We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#103A from John & Janis Zilah -- Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #17 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I just completed and 11 day stay in Kauai at 4 destinations. John and Janis's unit #103A at Poipu shores was one of our favorite destinations - not just on this trip but in all the Hawaiian Islands.
The unit is on the first floor. Unlike most places, the first floor units at Poipu Shores are the most sought after (I know I compared real estate prices here). For the first floor one can walk out right to the pool or the beach.
The unit itself is very large - 2 nice size bedrooms with laundry and a full kitchen. If one closes the shades during the day (that is when you're not enjoying the view) it stays very cool. The Master bedroom has air-conditioning that we never bothered to use. The main bedroom has a King-Size bed that's very comfortable.
Within the first 14 hours of our stay, we saw a large pod of dolphins, sea turtles, and a seal. During the rest of our stay we saw only a couple of sea turtles so I'm not sure how John arranged the wildlife show during the beginning of our stay.
The rooms are 'quiet' - I put that in quotes because it's quiet from humans. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks can be loud. We loved the sound so much we didn't dare turn on the air conditioning, instead we opted to sleep with the windows open.I think it's possible to stay closer to the water. One could stay on a boat or a submarine.
The nearby Poipu beach is excellent. Poipu is an excellent location for exploring the western part of the island and Waimea Canyon. We stayed in a highly-rated B&B in the western part of the Island but didn't like it 1/2 as much as we enjoyed Poipu Shores.
After Poipu Shores, we checked into the Hyatt where I had a couple of free nights. I loved the Hyatt but 2 days of the busy resort was quite enough. However, I would have preferred to stay longer at Poipu shores.

Room Tip: Do a private rental so you know what room you're getting. Go to flipkey (by tripadvisor) and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sand_ca_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Poipu Shores with all its ocean front rooms offers quite a view. We will always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Poipu Shores Unit 202B. Absolutely AWESOME! I can't think of a more enjoyable, tranquil, place on this whole earth. This ocean front unit is perfectly located directly off the parking lot, NO STAIRS but rests on the 2nd floor ocean side that boasts stunning views of the blue pacific, lazy palms, and sea life abound. The heated pool just below and to the right, is perfect and a must for anyone that would like to escape everyday life for rest and relaxation. The pounding surf, the ocean wildlife, is in itself a treasure rarely available to anyone let alone right outside 3 sliding doors and an expansive lanai.

Owner Tarak, has done a nice job keeping this unit comfortable and up to date. He has it well stocked with beach gear and towels for your use, a real plus. He was a pleasure to conduct business with, very easy going and eager to accommodate.

We are planning another trip back to beautiful Poipu, Kauai next year. Give yourselves a real treat, stay at this condo, you will not be sorry that you did. Totally memorable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay here at Poipu Shores Resort. I sincerely hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy our property and all the Kauai has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We rented #106A from John and Janis through www. kauaibeachfrontcondo.com I can not say enough good things about our experience with Janis and their condo #106A. First off the condo is newly remodeled and prof.decorated with local Hawian art great high quality furnature very comfy beds and very clean!and i am perticular about my cleaning .The unit has almost everything you might need,soap,dish soap,dishwasher soap, up scale pots and pans and dishes and silver, spices ,laundry soap full size washer/dryer ,great cieling fans,beach chaires,snorkel gear ,books,flat screen tvs,granite counters and back splash,stainless appliences inc subzero frig, free $30 bottle of champaine,there are nice BBQ grills right outside the condo we BBQ ed 3 nights we were there. Roys is a restaurant near by very up scale but gggggreat ! The pool is very nice and has a great view.The only negitives I have about this property is the pool closes at sunset but we stayed later and no one said anything , you need to use your key to open the pool gate and use your key to get out of the pool area ,the parking lot was full even in the pre high season of June 9-14, 2012 it was hard to get a spot if you come in late. We did the Smith Familys Tropical Luau I recommend it you get a tram ride throu a beautiful 20 acer tropical garden before the dinner great food!!! and a great show in a theater setting instead of watching from dinner tables.

Room Tip: rent unit from John and Janis from www.kauaibeachfrontcondo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcpetcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for taking th time to review the property. Although he did not bok through Caslte Resorts and Hotels we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had such nice things to say about the proeprty. We hope you get the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

While the units vary due to the fact they are privately owned - the location is the best ever, even the worst unit we had was just fine - and others are outstanding. Always clean, good staff, and again, I can not stress enough - we love the location and the views. Sea turtles during the day and those awesome sunsets - the sound of the waves - birds in the trees - every day you wake up in love with Hawaii, Kauai and your location on the ocean. We have stayed here four times - and although we have tried a few other places with very very nice units - nicer than the shores in many ways - there is NOTHING like the location...and the quality of the units is fine. Prices reasonable. Its not a five star complex - probably not four star by some standards - but three star with a five star view and location - clean and friendly - it's Hawaii - drink your Mai Tai and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazymoonlosgatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Aloha and mahalo for selecting our property so many times while on Kauai. We apprecaite your comments and will alway strive fulfill your needs and desires. We hope you will continue to visit us in the future and we will always tty to make your stay here in paradise an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We loved staying at Poipu Shores. It could not have been more perfect for us. We flew 5,000 miles to get to Kauai and the best part was sitting on our balcony listening to the ocean and watching the turtles. The staff were kind, helpful and friendly. It is not the Hyatt. If you are looking for 4-5 star, this is not it. Our rooms were clean and well stocked. There was a musty smell to our rooms which one would expect in non-air conditioned, open air, beach front properties. We would come back in a heart beat. I'm recommending it to my "5 star, 'fluffy' niece and she loves to be pampered! I'm sure that the continual sounds from the ocean could be a problem for some, but it was heaven for us. Thanks to everyone at Poipu Shores and for the room up grade!!!

Room Tip: We loved the 2nd floor, corner unit in building B. Lots of space and only one neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at our property.I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and listending to the ocean sounds and seeing our resident turtle population. I hope you have the opportunity to return and mahalo for referring us to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: RM1,401 - RM2,499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing