We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
US$588
US$529
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$749
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
103
56
23
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
56
23
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaves crashingsea turtlesoutside hallwayocean frontmaster bedroomwindows open and fanson the rockswasher and dryerolder complexshort walkboogie boardsgreat condothe penthousebeach chairsmodern kitchenwatched the sunsetoffice staff
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Poipu Shores Unit 202B. Absolutely AWESOME! I can't think of a more enjoyable, tranquil, place on this whole earth. This ocean front unit is perfectly located directly off the parking lot, NO STAIRS but rests on the 2nd floor ocean side that boasts stunning views of the blue pacific, lazy palms, and sea life abound. The heated pool just below and to the right, is perfect and a must for anyone that would like to escape everyday life for rest and relaxation. The pounding surf, the ocean wildlife, is in itself a treasure rarely available to anyone let alone right outside 3 sliding doors and an expansive lanai.

Owner Tarak, has done a nice job keeping this unit comfortable and up to date. He has it well stocked with beach gear and towels for your use, a real plus. He was a pleasure to conduct business with, very easy going and eager to accommodate.

We are planning another trip back to beautiful Poipu, Kauai next year. Give yourselves a real treat, stay at this condo, you will not be sorry that you did. Totally memorable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay here at Poipu Shores Resort. I sincerely hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy our property and all the Kauai has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We rented #106A from John and Janis through www. kauaibeachfrontcondo.com I can not say enough good things about our experience with Janis and their condo #106A. First off the condo is newly remodeled and prof.decorated with local Hawian art great high quality furnature very comfy beds and very clean!and i am perticular about my cleaning .The unit has almost everything you might need,soap,dish soap,dishwasher soap, up scale pots and pans and dishes and silver, spices ,laundry soap full size washer/dryer ,great cieling fans,beach chaires,snorkel gear ,books,flat screen tvs,granite counters and back splash,stainless appliences inc subzero frig, free $30 bottle of champaine,there are nice BBQ grills right outside the condo we BBQ ed 3 nights we were there. Roys is a restaurant near by very up scale but gggggreat ! The pool is very nice and has a great view.The only negitives I have about this property is the pool closes at sunset but we stayed later and no one said anything , you need to use your key to open the pool gate and use your key to get out of the pool area ,the parking lot was full even in the pre high season of June 9-14, 2012 it was hard to get a spot if you come in late. We did the Smith Familys Tropical Luau I recommend it you get a tram ride throu a beautiful 20 acer tropical garden before the dinner great food!!! and a great show in a theater setting instead of watching from dinner tables.

Room Tip: rent unit from John and Janis from www.kauaibeachfrontcondo.com
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcpetcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for taking th time to review the property. Although he did not bok through Caslte Resorts and Hotels we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had such nice things to say about the proeprty. We hope you get the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

While the units vary due to the fact they are privately owned - the location is the best ever, even the worst unit we had was just fine - and others are outstanding. Always clean, good staff, and again, I can not stress enough - we love the location and the views. Sea turtles during the day and those awesome sunsets - the sound of the waves - birds in the trees - every day you wake up in love with Hawaii, Kauai and your location on the ocean. We have stayed here four times - and although we have tried a few other places with very very nice units - nicer than the shores in many ways - there is NOTHING like the location...and the quality of the units is fine. Prices reasonable. Its not a five star complex - probably not four star by some standards - but three star with a five star view and location - clean and friendly - it's Hawaii - drink your Mai Tai and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazymoonlosgatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Aloha and mahalo for selecting our property so many times while on Kauai. We apprecaite your comments and will alway strive fulfill your needs and desires. We hope you will continue to visit us in the future and we will always tty to make your stay here in paradise an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We loved staying at Poipu Shores. It could not have been more perfect for us. We flew 5,000 miles to get to Kauai and the best part was sitting on our balcony listening to the ocean and watching the turtles. The staff were kind, helpful and friendly. It is not the Hyatt. If you are looking for 4-5 star, this is not it. Our rooms were clean and well stocked. There was a musty smell to our rooms which one would expect in non-air conditioned, open air, beach front properties. We would come back in a heart beat. I'm recommending it to my "5 star, 'fluffy' niece and she loves to be pampered! I'm sure that the continual sounds from the ocean could be a problem for some, but it was heaven for us. Thanks to everyone at Poipu Shores and for the room up grade!!!

Room Tip: We loved the 2nd floor, corner unit in building B. Lots of space and only one neighbor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay at our property.I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and listending to the ocean sounds and seeing our resident turtle population. I hope you have the opportunity to return and mahalo for referring us to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just returned from Poipu and declined our condo in this complex upon arrival. The interior of our condo showed very nicely, and the view was great, but the exterior and the amenities are in poor repair. Such is island life.

It's hard for me to imagine that this large number of good reviews are authentic. Note that no one is mentioning the exterior, the elevators, condition of the pool.

We were lucky to get the last room at a boutique resort nearby, which saved our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Mahalo for taking the time to offer us a review. It's unfortunate you disliked our property while so many others seem to enjoy it. Our pool area directly on the ocean edge is the talk of the island and over the past few years we have enhanced the exterior of the proeprty with new walkways and railings and the Penthouse unit spent nearlly two years and thousands of dollars in a remodel. I hope with the change you made you were still able to enjoy our wonderful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews