fire pit for the cool Kauai evenings.

If we ever go back to Kauai - We would never stay anywhere but the Palmwood!

If you are smart - u will not jump from hotel to hotel - and spend your entire baca here! It is a great location to go to both the north and south side of the island (not that big of an island).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We chose a high-end B&B specifically because we were looking for excellent hospitality. Our interactions with the host Michael left us cold and feeling quite unwelcome. We never saw or interacted with the owner, Eddy, but heard from locals she is the heart and soul of that place and is the one you want to deal with.

Bottom line: beautiful grounds, nice rooms, breakfasts decent enough, very peaceful. Somewhat central if you want to visit north and south island but not have to change accommodations. We are definitely not going back and will not recommend this place to friends due to the terrible experience re service. Too many other good options on the island to tolerate rude service.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank undercoverangel_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thepalmwood, Owner at The Palmwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Aloha! It is quite disheartening to read your review. At The Palmwood it is of the utmost importance that we provide great service, a relaxing and beautiful sanctuary, as well as a personalized Kauai experience to all guests who pass through our doors. The Palmwood isn't for everybody, and on the rare occasion that we may not be the right accommodation or feel we will fall short in the eyes of certain guests, we are open to helping them find alternative places to stay. We would rather you find something more suited for your particular taste than subject our staff and the other guests (staying with us) to any sort of negativity. Again, we wish for all our guests to have the most memorable and positive experience possible when in our care.

We’ve taken note of what you’ve written, but as long as reviews such as yours continue to be outliers, we will keep on doing exactly what we have done for the last 10 years––provide a premiere and one-of-a-kind venue on the island of Kauai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Looking to have a nice quite visit to Kauai, my wife and I chose to stay at The Palmwood. We chose wisely. Small and secluded with beautiful views it was just what we needed.

We stayed in the East Room. It was cozy and comfortable and had one of the most luxurious beds I've ever slept on. The grounds are beautiful. Lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy the tranquil surroundings.

Michael and Eddy were wonderful hosts. Friendly and welcoming, but never intrusive. The daily breakfasts were truly exceptional. Fresh local ingredients prepared creatively. We were there for five days and never had the same thing twice.

There are a couple of things to consider if you decide to stay here. First, most dining and activity's are a 30 plus minute drive away. Given that the drive is almost always beautiful, this was not that big of a deal for us.

Then there's the roosters. There are a lot them in the valley surrounding the inn. They make a lot of noise. You will get used to it. It did not diminish our stay.

If you want to experience Kauai in the most relaxing way possible The Palmwood is definitely the place you want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews