We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Dreamy Getaway”
Review of The Palmwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palmwood
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilauea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Having never been to Hawaii before, I was overwhelmed with figuring out where to stay and what to see. I stumbled upon The Palmwood's Instagram and immediately fell in love with the scenery of Kauai. This is hands-down the most romantic and relaxing B&B you could ask for. Host Eddi treated us to delicious and filling breakfasts that easily accommodated my needs for gluten and dairy-free. She gave us the best tips about where to adventure and what to avoid. We stayed in the Upper Suite which had an unbeatable view of the valley and mountains. If you are looking to enjoy Hawaii off the beaten-path, this is the perfect place to host your adventure.

Room Tip: The Upper Room includes the entire upper floor with a private bathroom and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aaasum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We spend 3 nights at The Palmwood and wish we could have stayed more. The setting is so quiet and serene. The room was excellent. We stayed in the Upper Suite and loved getting the cross breeze through the windows up there.
Eddi is a wonderful host. The breakfast she provides in the morning are excellent, and she makes something different every morning.
We loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Best view and nice breeze in the Upper Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We had high hopes for the Palmwood after reading reviews and looking at other options. We couldn't have been happier. The house, rooms, and surroundings are spectacular and can't be summed up in photos. It's quiet and serene, and the natural setting is what you'd expect from Kauai.

We stayed in the upper room. We had an unobstructed view of the sunrise over the hillside every morning without getting out of bed and spent each night watching the stars come out from our private balcony. We also had massages on-site arranged by their very responsive concierge.

We started every day sitting quietly by the pool with a cup of Eddi's amazing coffee followed by a daily gourmet (and gluten free) surprise at the breakfast table. Mychael gave us consistently solid and local recommendations for food and how to plan our excursions around the forecast.

Thanks for a wonderful stay! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in and loved the upstairs room. Private balcony, sunrise views from bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 8 nights at the Palmwood - we were actually married on the grounds!

The host, Eddie, is amazing!!! She makes the most amazing breakfast every day. She is gracious and has created a welcoming, luxurious, comfortable environment.

The property is amazing. If you are looking for peace and beauty - this is your place! We stayed in the East suite. We loved getting in the hot tub and relaxing on the lanai after a day of adventures. With only 3 rooms, you will feel like you own the place.

The outdoor kitchen was great. We really enjoyed quiet evenings grilling fish and making fresh salads from the local farmers markets. There is also a beautiful fire pit for the cool Kauai evenings.

If we ever go back to Kauai - We would never stay anywhere but the Palmwood!

If you are smart - u will not jump from hotel to hotel - and spend your entire baca here! It is a great location to go to both the north and south side of the island (not that big of an island).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We chose a high-end B&B specifically because we were looking for excellent hospitality. Our interactions with the host Michael left us cold and feeling quite unwelcome. We never saw or interacted with the owner, Eddy, but heard from locals she is the heart and soul of that place and is the one you want to deal with.

Bottom line: beautiful grounds, nice rooms, breakfasts decent enough, very peaceful. Somewhat central if you want to visit north and south island but not have to change accommodations. We are definitely not going back and will not recommend this place to friends due to the terrible experience re service. Too many other good options on the island to tolerate rude service.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank undercoverangel_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thepalmwood, Owner at The Palmwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Aloha! It is quite disheartening to read your review. At The Palmwood it is of the utmost importance that we provide great service, a relaxing and beautiful sanctuary, as well as a personalized Kauai experience to all guests who pass through our doors. The Palmwood isn't for everybody, and on the rare occasion that we may not be the right accommodation or feel we will fall short in the eyes of certain guests, we are open to helping them find alternative places to stay. We would rather you find something more suited for your particular taste than subject our staff and the other guests (staying with us) to any sort of negativity. Again, we wish for all our guests to have the most memorable and positive experience possible when in our care.

We’ve taken note of what you’ve written, but as long as reviews such as yours continue to be outliers, we will keep on doing exactly what we have done for the last 10 years––provide a premiere and one-of-a-kind venue on the island of Kauai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilauea
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmwood

Address: 6867 Koolau Road, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilauea
Price Range: RM1,485 - RM1,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palmwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Palmwood Hotel Kilauea
The Palmwood Kauai, HI - Kilauea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing