We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,385)
Filter reviews
7,385 results
Traveller rating
5,433
1,301
416
148
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,433
1,301
416
148
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river salt water lagoon ilima terrace poipu wing tidepools restaurant stevenson's library our honeymoon adult pool breakfast buffet tide pools pool area four seasons shipwreck beach self parking sushi beautiful property open air
Filter
Updating list...
3,113 - 3,118 of 7,385 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

First class treatment a soon as you arrive. Large but Beautiful property. There is a long walk from room to lobby. I would suggest walking on the outside prettier views, great pools, good entertainment.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JoAV606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We spent two nights here on October 30 - November 1. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out, the service was fantastic. he staff throughout the resort is very friendly and helpful - never failing to acknowledge you and smile.

We had breakfast included in our room which was a fairly extensive buffet. There was a wide variety of foods both American and European. There was also a cooked to order egg station.
The rooms are well appointed with plenty of space. Nice bathrooms and an empty fridge to use - no need to move all that expensive mini-bar stuff you are not going to use anyway. The only thing I was disappointed in was the coffee pot. It simply did not make good coffee. But ah well that's not much to complain about!

The grounds are beautiful as well. I am not a pool/beach person but we did utilize the pool for a bit and there was no problem finding a chair or receiving towels.

I wish we had a few more days here to enjoy! I will be back -

Room Tip: Take the ocean view if you can. The views were lovely from your balcony
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We loved our stay at the Grand Hyatt in Po'ipu. Everyone was courteous and professional, the room was large, clean, and a pleasure to come home to each day. We opted for an ocean view, which is definitely the way to go if you can spring for it. Being able to pull open the patio doors and hear the ocean, or sit on the patio with a coffee and watch the sun come up was a dream come true.

The grounds are massive, the adult pool is genius, and the spa is excellent. We would happily stay here again.

The only downside, as with most resorts: the food is overpriced for what it is. We didn't make it to Tidepools, which we're told is the exception. Otherwise, nothing was bad, just not exactly amazing, esp for the price tag.

Room Tip: The Po'ipu guestroom wing is a far walk from the parking lot and pools, but definitely the quietest, with the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BosCaitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai for three nights in October. This is my second visit to the hotel, and brings back many great memories from 5+ years ago. The resort has amazing landscaping, pools and incredible scenic views - the landscaping team does an amazing job. Bring your DSLR and tripod for some great sunrise/sunset photo opportunities.

The hotel facilities however, are starting to show their age. The rooms, although very clean, well maintained and comfortable, definitely need to be refreshed. The elevators are quite slow and there are not too many of them (one per wing) so if you are at the end of the wing, sometimes it's faster to take the stairs. The bathrooms are large and clean, but I think all the rooms have washlet toilets, which some may not like. The shower (if you have one) is a large walk in shower, but there's not much in the way of shelf space inside and no bench or seating. The tub (if you have one) is small and a very high step over. Also, the hotel is large, so plan ahead and request a room close to the lobby, unless you don't mind walking a long distance.

The food & beverage from the banquet staff and room service are good, nothing spectacular, and I did not experience any of the restaurants on property. Room service was the typical 35-45 minute wait from the time you place your order.

Overall a great hotel in a great location. I will definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises. I just hope they have a room refresh project planned sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby (low numbered rooms) or no washlet toilet.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gmtom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

It was our tenth anniversary, the pictures don't do justice to this Hotel, as you walk in the grand open lobby full of flowers, birds, Palm trees and magnificent ocean view, you know you have entered paradise. Our room a deluxe ocean view was on the 6th floor way at the other end of the hotel, the room was beautiful and the view magnificent. And yes it meant for us to walk a long way to get to the main lobby, the restaurants and pool areas. But we did't mind that at all, it was great exercise. This room was on the quite side of the hotel and we enjoyed sitting in our lanai every morning, afternoon or evening.

If our room had anything missing, or we had forgotten anything, all we had to do was call House keeping and in no time it was provided. Thank you House keeping for meeting all our needs.

The bathroom was spacious and even though I was looking forward to the bidet, I wasn't sure how it worked and most important how sanitary it was. It sprayed and made all sorts of noises all the time. So I didn't use it. :)

We had breakfast included with our room, and found it to be a great beautiful spread, the list is too long, name it, it was there and everything was constantly replenished, so no matter what time you got to the restaurant, there was plenty of everything. As we sat down, a big hot pot of good coffee came on our table. The breakfast was worth every penny.

This Hayatt has the most friendliest staff I have ever seen put together in a hotel, it doesn't matter where we were, they received us with a great big smile. Congratulation to you and your great staff!

The Ground are well kept. The pools are wonderful, I wish they had more umbrella’s though. If you are not early all the places that have umbrella's will be taken. The only negative is the kids, as another reviewer mentioned, unfortunately they are all over the place, generally spoiled, loud and screaming. But it is a family Hotel and this is a small price to pay to be in such gorgeous place. There is an adult pool as well, so you can go there and you will hear their screams a little less.

For our anniversary we ate at Tidepools restaurant and they gave us a very special table, and it made us feel as if we were the only two people there. The meal and the service? Super fantastic!

We choose this hotel over another property on Poipu that rates no # 1on Trip Advisor. We did go and checked out, it didn't compare in anyway to our ocean view room, grounds, pools, restaurants, views of the Hyatt.

All in all it was a great vacation and we felt it wasn't long enough. We will plan on going back next year and staying longer. Thank you Hyatt for making our tenth anniversary so special.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank NSTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews